We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myrtia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Lorraine gin & tonic lady Have just returned from 2 weeks in beautiful Koukounaries staying at the wonderful Myrtia The hotel is a delight in the middle of the forest surrounded by beautiful gardens and very clean Igors food is fantastic the best in Koukounaries and Vlatco, Charlie and Bibi work really hard to make sure everbody is happy and having fun everyone including the cleaning staff are really friendly and give excellent service Thankyou for a great holiday and I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorraine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    78
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
161
158
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DUDLEY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

if you want to pub crawl,listen to bang bang music or be ignored by staff. This place is still paradise after 3 visits ( 94&95) and May this year. Could scarcely believe this lovely place had hardly changed after all these years. Skiathos is in our opinion is most beautiful of Greek Islands and we have been to quite a few ,Skopelos a close second. Vlatko ,Charlie,Bibi and our lovely cleaner Vesna made a fabulous holiday even more memorable. Thanks to you all ,you have got it just right. SSSHHH this place is a secret !!!!! Sharyn and Alan

Room Tip: 343 is very shaded ,cool when hot but a bit chilly in early season
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We returned from our stay at Myrtia on 29th May 2013...a great time of year to stay in Skiathos I think, daytime temperatures 25ish degrees, slightly cooler at night. We stayed in a maisonette - a studio with a mezzanine sleeping level - with our two children, 4 and 7. Just perfect for them, if you have younger children (up to 3 years I would say) be aware that there are no stair gates. The beds were really comfortable - two singles put together but really comfy mattresses - bedding clean and extra blankets etc. if you needed them. The rooms were really clean - bins emptied every day (what you need in Greece when loo paper has to go in the bin), beds made most days and linen changed twice. The gardens were absolutely beautiful. All the staff were friendly - we were there at the same time as a wedding party who inevitably got most attention (and the best tables at dinner!) but understandable. We had a hire car and were out discovering the gorgeous beaches most of the time (several of the more hidden ones with very small beach bars just idyllic), but the pool was absolutely immaculate - never saw so much as a leaf or bug in there. Actually the pool I think is the best I saw, with many of the bigger hotels having considerably smaller pools. My eldest son discovered a love of tennis which we might have to cultivate now back home. Table tennis also fun, dancing to Mamma Mia perfect for my youngest and brilliantly encouraged by the staff!
The path to the Myrtia is absolutely fine unless you don't like walking anywhere - yes, you need a torch - the kids love it. And there is so little air pollution that the stars are just stunning.
Our only real issue was the noise at night - and this is more down to other people's inconsideration than Myrtia's management - the way the appartments are laid out means that there are many gardens and balconies all facing each other, so it only takes one group or couple to be sitting out talking at an unreasonable volume and you are kept awake. If you are thinking about staying here, please be kind, don't be shouting at 3.30am!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

my wife and I stayed at The Myrtia Holiday Village in May 2013. We have been to numerous Greek islands but we think Skiathos the best although not for the young and lively Faliraki set. As for the Myrtia itself we found it delightful. To get to it you have to walk a few hundred yards along a track through the trees so perhaps not best for anyone with a walking difficulty. However it is worth the walk. The accomodation is little blocks with well looked after gardens in between. The rooms etc. are typically greek but nice and clean. We did havefew ants around the sink when we arrived but that was quickly dealt with. The Myrtia is surrounded by pine trees, has a nice pool and pool bar and restaurant area. All the staff were friendly, helpfull and chearfull and the atmosphere relaxed and friendly. The pathway from the road to the hotel is unlit at night so take small torch but don't forget to look up when it's dark for as you look between the tree tops, when there are no clouds, you see a night sky simply full of stars. Koukounaries is small quiet little resort which we love, only two mini supermarkets, a couple of bars and a few restaurants. Lovely beaches, and the smell of the pine trees is fabulous. The bus service to Skiathos town is frequent and inexpensive. We had a great holiday staying at the Myrtia Holiday Village and would have no reservations about going back there again.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room and when we sat on the balcony we had a small bird fly from the trees across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yannis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our first summer holiday abroad as a family and with two young children , we wanted somewhere clean and safe , with lovely beaches. Well we were not disappointed, a short walk from the main road brought us to the myrtia ,set in amongst the pine trees with immaculate gardens pool and bar/restaurant. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful .Vlatko managed the bar and restaurant and along with Charlie and the others , all your needs were met. We never had a bad meal and they made a big fuss of the kids, it was our daughters birthday while we were there and they arranged a cake and gave her a card and present at no extra cost to us! She thought it was amazing. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed 3 times a week . It was so peaceful ,so no disturbed sleep! The beach was a short walk away with lovely tavernas and facilaties, the beach was very clean and the water was crystal clear and very safe for kids. Skiathos was a beautiful place , the people were very warm and friendly , the olive land restaurant is worth a visit beautiful views and homemade top quality food , the boat trip to skopelos and alonissos via the marine park is a great trip with an english speaking guide who also takes you on a town walk for no extra charge. We were also lucky enough to see dolphins swimming alongside the boat. We had a great holiday and would definitely visit again. Thanks mrytia, and to Angie our rep who was very helpful and friendly, from the green family.
Top tips : children were free on the bus and it was 2 euros for adults from one end of the island to the other. Also boat trip tickets are much cheaper bought from keyside€ 25 adults €5 kids, saved us €44 .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niftynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent a lovely week at the Mytia from 17 - 24 May (week before half term). On arrival at the airport our luggage was taken on a separate truck to avoid having to take our suitcases down the long track that leads to the Myrtia, which was all well organised by Thomas Cook.

We had a ground floor studio apartment which was clean on arrival and cleaned every day except for Sunday with fresh towels provided three times during the week. The apartment comprised of a spacious bathroom with bath and hand-held shower, small kitchenette area with two rings, kettle, toaster and sufficient crockery/cutlery. The small fridge contained a bottle of water on arrival, which was a nice touch. The room was spacious with splenty of hanging and drawer space. The outside terrace area looked onto the pleasant gardens and lawn areas, which again were spotless and well cared for.

We tend to go to the beach but did use the pool a couple of times - all clean and well maintained with a bar area serving snacks in the day and meals at night.

The safe was e10 for the week and air con would have been e40 but we found we did not need this - although this may not be the case later in the season.

The beach is a 10 minute walk away and is absolutely georgeous - no wonder it has won awards. Two beds and an umbrella cost e8. You can also walk to other secluded beaches in the area, all of them stunning although watch out for the nudists - not often I feel overdressed in a bikini!

The Thomas Cook rep, Angie, was helpful and knowledgeable and we went on a couple of trips. A boat trip around the island was e23.50 and the island hopping taking in Skopelos and Allonissos was around e32. You could probably get them cheaper by going to the port in Skiathos Town but this was our chilled out week and we were being lazy! Both trips were well worth the money.

The resort of Koukounaries is small and quiet and ideal for a relaxed holiday. Behind the beach is a lake - we saw all sorts of birds including a black swan and peacocks which was quite exciting for us landlocked Brummies! The main road is dotted by various tavernas and a couple of supermakets - we ate at the Stamilos several times and would highly recommend the breakfast. There is a frequent bus service to Skiathos Town, which was more lively and had a plethora of tavernas and shops to browse; the bus takes around 20 minutes and costs e2. The whole island is stunningly pretty and largely unspoilt and I would really recommend for a chilled out time - definitely somewhere to visit again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank curly_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Myrtia is a really pretty place to stay with lovely staff. The rooms were very clean and well maintained, and the grounds are beautiful. It is situated a few minutes walk off the main road, unlike a lot of the hotels in Koukounaries which are on the main road. This makes for a perfect, peaceful setting which we really enjoyed. We would like to thank Vlatko, Charlie, Bibi and the fantastic chef for making our stay so enjoyable. The service and food was excellent and we hope to come back soon!

From Eddie and his whiskey girl ;-) xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whiskeygirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.3 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maistrali Studios
Maistrali Studios
#6 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtia Hotel

Property: Myrtia Hotel
Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Myrtia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Myrtia Apartments Skiathos
Myrtia Apartments Hotel Skiathos
Myrtia Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing