We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday”
Review of Myrtia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is down a nice forest track and the setting is fantastic. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable beds and great air con units. The staff are what make this holiday great as they put in a lot of effort to talk to you and make you welcome. The sunbeds are taken early so you need to be up if you want one. The hotel is very popular and was full of returning guests. Locally there are a few restaurants on the main road and most served great food. A must do is to see Mamma Mia in the open air cinema in town, have a few wines and dance along to the songs...good laugh. All in all a very good holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrahamEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    79
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
163
160
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great holiday in Skiathos Mrytia Summer Village is set out very nicely, our room 343 shaded by trees, a welcome after a long hot day having fun. V & Charlie who run the bar and restaurant are fantastic hosts, along with all the other bar staff and not forgetting the lovely Bi Bi of course. There snack bar is very good and the restaurant food excellent. We try other Tavernas but always came back to V & Charlie. Very friendly atmosphere nothing too much trouble. They made our holiday perfect simply the best will return. If you want a good day trip do the beach boat and beyond trip fab.

Room Tip: room 343 quiet shaded location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 454Mandyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Myrtia Holiday Village is the ideal spot for a perfect family holiday. We stayed at the Myrtia for two weeks in May/June this year and the holiday exceeded all expectations, despite us having read all the positive reviews beforehand. The accommodation is spotless, the location beautiful, the pool is big and the food served at the onsite taverna is delicious. However, the icing on the cake is the people who run the place - what a great bunch! Not ‘in your face‘, but can’t do enough for you and they were just fantastic with the children, who all loved them. Downsides......just the sad faces when we had to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmileyRiley203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What can I say? A beautiful place, lovely gardens and pool, excellent pool bar, stunning location...the staff are amazing and so is the food!!! Nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff, they love children and all have a brilliant sense of humour. The chef's food is gorgeous and whether it is a lunchtime or evening menu, everything is delicious!!! This is a real gem of a place, surrounded by a pine forest which means some shade when it hits 38 degrees!!! Rooms are basic - remember this is Greek self catering (!) but bins are emptied daily and the beds made regularly.
There is a supermarket close by, also a bus stop (buses really easy to use). Beach is the gorgeous Koukounaires beach (can be busy but aim to get there early) reached either along a road or cutting through a lovely bit of forest. Another lovely beach is the Banana beach - walk or take the bus - be warned, last bit is uphill on a dirt track (no buses can get up there) but it is well worth it, smaller and quieter. Chillout bar above the beach, also lots of bean bags to watch the amazing sunsets.
Tip - not quite so commercial so you get proper Greek meals in the local restaurants. No service charges, either (hooray!!) Can recommend the Big Bad Wolf, Captain Michalis and the Spyrios (?Sorry, can't remember the name exactly!!)

We were a family of 2 adults and two children aged 8 and 11 and they loved it - the pool gets busy but no problem with sunbeds and everyone is very friendly and you can relax and have a beer!! We went 23 - 30 August and it was hot and lovely - tip, this is a slightly more old fashioned part of Greece, so a few words of Greek are much appreciated!!

I cannot recommend the Myrtia enough - go!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrios K, Public Relations Manager at Myrtia Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Jane,

Thank you very much for your amazing ''Oh my God'' review. We are looking forward to accommodate your stay once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Myrtia Summer Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

First of all, we would like to thank all the staff for such a wonderful holiday, especially since it was my first time holidaying at Myrtia (and Joshua's third time)! Vlatko, Cvetan, Bibi, Oli, and Dinos created a fantastic experience for all involved, whether young or old. The chef cooked some amazing food that always filled you up, with a large variety to choose from for all ages, including Greek classics and some other food closer to home. All forms of entertainment were really enjoyable.
Greek night offered a beautiful 'all you can' eat buffet and barbecue. It also offered a view into some of the surrounding island's dances, (including Skiathos) by professional Greek dancers and afterwards, a few disco classics for all to dance to.
Film nights were also exciting evenings for all too! With films varying from Mamma Mia and Grease to Ice Age and Madagascar. For people looking for a little exercise or just some fun, there are football and pool games organised on a regular basis.
The accommodation was superb, classic Greek decoration, comfortable beds, cosy environment and a small kitchen for those who will be cooking. The maids also kept the rooms nice and tidy, with fresh sheets and towels as often as possible. The location of Myrtia is excellent, set back from the main road down a winding dust track where the Greek wildlife can be heard. Make sure you take a torch at night as it gets quite dark.
There are two supermarkets and a few restaurants along the road outside of Myrtia and a bus stop around 100 metres from the dust track where the bus can be ridden to a number of stops on the coast of the island, the last one being Skiathos town, but as I have said the restaurant at Myrtia is the best.
To conclude, wonderful staff, wonderful setting, wonderful food, altogether a wonderful place for a wonderful holiday.
Lots of love Alex (lover girl) and Josh (lover boy).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrios K, Public Relations Manager at Myrtia Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Alex,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Myrtia Summer Village and we are looking forward on having you here with us again.

Yours sincerely,
The Myrtia Summer Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

......to get the the Myrtia Summer Village. We have just returned from yet another 2 fabulous weeks at this oasis of a resort and have to say it was the best yet!!
Do not be put off by the Myrtia being called a 'summer village', it is NOT a huge all inclusive, impersonal, in the middle of no-where place that you would expect to find in Turkey. It is a small resort that gives a lovely 'Greek family run' feeling to it.
Rooms vary from 2 bed studios to one bedroom apartments, all set around beautiful well kept gardens full of fruit trees. As said, it is an oasis in the middle of a forest.
Near to the reception, which caters for all your needs, (although Vangelis may shout if you use the toilets!) is the most amazing pool, said to be the biggest on the island. (check the depth markers as the deep end is about 3m!). The bar and restaurant next to the pool provide breakfast, brunch and dinner to an excellent standard along with lovely cold beers in frozen glasses. There is a new chef this year, I personaly didnt find the food as good but it was still great.
As all the other reviews state, staff are excellent. From the gardener, cleaners, Emma the receptionist to Vlatko (V), Charlie, BB and Olivia, all making it the perfect holiday. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The bar staff will provide entertainment in their own special ways from pool Zumba to organising 5 a side footie. There are film nights and kids cinema nights, not to mention the fantastic, must do Greek nights (although you have to be really lucky to sample Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!)
Yes, the Myrtia is set in a pine forest, NOT more than 10 mins gentle stroll along an unlit track but this just adds to the secluded feel of the place, without being a pain at all, in fact our kids loved the walk at night, especially under the stars and full moon!
Local bus easily available from nearby to the rest of the island.
Koukounaries beach, 20 min stroll through the nature reserve is fantastic although a little loud. Mandraki is better and walkable!
We met up again with a fantastic family and chartered a yacht for a day....to be recomended...beats the cattle herding day trips otherwise on offer.....Captain Angelo, the 'Rainbow' in Skiathos port (The yacht with the green LED's up the mast) comes highly recomended.......Victoria at Troulos for car hire.......Olive Land best restaurant.....I could go on!!!!
Best things and favourites.............ABSOLUTELY Everything and making great friends!!!!!
Worst thing.............A chavy group with no kids that came in the last week...go to Ayia Napa...you didnt fit in with your swearing!!!
Yammas everyone.....keep up the fantastic work....
Mark, Sue, Josh and Emily....Xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddyhora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was our third year at Myrtia and we wouldn't change it for the world! It seems to just get better every year. We have just got back and miss everyone and everything so,so much! We have already booked for next year as we love it! Vlatko, Charlie, Bibi, Oli and Dinos are all like family to us and we can't wait to see them next year, they are all so welcoming and a real treasure to Myrtia :)! We love the location as it is not on the busy main road,but set back in a beautiful forest down a
dirt track,make sure to take a torch for night time:)! Myrtia is close to a few lovely beaches, for example Troulos, Koukounaries and Mandraki beach. It is also close to restaurants and supermarkets which is very handy. The rooms are very clean and well looked after by the maids. Food and drinks are on offer all day and evening and even ice creams:)! Films are put on regularly in the evenings and the staff always make sure that everybody claps and sings along, making sure everybody's holiday is the best! All the staff are amazing with everybody and especially the little children, so it is an all round amazing place to be! This year we took along my brother's girlfriend and she was accepted as one of the family which was lovely:)! Myrtia is like a second home to us and two weeks always feels too short to be there. Everything is perfect and we love the whole experience. We love you all and can't wait to see you next year! Tabi, (the moss family;))

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tabi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrios K, Public Relations Manager at Myrtia Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Tabby,

Thank you very much for such an amazing review. Your wonderful comments are being viewed with great appreciation by both the staff and the management. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Myrtia Summer Village and we are looking forward to accommodate your stay once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.3 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#2 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 85 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtia Hotel

Property: Myrtia Hotel
Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Myrtia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Myrtia Apartments Skiathos
Myrtia Apartments Hotel Skiathos
Myrtia Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing