We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and island - we will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and island - we will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had a lovely 11 nights in Skiathos staying at the Panorama hotel. Panorama is a small family run hotel in a fantastic location. The hotel is situated close to Koukounaries beach which is at the opposite end of the island to Skiathos town and the airport. There are several gorgeous beaches within walking distance of the hotel all with golden sands and turquoise waters.

Skiathos town is easy enough to get to as a bus service runs constantly from one end of the island to the other. We found several nice tavernas our favourites were Strofilia (near to bus stop 24) where you sit outside under twinkly lights and Platanias (near bus stop 16), with fantastic food and very friendly staff.

If you would like a quieter, more personal cruise check out some of the yachts in Skiathos town harbour. We took a trip out with Jason on his yacht, with only 10 passengers we had a lovely time sailing over to Skopelos and back again.

We had a wonderful holiday and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    30
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
167
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have just returned from 1 week staying at the Panorama hotel and wish we had booked longer. The hotel is perfect, small and quiet, perfect for couple wishing to relax. We stayed in room 16 and it was perfectly clean, quiet and thanks to the air con included nice and cool.The rooms were cleaned everyday by the lovely and friendly maid who even folded any clothes for us we had accidentley left on the floor. The family who run the hotel are all very friendly and welcoming and always happy to talk and offer advice on good places to see/eat. We ate at the hotel only once but this is because we wanted to sample as much local cuisine as possible. The food was delicious and the portions were huge. I ate their special Panorama pork ( in strawberry sauce) wow wow wow i need that recipe. it was the best meal i ate the whole holiday and was worth the extra euros but the rest of their menu is very reasonable. they do bring out bread for a charge but it was no problem when we said we didn't want the bread and Dina was happy to take it away from our table. The pool area is very clean and neat and there was always a sun lounger available and the loungers are much comfier than any others we tried, Mario who works in the bar in the day recommended lots of different drinks for us to try while relaxing in the pool area. On several occasions after dinner we ordered a jug of house wine to drink on the balcony, our balcony was a reasonable size, with 2 chairs, a table and a clothes dryer, we over looked the apartments/hotel bar next door. Breakfast was served from 8-10 with a selection of cooked meat/eggs and cold ham and cheese, bread and pastries, lots of jam and fruit, but i would recommend their Greek yogurt, fruit and honey. this was the best breakfast i have ever had. there is also a good selection of different types of tea available. Overall i would give everything about my holiday and this hotel 5* and will be staying there again in the future

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NatNewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Having travelled to every European country both for pleasure and business the Panorama Hotel is by far the best hotel we have ever used. The staff were outstanding; the quality of the service, cleanliness of the rooms and general eagreness to help with information and ideas to make the holiday provided by the family and Dina in particular was brilliant. Our room was cleaned daily with both disinfectant and bleach. The pool area was clean and the pool was cleaned and attended to everyday.

The range of food at breakfast was good and the selection of meals available in the evening was outstanding. The salmon in mustard sauce is a definite.

We do agree with the comments regarding emailing your requirements in advance and we followed this advice and were allocated an outstanding room. We have already booked a 3 week holiday for 2012.

We would unreservedly recommend the hotel and in particular the friendly family atmosphere created by Dina and her family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaxineandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at the Panorama during the first two weeks in August. Having seen the fantastic reviews of this hotel, we booked a large room with balcony and sea view at additional cost with Thomas Cook through Co-op Travel. It was only on the day of our departure that we were told there were no such rooms available. The room we were allocated was very small and with a tiny shower room. Even though we are thin people, it was a squeeze to get past the bathroom door and into the shower or to sit on the loo! When you showered, the shower curtain draped itself wetly around you. The room had a tiny balcony which looked over the small back garden and as it was on the ground floor, there was no privacy. For example, the staff often walked along the path immediately next to our balcony and children played ball games right outside our window, so if you didn't want to be overlooked you had to close the curtains.
I agree with everything that has been said about the high standard of cleanliness, the quietness, comfortable beds, the nice spacious pool area and the lovely food, but I found Dina to be very defensive, a tad bossy and not particularly helpful if we went to her with a problem or a query. Apollo and Mario on the other hand were very welcoming and friendly. The 'bread ' issue is a bit of a rip off - firstly, it's not bread but toast, and secondly, it arrives without being ordered and costs one euro fifty per person! Once we realised this, we tried to remember to say 'no bread please' but a couple of times, we forgot and when it was put on the table and we said to Dina that we did not want bread we were scolded like naughty children and the bread was taken away huffily.
Having said all that, we did have a lovely time and didn't see any hotels on the island that looked preferable to the very pretty Panorama. But if you are fussy about the size of your room or a nice view, then maybe it would be worth emailing the hotel to try and reserve one of the nicer ones. It certainly didn't work to pay a supplement through Thomas Cook! And Dina told us that all the rooms were charged at the same rate.

Room Tip: It has been suggested that emailing the hotel directly may procure you a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DrLidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We recently stayed at the hotel Panorama in Koukanaires July/August and we just loved it. Our two children Jake and Emily were just treated like part of the family who own and run the hotel and this they all do extremley well. Our room was lovely and clean and well decorated and our lovely maid Mery would make beautiful patterns from our bedspread every day. The whole hotel is lovely and clean and the food is delicious.We could go on for ages about how lovely everything was and cannot understand how anybody could complain about anything. Dina and Apollo and Mario and Dina were just lovely at all times and the children really miss them but we will most definatly be going back Thankyou for a lovely stay. Karen Dave Jake and Emily

Room Tip: e-mail the owners and they will be happy to help where they can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carpy10002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

A small pleasant looking hotel. The pool area could be a little more secluded as it fronts onto the main road. The room cleaner is excellent. Very good and friendly. The food is unfortunately only average. We eat there on two occasions. Steak once and chicken schnitzel on the other. I'm sorry but for 12 euros I would expect a bit more than a spoon full of rice a hand full of oven chips and a steak so tough it took about 15 seconds to cut each peice. The thing that put us off the most though is being ripped off. First day there we bought a 1.5 l bottle of water from the pool bar. The gent who served us was very smiley and friendly especially when he charged us 5.5€ for it!! It was only once we had got back to the room that we noticed the menus and the price of the water should have been 1.5€. we were also charged for the bread which we never touched when we ordered our evening meals. Skiathos and probably the rest of Greece is very very expensive at the moment due to the state of their economy. The last thing that a business so obviously well thought of as this hotel should be doing in this climate is ripping it's customers off. It's a real shame because koukanaris is a very nice resort. I wouldn't advise anybody to come here though until the economy is sorted out. My wife and I don't mind paying for quality but to be honest everything here at the moment probably costs over twice the amount that it should. The quality doesn't justify the current prices and for that reason the resort scores very low in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank poppyandboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I recently returned from 2 weeks at the Panorama, and was certainly not dissapointed.
Apollo, Dina and the rest of the staff, work really hard and are a credit to the hotel, everyone is really friendly without being intrusive.
Our room was beautiful, the best we've ever had in any country including the Maldives!!!!
The beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms are decorated to an extremely high standard and the bathroom too was a really good size. Towels are changed daily and the maid cleans the room either while you are at breakfast or once you have gone out for the day, not once were we disturbed. The one thing I must say is that at night it is extremely quiet in your room and also very dark, so a good night's sleep is ensured!!!!!
You have an amazing choice of foods at breakfast time, fresh fruits, canned fruits, the most amazing Greek Yoghurt I have ever tasted, meats and cheeses, bacon, sausages, fried, boiled and scrambled eggs, coissants, cookies, cake, cereals, toast with a huge selection of jams, marmalade and honey, a variety of different tea's, coffee and juices.
The pool area is very nice and relaxing, no loud music blaring out all day!!!!
The whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean.
There is also a selection of books in reception, in case you forget to bring one with you.
We ate in the hotel several times and the food was very good. The set menu is really good value at 15 euro's for 3 courses, the Tuna Salad is delicious along with the Sole.
All in all an amazing holiday at a superb hotel, really can't understand some of the previous comments,,,,,how anyone could be dissapointed is beside me!!!!!!
Thank you Apollo, Dina and staff for the most amazing holiday........we will be back!!!!!!

Lyn and Umit

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LINDA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.0 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
#3 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panorama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Koukounaries
Panorama Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing