We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Myrtia”
Review of Myrtia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Magical Myrtia”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

When someone was unable to travel I stepped in and took their place on this holiday. I was a little nervous as I love the planning stage, looking through photos and reviews etc to decide on a destination. This was already predetermined as the Myrtia had been booked. I might get them to book every holiday for me in the future as I LOVED it here. Skiathos is an amazing island, and the Myrtia is just lovely. The grounds are beautiful, Pool area is immaculately clean with plenty of comfy sun loungers (including the four poster bed types which always make a place look so much more expensive), rooms are spacious and well appointed - much better than the usual basic accommodation that is prevalent in Greece. Staff, as everyone else on here has said, were fantastic, and so genuinely friendly and helpful. A torch is essential as the walk from the main road is uneven and entirely unlit, but the walk is lovely (only 5 mins or so). The shower was a little small and did lead to a daily fight with the shower curtain, but this is my only criticism and hardly a deal breaker. This is easily one of the best holidays I've ever had the pleasure of going on and the Myrtia played a very big part in that. :)

Room Tip: We were in Room 236 (block 2) but found that we didn't get much sun on our balcony. There are pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexy_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    85
    18
    11
    8
See reviews for
172
170
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south glos
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

From the minute we arrived at the Myrtia Summer Village , we were made to feel so welcome, the staff were attentive & so helpful. The site was clean & tidy, the apartment was spacious, the bedding & towels were changed every other day & the gardens were so pretty.
The site was on the edge of the forest & quiet, which added to its appeal .
Although all the apartments were being used it never felt overcrowded. The food was excellent which made us reluctant to try elsewhere to eat, the Greek night was really good.
The bus service is cheap & reliable.We took a walking tour around Skiathos town which was very good as you would never find all the interesting places yourself.
Skiathos island is un-spoilt & very beautiful, we think it's our favourite Greek island now.
Summary- Myrtia village apartments are a wonderful place to stay, where you are cared for by wonderful staff on this beautiful island.
Many thanks to all the staff. (from Waldorf & his wife- 19th- 26th June- we stayed there with another married couple)

Room Tip: Stayed in room 237
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lemonie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

stayed at the myrtia for one week returning on the 28th June, it was fab. we stayed in room 356 a one bedroomed apartment which was in a quiet part of complex, with no upper level to our apartment. satisfactory for simple self catering. the gardens and rooms kept to a very high standard. the food at the complex was good but it so worthwhile getting out into the resort, our fave eatery was the big bad wolf. we also caught the local bus into skiathos town where there are sooo many lovely bars and tavernas. we did take the boat trip over to skopelos and alongside which was also good. the staff at the myrtia are so accommodating and friendly, making sure that everyone is as looked after as they need to be. would thoroughly recommend this apartment.
you do need a torch to get back up the lane safely at night and please do remember to apply the insect repellant-you will need it!

Room Tip: as mentioned, room 356 was in a very quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just had an amazing 2 weeks at the Myrtia. Friends of ours have been signing its praises for a few years so we thought we would give it ago... We were not disappointed and can see why our friends fell in love with the Beautiful Island of Skiathos and the Myrtia.
We were made to feel so welcome right from check in with Emma the receptionist who greeted us with a beaming smile and friendly manner you would have thought we had known her for years. The rest of the team were equally as welcoming and friendly, Team Myrtia as we called them lead by the energetic 'V' I have yet to meet someone so enthusiastic and eager to please, Bibi and Charlie also go out of their way to meet your every need and the food served in the restaurant made by chef Igor was sublime.
You really don't need to leave the Myrtia if you don't want to. The pool is very big compared to others on the Island and as the Myrtia is down a short track the pool area is quiet and secluded again unlike other hotels on the Island, there is a pleasant bar if you want chill out of the sun and watch the world go by. The gardens around the complex are beautiful and kept to a very high standard.
Yes the rooms are Greek basic but they are very clean (cleaned everyday except Sunday) and the beds are comfortable, all rooms have a balcony or terrace. The kitchen is basic but who wants to cook on holiday! And the food at the Myrtia and the rest of the restaurants and tavernas on the Island we tried meant we did not feel the need to eat in.
There is plenty going on if you want to get involved, Greek night is great fun and great value, all you can eat buffet, Greek dancers lots of oop las and dancing if you want, followed by a cheesy but fun selection of old party hits to dance the night away.
They show Mama Mia and dirty dancing on a big screen, again if people had sampled enough wine they were up on their feet.
I could go on forever but just want to thank team Myrtia, Emma, V, Charlie, Bibi and Igor for helping to make our holiday so relaxing and unforgettable... We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dext67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Myrtia is a pritty little set of apartments which sit in among trees just off the quiet but lovely strip of Koukounaries. The track to the hotel is very dark at night and quite long for those who cant walk far. A torch is a must, but this is quite romantic and charming feature of the hotel.
The pool area is tidy and nice, and the bar staff are friendly serving drinks a little more expensive than on the more atmospheric strip. The Greece night was great fun and you will be dancing if you turn up!
The room we had was clean and tidy but when there was a leak in the room we where left with 3 towels and left to it, with rain due and no managerial communication, with out going on and on, I was upset to say the least. When I told the owner I wasn't happy with the way I was treated he said he couldn't understand, and ignored me for the remaining 9 days of my holiday and I still don't know if the leak is fixed today!!!
I can understand why people would like the hotel, but they have been lucky and the sacred time I had on holiday has been tarnished by being treated like a piece of dirt!
I would strongly not recommend this hotel as owners like this should be made examples of!!!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tom g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrios K, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Myrtia Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Tom

I am writing this email to apologize on behalf of the managerial team of Myrtia Summer Village for the technical inconveniences that were caused during your stay. The situation with the leak was very unfortunate and we truly apologize if we were not able to handle this problem as fast and accurate as you might have expected. Further on, we would like to clarify that the person with whom you had a disagreement with was not the owner of the hotel, as you state on your review, but a member of the maintenance team. Again we truly apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay and hope you had a safe trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent a wonderful two weeks at Myrtia and were very impressed with the location, staff and accommodation. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived and our room was spacious and cleaned regularly.

The location of Myrtia is very picturesque, situated down a short road surrounded by pine trees. We loved walking down here at night as you can see the stars clearly. A torch would be useful if you're going but we managed fine using our mobile phones.

We have previously stayed in Skiathos Town but found Koukounaries to be much better as there are some brilliant beaches nearby. The nearest bus stop is only a short walk from Myrtia so we used this regularly to visit other beaches and if we wanted to go into Skiathos Town. It's only 2 euros so is very cheap. There are also a number of tavernas and two supermarkets close to Myrtia.

The pool at Myrtia is a good size and very clean. There are lots of sun loungers around the pool as well as the restaurant/pool bar. We ate at the restaurant three times, the food is delicious and looks so professional. I had swordfish for the first time as it was recommended by a member of staff and it was so tasty. My boyfriend was impressed with the seafood platter which contained the best squid he has ever tasted. The bar food served during the day is also brilliant, great quality and reasonably priced.

Myrtia has a Greek night every Sunday which we went to once. For 30 euros (per couple) you get half a litre of wine, food and entertainment for the night. We'd definitely recommend this night as it's lots of fun and the Greek dancers are great.


Overall we had a wonderful stay and would like to thank the team for our excellent, relaxing holiday. Hopefully we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Myrtia and it is indeed a lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings and a great pool perhaps the biggest in Koukounaries, everything is kept spotlessly clean and the gardens well looked after. The staff are very friendly from Emma (who is going to be a famous actress one day) at reception to Charlie, Vlatko and Bibi at the pool bar and the brilliant chef Igor who presents first class meals.
They all helped us celebrate the birth of our new grandson the day before we returned home.
We had a great time and would fully recommend this hotel, yes, people comment on the footpath up to the hotel from the road for which you need a torch at night but it's only 200 meters and safe at any time, the beautiful Koukounaries beach is also easy to reach and only 700 meters from the hotel.
It's a quiet resort with half dozen taverna's, bars and 2 supermarkets but excellent bus service to the lovely Skiathos town every 20 minutes from 7am - midnight.
The only reason I give the room 4 rating is the small shower room with the dreaded shower curtain, but you get used to it after a few days and besides from that it was a large room and super large balcony with views (room 131)

Room Tip: top rooms are bigger with views we had an end room with large balcony room 131 but there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 12 in Koukounaries
372 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
488 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
765 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtia Hotel

Property: Myrtia Hotel
Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Myrtia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Myrtia Apartments Skiathos
Myrtia Apartments Hotel Skiathos
Myrtia Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing