We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third Time Just as Lucky!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myrtia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Third Time Just as Lucky!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We returned to the Myrtia, as is now 'tradition', for our 2nd wedding anniversary in July and it was as lovely as ever. We took a couple of friends this year, one of whom had never been to Skiathos before and we were wondering how his 'objective' eyes would view both the Myrtia and the Island... he fell in love with both.. (and he is a massive cynic) and is coming back next year ... so it is not just us with our 'romantic' view that thinks that this is a perfect place to spend your holiday.

As both I and countless others have said, the location of these apartments is ideal. They are literally off the beaten track.. at the end of one actually.. so the only outside noise you hear are the ciccadas, which is the sort of peace and quiet I crave on my Summer vacation. The pool is a great size and never overcrowded - when we are there at least. There are double sunbeds this year and they are great for a nap (literally everytime - I fell asleep). My favourite spot though is the swing seat - be warned it is mine! Spiros is a lovely host. Unfortunately his wife was not with him as one of her parents was ill but he managed very well with the help of his now very grown sons!

We pick our car up at the airport on arrival, visit the carrefour(sp?) on the ringroad - much cheaper than anywhere else - to stock up on essentials (ok, that would mainly be alcohol, water and milk - the extent of our self catering!).. To be honest if I really wanted to self cater for my family on holiday I would rent a villa with a kitchen.. The Myrtia kitchenette is ideal for our needs - breakfast, snacks and drinks.. any more than that and it's not a holiday in my eyes.

This year we had a ground floor apt facing the gardens with a pleasantly large terrace separated from our friends by a small wall (too small in their eyes as I kept walking over it to steal their more interesting looking biscuits!).. We have now stayed in all sized rooms (oh apart from the 3 bed), and at all angles to the grounds.. each one has it's merits and they all benefit from the sun at some part of the day. My favourite rooms would be the 2 bed up the slope, adjacent to reception as they get the best of the early evening sun which is my favourite!

We rely on a jeep during our stay as we like to get around the whole island which isn't possible on the bus. The Myrtia is perfectly placed for this. Both Aghia Eleni and Ambelakia are walkable and remain my favourite beaches.. love them. Kastro is well worth a visit - go early as even with a car it requires quite a bit of walking and climbing!... Wear appropriate footwear (not flip flops!).. but it is absolutely amazing and you cannot appreciate it's beauty on a boat trip (although it is more accessible!)

Hidden beach - again with the climb - go see it. There are so many places to see on this very small island. We've been four times and see new things each visit. Mandraki is walkable (although we haven't tried this) from the Myrtia and is more natural windswept beach - less modern comforts and more naked Swedish people (we found this last part out by accident this year - never noticed it before!) Don't let this put you off it is worth a visit.

Dino and Effie are the best hosts on the island and are now back at Agustera in Koukounaries.. brilliant bar. Tell them what music you want and they'll play it. Great place for a pizza on your way back from sunset watching and cocktail drinking at Eleni ;)..

Many great places to eat in Skiathos Town - also they are better priced than in resort. Alexandros - tables beneath the Mulberry tree is behind the church (our fav), is just one.. something for everyone. O'Batis - one of a row of tavernas to the left of the church overlooking the old harbour - amazing food. Lo & La, a little further along - Italian/Greek - lovely.. For something a little special and different - Olive Land is amazing - up in the hills above Achlaides - go for lunch to experience the day time views of the whole island and for dinner for the sun set - great food too

I could go on and on and on about Skiathos and the Myrtia.. but shall stop now... See you next year .. there could be up to 10 of us!... The word is spreading

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kittenwithawhip66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    78
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
161
158
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here for 1 week and it was just right for a 1 week holiday. The rooms are located within very nice gardens which are nicely maintained. The room was clean but fairly basic, and was probably getting close to needing a modest cosmetic upgrade. We used the fridge and kettle but nothing else. The kitchenette consisted of a single unit with fridge, sink and 2 electric rings. Balcony/terrace was not very private, as we looked over our neighbours, and were overlooked by several other balconies.

Bathroom was clean but the shower had a tendency to wet the entire bathroom floor. A slight drain smell started to appear as the week progressed.

Bedding was clean, but fairly well used.

The pool area was excellent, and the pool bar and eating area offered good quality food and drinks. We ate their twice, and the staf were very friendly.

The Mytia is at the end of a forest track which is a fairly pleasant 5 minute walk, but might not suit those who are less fit or mobile.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

we stayed for a week here with our parents whilst visiting skiathos for my sons wedding at the kassandra bay. the apartments are set amongst pine trees and is so peaceful, all you can hear are the cicadas and childrens laughter from the pool. we stayed in studios 125 and 126 overlooking the gardens on the ground floor. both had lovely terraces, were clean and tidy, ample cutlery/crockery etc. loads of wardrobe space (esp. for the wedding outfits!!) bathrooms were basic greek but again very clean. nice touches such as complimentary water and mossie plugins. the pool was delightful although, as has been said, the tiles are slippery when wet. the restaurant on site was great, i actually had one of my best meals on the island here and we had tried quite a few that were highly rated on TA in town and in koukounaries. the staff spiros and maria were wonderful and couldnt do enough for you. our taxi ran a little late in going to the wedding and the lady on reception offered to take us in her own car if it didnt arrive. all in all, i would definately return to myrtia summer village (in fact our parents (both in their 70's) are booking to return next may, and would recommend to all our friends and family. thanks myrtia for making our holiday so special. karen and tony x

Room Tip: rooms 125/6 had terraces in the shade during the hottest part of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaznjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We just spent a week at the Myrtia Summer village, staying in a studio appartment on the groundfloor. Our terrace was large with a nice old tree outside with a garden beyond. The room was very clean and beds comfortable. no hairdryer with was a bit of a bother if you are in a hurry to get out, but my naughbour did kindly lent me hers. The staff were very friendly and there was 5 cats on the grounds which were very cute and friendly to.
We only went to the pool once because there were so many lovely beaches to go to,in the area that we could walk to. We went to Koukounaries beach twice which was great lovely calm sea, and nice beach bars .
Banana beach was good which was just beyond Koukounaries over a hill that also was really nice. There was a few nudies around which was funny.,no good looking ones to look at though.
We also walked though a forest to Mandraki beach which is on the other side of the Island it only took us about 20 minutes. Theres a cross roads in the middle of the forest and a sign post to all 3 beaches. The beach bars were cheaper and the beaches are more quite.
The best beach was Aghia Eleni beach which is north of the lake before Banana beach it has a great beach bar, we plonked our towels down in front of the beach bar everyday. The staff were friendly and did not hassle you if you finshed your drinks etc, all drink came with a bowl of peanuts or chisps. the bars had great chillout music was great to swim about in. It also had the best sunsets over the sea.
Most evenings we got the bus to Skiathos town, as it was a bit to quite for us in the local area, The food at Maria Italian restaurant we the best for us..really good atmosphere and great pasta in a courtyard in the old port near the church, Italians where eating there to which is a good sign.
But the best food we ate was in the traverna next to the pool bar in Myrtia its self and was the cheapest and very friendly staff.
We really enjoyed the fact that you had to walk down a track to get to the road as it reminded us that we really staying in a forest. You do need to take a torch because it does get dark especially if you was stayng around the New Moon. There is plenty of stars to look at as you walk along,
No need to hire a car because the buses our so good and take you to other beaches and in to town ..Skiathos town is great to get losed in as there is lots of ally ways with lovely shops selling art jewellery etc.
The whole Island is quite middle class, we did not see any families dressed in football gear.. which is nice for us coming from Brighton.
We would stay in Myrtia again as the people were so nice and the countryside beautiful. We have been to seven other Greek Islands and we think this is one of the best... I think my teenage son might find it a bit boring.. but he did not come with us so no worried there. It might be different in August for young people ,as that when most young Italians are on holiday and there was quite a few. We would like to come again and maybe do more walking to more beaches

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nigelsuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chippenham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Spent 14 days at the Myrtia July/Aug 2011. read about the hotel on Trip Advisor but you never know what you are going to find. We had nothing to worry about the hotel was excellent.

The room was tidy, comfy beds, nice balcony.. only downside was no work surface, just a sink and draining board, very difficult when self catering.

The grounds are delightful. loads of flowers and lots of colour.

Pool was very clean, and pool area kept clean, had a struggle to get sunbeds as the towels were laid out before breakfast, but the hotel staff were trying to put a stop to it.

The food at the on site bar by Maria and Spiros was good value, and plenty of it, and good choice for kids.

Walking up the track to the hotel took some getting used to, its about 300mts from the main road, so take a torch as you will neeed it when coming back late at night. dont worry about carrying your luggage as your luggage is taken from you at the airport and delivered to the hotel reception.

Myrtia Hotel is ideal for family holidays, couples or anyone who wants a laid back holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank blueboyChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at the Myrtia as a family of 8 with ages ranging between 10 and 74 and its one of the best holiday we have ever had. The rooms were kept spotless as were the gardens, reception and pool areas. The pool is large and there are plenty of sun beds to go round. There is a ping pong table and a tennis court which is also used for football. Spiros runs the bar with Maria's help and nothing is too much trouble. We ate at the Myrtia most evenings and never had a bad meal, childrens meals were around 4.5 euros and adults 7-10 euros. Whilst we were staying there was a Greek night with BBQ and dancing and a weekly quizz night. The nearest supermarket is 10 minutes up the road but I recommend going before 9am when it starts to get hot. The beach is 15 minutes walk away (instead of going walking down the road to the beach I recommend a short cut through the Nature Reserve, the path is next to Bus stop 23 - this route is flat). Skiathos Town is lovely with lots of shops, bars and restaurants along the harbour and the open air cinema is well worth a visit. If the children have anything to do with it we will be back next year!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginger186314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Lovely clean apartments with air con. Thats all we wanted and we got it here. Lovely staff from cleaners to bar staff especially Maria and Spiros. Well managed we had a problem with a leak from day 1 in out bathroom and they fixed that evening. we had a problem with the air con. they fixed that the same day too... so no complaints. Towels and beds changed 2 times a week so you need to take your own towels really. Lovely pool area very nice and beds and shades sometimes tricky to get but with the local fabulous beach about 600mtr away it was not a problem.alos many others nearby walking distabce Ag. Eleni and the 2 lively beaches for youngsters and nudes are the banana beach and the little banana respectively.... There are 60 beaches on the island so you will come across one eventually. The local bus is very good but VERY busy - sardines springs to mind!!! however it runs till after midnight till 1am i think and is 2euro for the whole half hour journey. Chose your time carefully and you can get in and get a seat - mid to late afternoon is a good time and mid morning too is also quiet. You can get the water taxi to Skiathos town its 5 euo 1 way and takes about 15-20 mins its fast and cooler. But be there 15 minutes prior to the time as it gets busy and takes a maximum of 25 people. it runs about 6 times a day. You can also get smaller taxi boats from kanapista to Skiathos town and others to hotels on the coastline nearer to town.
The hotel requires a torch for walking to the main town and road its about 350mts its a cool walk as youre going through the forest but its pleasant and you get used to it once you have walked it a few times. Its a windy road but flat but its not a proper road so no high heels here girls!!!
Good kitchen with kettle toaster and 2 rings for cooking. Plenty of utensils etc but take a dishcloth and tea towel and washing up liquid - the local supermarkets are predictably expensive for the neccessities!!! They give you a comp. bottle of water and also toiletries and a mosquito machine in yur room very helpful and nice touches. The rooms were exceptionally clean and were cleaned daily. Lovely new comfy mattress and clean crisp cotton sheets with fresh colours for the quilts made the rooms very appealing.
Nearby theres are a few restaurants we used Strofilia - and Ilias Orchard and the hotels restaurant which served very nice food . We had snacks at the Big Bad Wolf too. Most mains were from 8 -10 euros we spent about 40 to 45 euro a night for a 2 course meal and a few beers. they were normally 2euros - cocktails were ranging between 6-10 euros!!
All the restaurants sold traditonal greek food but you could also get pasta and pizza. There as also a chinese/indian too . a few bars nearby were Juimmy's bar in the next complex called Amelias apts - the bar is georges its cheap and cheerful and had a good crowd in every night.
we also went to Stamelos food drink and occasionally live music. and Augustara bar with good breakfast and music. reasonable prices about 2 - 3 euros for a pint of beer it was all good either Mythos (Local Bottled Beer) or german on draft.
The hotel bar was good too and stayed open till everyone went to bed. its a family orientated plce not rowdy or anything its quiet at night and just a lovely setting.
The Bussokia bar was nice too music and sports on and very pleasant furniture and surroundings.
Skiathos town was fabulous loads of choice and bizzarely cheaper than the small towns..The streets area maze and its just brilliant walking around and stumbling across great places to eat with amazing food. We liked Jimmy bar in the old port very classy an a great place to watch the yachts coming in with the rich and famous!!!
You can do boat trips to Skopelos and other islands but we did not have time to do that but they are fun and based around the Mamma Mia theme as it was filmed here an in Skiathos. just a brilliant place to visit with lots going on and classy places as well as the traditional. We will go back and stay in the town next time as we loved its vibe!!

Room Tip: we had a studio but the duplex rooms have a mezzanine floor so are bigger and more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Lgateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.3 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maistrali Studios
Maistrali Studios
#6 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtia Hotel

Property: Myrtia Hotel
Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Myrtia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Myrtia Apartments Skiathos
Myrtia Apartments Hotel Skiathos
Myrtia Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing