We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best yet! Excellent stay as always”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best yet! Excellent stay as always”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Thankyou so much Vasilis and family (Vasilis 'master chef', George, Nula & Anthony). You made our trip the best we have ever had yet! We love staying with you, and you know we will be back! You always make us feel at home, and nothing is any trouble.Thank you for cooking wonderful food, and for always making sure our little boy is catered for too! For those new to Sunset studios, they are perfectly located in near the beautiful Koukounaries forest, and just a short walk to the beach (which is very popular), or a 15 minute 'away from it all' walk through the forest to quieter, very picturesque beaches. All beaches have tavernas. We cannot say enough about the hospitality at Sunset studios, and how much fun we have every time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    33
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
140
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just back after popping my skiathos cherry; and what a fantastic holiday! On arrival at the Sunset, Vasilis greeted and escorted us to our room. The apartment had everything we needed for our fortnight stay and was extremely clean – a standard maintained by the excellent housekeeping team. The cleanliness extended to the pool and bar area, as well as the grounds.

The pool area is often very quiet and relaxing, with the small taverna bar and restaurant a joining – perfect for ducking out of the sun with a cheeky Mythos! By night, the restaurant offers a great balanced menu of traditional Greek and some more familiar dishes too. The cooking is to a very high standard with by far the best kleftiko on the island, and is the only place we returned to. Prices in the restaurant are competitive with other Koukounaries establishments, and the ingredients couldn’t be fresher with the well tended, and well planted garden.

The location of the Sunset couldn’t be better. Set back slightly from the quiet road, it is 100m or less to the local supermarket (which is open till midnight), 200m to the bus stop and a short walk to other tavernas and restaurants. Koukounaries is the nearest beach, just a five minute walk; however Mandraki and Elias are much more picturesque and a fantastic 20min walk along a forest.

But all the above is nothing compared to the staff. Vasilias (the owner) was so welcoming and accommodating, he could never do enough for you and takes real pride in the Sunset. Vasilis the chef is a fantastic bloke and very talented in the kitchen. Very genuinely friendly, we shared many stories, beers and laughs. The whole atmosphere was like being invited into a family home.

Fantastic holiday and will be returning! Yasoo Vasilis!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was our third trip to the Island of Skiathos. Each time we have stayed at the Sunset Apartments. We love it so much we take two flights to get there.... Sunset apartments are amazing, we were made feel so welcome. It is a family run resort with a lovely homely feel. Vasilis, George and Vasilis ' The Master Chef ' were so helpful and welcoming. The food was divine and any night we ate in Koukounaries we ate at the Sunset. The location was excellent, so convenient for the beautiful beeches, supermarkets and on the bus route for the lovely town of Skiathos!!! Our children love it also, we will return. It holds some special memories and it has a special place in our hearts!!! Bernadette & Family from Ireland....

Room Tip: Two bed apartment would be ideal!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ber4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our first time at Sunset and I'm sure it won't be our last! We received such a friendly welcome from the two Vasilis and this continued throughout our stay. We stayed in a studio apartment and everything we needed for a two week stay was provided. The apartments, pool and bar area were kept immaculately clean and bedding and towels were changed frequently.

The location of these apartments is great with bars, restaurants, supermarket and beaches nearby. There is also a frequent bus service on the road outside the Sunset which goes into Skiathos Town.

The food at the Sunset was the best we had on the island and the service was brilliant. This was the only place on the island where we ate more than once, we ate here 5 or 6 times during our stay and the food was amazing each time. Vegetables are grown in the beautiful and well kept gardens of the apartments.

We spoke to so many people who return to the Sunset Apartments year after year and I can definitely see why. We had such a great time here, the island is beautiful and our stay at Sunset was perfect. We will hopefully be returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our 2nd stay with Sunset for 2 weeks in July 2013. We liked it so much last year had to come back. Studios very clean and generous in size. Vasilis and all staff friendly, who are helpful make you feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble for them. Food in restaurant is excellent, Mythos is cold, barbeque evey Friday by the pool. Clean pool ,decent size and comfy sunbeds.Well maintained complex, home grown veggies for the restaurant. Family run studios so they care your holiday is as relaxing as possible. Location of studios is excellent ,easy walk to Koukounanries beach, golden sparkles in the sand clear beach no steep hills .Other beaches easy to get to by regular bus service. ideal if you want peace and quiet. Miss it already, will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My 4th stay at Sunset and I wouldn't consider going anywhere else. The location is fantastic. Koukounaries has the best beaches on the island and they are all within walking distance. The bus into town is about 200m away.

The complex itself is very well looked after by Vasilis who takes enormous pride in his job and nothing is too much trouble. The apartments are simple but more than adequate and the pool area is modern and well maintained. There is a small taverna and bar area which has a real homely feel about it and 'the boys' (Vasilis x 2) are welcoming hosts and the food is fantastic. I love to see Vasilis' dad tending the gardens, which are beautiful.

I have had holidays here with my teenage daughter, partner and friend so any kind of holiday fits at Sunset.

Love it, will be back next year. Many thanks

Room Tip: Loved the rooms on the right hand side. Cool and shady!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous place to stay, very clean and helpful staff. Owners go well out of their way to make your stay relaxing. Restaurant and food first class, nothing too much trouble. Poolside comfortable, no expense spared. Vissalas booked a boat for us to sail round the island - what great fun day - boat super. Have already booked for 2014 can't wait.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.5 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 84 in Skiathos
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
357 reviews
2.0 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
731 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
469 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel & Apartments

Property: Sunset Hotel & Apartments
Address: Koukounaries, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
#2 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Apartments Hotel Koukounaries
Sunset Hotel & Apartments Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing