We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place”
Review of Myrtia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

me and my family recently stayed at this wonderful place it was set in a wonderful setting minutes from beach and places to eat .the apartment was a good size and we had 2 balconys which was lovley.they where clean and tidy.
the staff where so helpul and lovley and emma in reception was great .
the owner of the restraint where we ate and Charlie and bibi where sooooooo nice and made us feel so welcome.
we will go back again as this was a wonderful holiday would recommend it to everyone as such great place .cant wait visit again miss it x

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1,234,567,199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 444 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We re visited Myrtia in May 2013 to see Charlie, Vladco and Bibi for a two week holiday. Another fantastic time, instantly at ease and relaxing. Fantastic people and staff who genuinely go above and beyond to guarantee a brilliant holiday. The bar in the evening is more like a family get together. Lovely food by "Ego" and "Hev". Our 4 year old son loves Charlie, Vladco, and Bibi so it is a real wrench to leave, for all of us. Lots of tears at home time!! Ideally located near the beach in the peace and quiet of the forest but not far off the main (but quiet) road. Easy for the regular buses along the coast and into Skiathos town. Would not hesitate to recommend it, just wish we could go back sooner to see everyone at the Myrtia who we now consider close friends. Angie the rep was always at hand another part of the Myrtia family. Made some new fantastic friends (guests) and everyone had a brilliant holiday. Also recommend popping in to see Theodore at "under the pine tree" by the second supermarket and the fantastic Baklawa at "Ariston" in Skiathos town opposite the Taxi rank. If you can go to Myrtia, don't hesitate. Take Vladco & Charlie some sweets!!! Grumpy people need not apply!! xxxx

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkesmith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Everything people have said in previous reviews about the Myrtia is basically correct! Nothing bad to say at all, a lovely hotel with great amenities and great rooms.
Unfortunately though, and unknowingly, we holidayed here at the same time as a large wedding party so they did get a lot of the attention from the hotel workers etc. It didn't really matter too much though as we didn't spend much time at the hotel pool/bar/restaurant, we wanted to see as much of Skiathos as possible in the 1 week we were there.
The walk from the main road of Koukounaries to Myrtia is longer than I had imagined. Its fine in the day time but at night it is very dark so you must take a torch. We forgot our torch one night and it was quite hilarious trying to figure out where to walk as there are a lot of bends in the path! It made us never forget the torch again!

We did have a great holiday in Koukounaries but found it very quiet, too quiet if we're honest. But this may be that 1. We are in our 20's and still like a bit of life/music/atmosphere and 2. We holidayed at the end of May.We spent an evening in Skiathos town and it was much more "our thing" and if we ever return to Skiathos we'd definitely book a holiday in or near the town.

The best beach we visited was Elias Bay. Bit of a walk from Koukounaries through Mandraki Forest but absolutely worth it 100%, stunning! Another lovely beach was Xanemos Beach which is at one end of the runway (opposite end to the harbour). Its pretty cool watching the planes fly right over your head as they're landing.

We went on a boat trip around the island and booked it through our travel rep, as we didn't know where else to book one from! But if you go to Skiathos Town you can book boat trips by walking along the harbour and choosing a trip from the many stands people have outside their own boats. Its a lot cheaper.

All in all a great island, a great holiday but I don't think we'll rush to return.

PS. Just a word of warning, the nudists that holiday in Skiathos don't stick to "Little Banana" beach, they tend to bathe at one end of the quieter beaches and de-clothe there too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from 2 fabulous weeks at the Myrtia. The apartments are in a lovely setting in the pine forest and it is very peaceful. It takes about 5 minutes to walk down the lane to reach the main road, but this is very uneven so wouldn’t suit people with mobility issues. It is pitch black at night so a torch is essential. The nearest supermarket is just a little way from the end of the lane as is bus stop 23. The pool area is very nice but we prefer to go to the beach. The nearest is Koukounaries and takes about 15 minutes to walk there. It is absolutely beautiful and is backed by pine trees, has fine pale sand and crystal clear water. 2 loungers and a sunbed cost 8 euros. We also walked to Mandraki beach which took approx. 40 minutes. This is another lovely beach and is less busy, although we did encounter several nudists! The apartments and grounds at the Myrtia are kept spotlessly clean. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The safety deposit box key cost 10 euros per week and air conditioning is 40 euros per week. It is a bit hit and miss as to whether you get hot water for a shower at peak times. The beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of storage space. There are no TV’s in the rooms. The evening entertainment was geared mainly for the children and films were shown on a projector screen by the bar area. Koukounaries is a small resort and doesn’t have a centre as such. It has 2 supermarkets and several tavernas set by the road leading to the beach at bus stop 26. We ate at Big Bad Wolf which seemed to be the most popular and the food was excellent. However most evenings we caught the bus to Skiathos Town which takes about 30 minutes and cost 2 euros. This is a lovely place and is full of character with loads of tavernas and bars to choose from, many with fabulous views of the harbour areas. We would definitely recommend Lo and La, The Final Step and The Windmill. We did boat trips to Skopelos and Allonisis which cost 25 euros and around the island of Skiathos which cost 15 euros. You can book these direct with the boat operators and save money. We were lucky with the weather and had a fantastic, relaxing beach holiday in this beautiful setting. I would highly recommend the Myrtia to anyone looking for this kind of holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 357 which is a 1 bedroom apartment. It is tucked away in a corner of the complex b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueandshaun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

well what can I say, the best holiday ever. we went to celebrate a family wedding and we couldn't have wished for better, rep and all staff were great at Myrtia. it was a great place to stay.
pool, beach, and food great. the town of Skiathos is just lovely especially the taverna's in the old town. I would recommend the accommodation and resort. thankyou to you all at Myrtia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riarichMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Lorraine gin & tonic lady Have just returned from 2 weeks in beautiful Koukounaries staying at the wonderful Myrtia The hotel is a delight in the middle of the forest surrounded by beautiful gardens and very clean Igors food is fantastic the best in Koukounaries and Vlatco, Charlie and Bibi work really hard to make sure everbody is happy and having fun everyone including the cleaning staff are really friendly and give excellent service Thankyou for a great holiday and I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorraine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

if you want to pub crawl,listen to bang bang music or be ignored by staff. This place is still paradise after 3 visits ( 94&95) and May this year. Could scarcely believe this lovely place had hardly changed after all these years. Skiathos is in our opinion is most beautiful of Greek Islands and we have been to quite a few ,Skopelos a close second. Vlatko ,Charlie,Bibi and our lovely cleaner Vesna made a fabulous holiday even more memorable. Thanks to you all ,you have got it just right. SSSHHH this place is a secret !!!!! Sharyn and Alan

Room Tip: 343 is very shaded ,cool when hot but a bit chilly in early season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 12 in Koukounaries
389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maistrali Studios
Maistrali Studios
#7 of 12 in Koukounaries
63 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtia Hotel

Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Myrtia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Myrtia Apartments Skiathos
Myrtia Apartments Hotel Skiathos
Myrtia Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing