We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Captain Michalis

Captain Michalis
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Koukounaries
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: i think it might be attached to a Hotel, but not sure which
Halewood
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ate here after reading mixed reviews on trip advisor, found the food to be pretty good, reasonably priced, the wine however was not great and the service was slow

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    38
    15
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rustic - to say the least”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Looking at the taverna it looks on the verge of collapse (& probably will in a storm) the service was - on my visit, very slow, so be prepared to wait, the food however was quite nice & the Captain made a good host. Give it a try!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Typical old style Greek taverna, nothing fancy but great food and atmosphere with the added bonus of Michael, what a character, loved it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giveup52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We're hooked on Captain Michaels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I like my food cooked in clay oven as they do here. The meatballs are to die for ( I had to go back and have them again on another evening) and for a Greek salad, meatballs, half caraf of wine and a sweet it was 18 euros for 2 people so also excellent value as well as excellent food. I wish I had 2 stomachs!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Traditional Home cooked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Super place to eat at night.
The menu is basic but typical Greek and is value for money.
I tried food here that I've never eaten before, and I wasn't disappointed.
The old guy who runs the place (Michael presumably) was very friendly and helpful with some of the descriptions and did say that he used all fresh produce. I believed him as he was one night fattening up a lamb opposite in the lakeside!
Don't be fooled by the run down look of the place, Atmospheric is the word! and a bloody good atmosphere there was.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Michalis also viewed

 
Koukounaries, Skiathos
Koukounaries, Skiathos
 

Been to Captain Michalis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing