We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Amalia Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amalia Apartments
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I don't think these Apartments have any pretentions to be anything other than what they are, and that's very basic accommodation. I stayed here many years ago on an allocated on arrival deal and nothing has changed. (That holiday was spoilt by some idiot who was old enough to know better, showing off, wearing a spiderman outfit, and generally trying to run the place) Located in the middle of a forest and a few minutes walk down an uneven but flat track that runs alongside the Mandraki Hotel. Because of its location it could do with mosquito nets on the windows for a start, and a bit of overall TLC. Very few doors seem to fit, (E block) it smells a bit damp, and the towels are the size of a teatowel with the texture of sandpaper-bring your own. Nice pool with plenty of sunbeds. The owners are friendly and try to make the best of it. The bar has really reasonable prices. They must be doing something right as many people seemed to have been there before. Don't expect too much, and you won't be dissappointed. Bring a torch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valleyfloydroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    28
    13
    16
See reviews for
46
82
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Just home from a 2 week stay at Amalia with George and Fotis. I can't speak highly enough of this place! Apartment well equipped and fairly spacious. Spotlessly clean and comfortable.Garden areas are spotless and well maintained ideal for a bit of peace and tranquility.George and Fotis make excellent hosts and welcomed us back! Pool is fab after a long hot day on the beach and George serves the Mythos ice cold! His bar serves the cheapest drinks on the island! If I was offered 5*all inclusive for the same price as a stay in Amalia I would choose Amalia every time!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My daughter & I booked a last minute holiday here at the Amalia apartments. Not certain what to expect ! Our apartment was very clean & well equipped,with a view of the pool & bar, which boasts the cheapest drinks on the island. The apartments & bar area are very well run. The gardens and pool are well maintained, cleaned every morning.I feel this is a special place & can,t wait to visit again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Rimell-seaford-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I am still here now its amazing clean friendly cheap entertaining such good value. I was really worried reading some of these reviews but I need not have worried. Great for couples familys or just a girls break. If I was going to moan about anything it would be how rural it is but that would be my mistake for not checking first. I highly recommend and I will be back for sure. Cheers George for the hospitality

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Deena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Have just returned from our stay at these apartments. Initially stayed there about 10years ago which we enjoyed and was a little concerned that things and owners may have changed, these fears however were unfounded as the apartments and owners were as nice as we had remembered them. The apartments are approached through a ‘road’ which runs through a pine wood, this may be of some concern for those with walking difficulties particularly in the dark, (touch required)., however as you come to the end of the road the apartment complex opens up before you. The rooms are typically Greek but in saying that, (having stayed at a number of Greek apartments), they are large, light and comfortable with fridge, cooker etc., The owner (George) and his brother are always on hand and could not be more helpful so things had not changed from our previous visit. One of the best beaches in Skiathos (Koukounaris) is within easy walking distance as are a number of restaurants and the bus stop from which you can get a bus which will take you to all of the south side island beaches and the town of Skiathos. Conclusion: if you are looking for a relaxed Greek style holiday this could be the place to stay, if you want total luxury look towards one of the many hotel complexes which are available…..at a cost.

Room Tip: There are two types of rooms available, in the main block and single story rooms to the left of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whitehall121279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Amalia apartments is such a beautiful and friendly place to go. Rooms are basic but who wants to sit in their rooms all day when on the lovely island? George and Fotis are amazing (they would help you anyway they can and always with a huge smile). Surroundings are beautiful and well kept by Roberto. There's plenty to keep you entertained at the bar and always a conversation flowing. Beaches, bars and restaurants are well within walking distance and through a beautiful pine forest. Great place to be and run by great people, real gentleman! I'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmberClarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lovely apartments and really friendly George and Fotis are simply brilliant and the nicest people you could ever meet. You can count on the pair of them to put the kettle on when you have had too much Mythos . The area around the apartments keep it very peaceful and what can I say about the gardener there he is everyday tending to the lawns , pool and always sweeping up the leaves that have blown down, what a guy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janey2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.0 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#2 of 11 in Koukounaries
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 84 in Skiathos
967 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake Studios
Lake Studios
#11 of 11 in Koukounaries
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maistrali Studios
Maistrali Studios
#6 of 11 in Koukounaries
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Apartments

Property: Amalia Apartments
Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Amalia Apartments Hotel Koukounaries
Amalia Apartments Skiathos/Koukounaries
Amalia Apartments Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing