We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Having visited Koukounaries Skiathos for many many years, we decided we wanted to stay for a month. We were recommended by people we have met over the years to try the Sunset. Were we impressed? The answer is a big YES!! Vasilis and George were friendly and welcoming, making us feel "at home" as soon as we arrived. The grounds, pool, resteraunt and bar area were spotlessly clean, and needless to say, so was our apartment with everything we needed for our months stay. The food was excellent, especially bar-b-cue night, so well done Tolis and little George!!!!! Any negative comments?..........only one,......we had to go home......but, we have already booked for a month next year, so.......BRING IT ON!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 284 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Third time we have been here and had a great stay again. The all you can eat bbq was delicious, and the new chefs moussaka was fantastic. The grounds, swimming pool and rooms were kept spotless as always. We will be coming back again for sure.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Robandkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We arrived back from our holiday at sunset last Wednesday - and we immediately wanted to go back!!! in fact we didn't want to leave!
We stayed between the 25thJune and 9th July.
The accommodation was a two bedroomed apartment. it was clean and had everything we could have needed. Bedding and towels were changed every other day.
The pool area is great. Pool is very clean....and inviting!
Next to the pool is the bar and eating area. Our drink of choice was a freezing cold Mythos or a frappe - which was Vasillis's speciality!
We ate in the Taverna a few times. They have a barbeque night on a Sunday which is popular.
The Sunset is set back from the main road - but is right next door to our favourite bar - Agustera - and the well stocked supermarket.
We had a lovely holiday and felt so relaxed and at home.
If I had enough holidays left from work I would be booking again for later in the year if we could get in...it is so popular. Some people book their next holiday whilst they are still there...I don't blame them!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank tracyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Went back too the sunset apartments on th 20/06/14 for 2 weeks and it was excellent. The welcome from Vassilias and George the owners was as always very good . The room was very clean, The new chef Tolis is excellent. The pool is the only one i have seen with a proper filtration system and is always clean. I have read the bad reviews and can only say try these apartments and see for yourself. It is a truly relaxing holiday in a good location. While siting around the pool we worked out that 80 percent of the people around the pool had been their last year, I think this speaks for itself. If these apartments have one problem its that they are becoming more and more popular and will become harder to get booked. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetePlumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Well that’s another glorious holiday at Sunset over for another year. Fortunately I’ve managed to book for next year. This very popular venue fills up quickly so if you are looking for a holiday in the most beautiful setting and like the look of Sunset I seriously recommend ‘you book early to avoid disappointment’

Sunset is a wholly owned family run venue. To me part of the charm of Sunset is the friendliness of all the family; from Vassilias who is always on hand from 08.00 to midnight every day, to other family members who watch over proceedings with a friendly smile a wave and always a’ Good Morning’ or ‘Goodnight ’, in Greek of course. I have now stayed in three different styles of accommodation. Every well maintained room had its own appeal. The bed linen and towels were, as expected, regularly changed by the two, friendly maids. The pool and surrounding area are very well looked after with the pool being robotically cleaned twice a week.

Sunset Taverna, which also doubles as a pool bar during the day, serves excellent grills and traditional Greek food. The Moussaka is, in my opinion, the best I have ever had – and I’ve had a few believe me. If it’s not on the menu, whether lunch or evening time, just give notice as if it’s possible you will be eating what you requested the next day, if not before.

If you are looking for rowdy lat nights at the bar I should advise you that Sunset is probably not your ideal destination. However if you seek a friendly relaxed atmosphere in an area of outstanding beauty with wonderful beaches within walking distance then Sunset Hotel and Apartments could be just what you are looking for. Good luck and happy holidays.

Mrs Jane

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jane_carter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just recently returned from Skiathos and again stayed at the Sunset Hotel and Apartments and whilst the old chef is working in London I was not disappointed.
The family who own and run the establishment are so friendly and welcoming and the food, you will be hard pressed to find better in the resort, just fabulous. The apartments are always clean and tidy and a pleasure to stay in , so now looking forward to next year and staying here again, thanks to Vassillis and his family for making the stay so good.

Room Tip: anywhere is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmitch2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Having enjoyed yet another holiday at Sunset appartments, have to say it gets better and better.
Vasillis and his family are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble, they aim to please and make your holiday memorable.

New chef , Tolos and right hand man George gave a splendid show of their culinary treats, food was very tasty and traditional....

Morning breakfast on site, cooked by Vasillis himself was exceptional, you must try his 'special' breakfast ommelette! and his full english was brill too!!

definately going next year.....

Room Tip: All rooms are value for money! Appartments are set back off road, next to forest...lovely and peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue-Graham_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.2 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 12 in Koukounaries
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,160 reviews
4 mi away
Angeliki Beach Hotel
Angeliki Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Megali Ammos
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maistrali Studios
Maistrali Studios
#7 of 12 in Koukounaries
63 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
2 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel & Apartments

Address: Koukounaries, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
#2 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Apartments Hotel Koukounaries
Sunset Hotel & Apartments Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing