We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday and very good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Hotel & Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great holiday and very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed May 29th – 12th June 2013

This is our 15th visit to Skiathos in nine years. We always stay in Koukounaries area. This was our 3rd stay at Sunset Apartments. As with last year’s stay our room over-looked the front of the hotel.

Our room was large compared to other hotels we have stayed at and kept spotless, with a good size shower room and balcony.

The pool is one of the largest compared to other hotels in Koukounaries so if you like a proper swim this is the place. The pool area is kept very clean with sun beds and Parasols, the gardens were all smart and well cared for. (This is thanks to owner’s 80 year old father Antony.)

The owner’s Vasilis and George and their family, together with his second in command “The chef” also called Vasilis were all very friendly and helpful. Should you have any issues while staying at the Sunset, bring them to Vasilis’ attention and he will soon fix the problem.
(We did not have any issues)

The food at the hotel is good value for money. All freshly cooked. Maybe slightly larger portions than other restaurants (the moussaka is particularly good).

So based on the total cost of our stay I would say it’s excellent value and we will be back again next year.

I believe that the Sunset (Also known as Noula) is not available from T.C. in 2014? But it will be available from Cosmos.

You can also book direct with the Sunset which we have done in the past with no problems.
Also check out their web site www.sunsetskiathos.gr


Prices –
Bus to town 2 Euros, Mythos 3 - 4 Euros

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Royston50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    32
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
137
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked this accomodation following excellent trip advisor reviews. The location is excellent being close to the beaches, fantastic walks and also close to a good selection of restraunts and two supermarkets. The pool area and grounds around the property are really well maintained.

However the room we were allocated (a maisonette) had a lot to be desired. We have stayed in Greece many times are are quite use to basic accomodation. Therefore we were not expecting luxury. However - there were cleanliness issues, including dirty hankies in the bedside draw, dirty bed linen left in one of the wardrobes, a cork still remaining on the corkscrew from the previous occupiers. The bed was extemely uncomforable and clean towels were only provided once during our week stay, There was very limited cutlery e.g. only one tea spoon and no tea towel or any cleaning equipment provided to be able to carryout any cleaning ourselves. A brush would have been useful. There is a 40 euro charge for airconditioning. Wi-fi access is free, but very poor in the rooms.
We enjoyed our stay, however having stayed in the Mandraki and the Panorama Hotels previouosly they offer a much higher standard of accomodation. It is a pity that the items detailed above were letting this accomodation down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TandCBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetskiathos, Owner at Sunset Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
the owners. i am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us,how ever you did not tell me you not happy with the room so i coud not help you with this or you can tell to the rep of the company and they coud work with me to help you.about the air condition explain to the brochure of the company the extra charge also you cant compare me with 4* hotels(panorama-mandraki,is more expensive holidays) i am self catering studios ,apartments.however thanks very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We chose sunset because of the reviews on this site and from knowing that Koukounaries was the place to stay from previous visits to the island. The apartments certainly are based in the best area if you want a peaceful, relaxing time with everything close to hand. The bus stops just a few metres away every 20 mins to access all the many beaches and Skiathos town. Just 2 euros wherever you get off.
We echo previous reviews in that Vasillas and his family were very friendly, helpful and Sunset was very well run. Small things they did like providing water at the same price as the supermarket so you didn't have to carry it were really thoughtful.
The gardens were beautiful bursting with flowers and fruit such as lemons, limes, kiwi and apricots. There was vegetables growing in the borders and fig trees and Vines. The pine walk leading out the back gate was just lovely, it took approx 30 min on a gentle stroll along this to reach the Gorgeous Mandraki beach.
After a bit of research we hired a 4x4 from Mustang just along the road which was £30 a day including all insurance and went all over the island, it was very quiet and really pretty this time of year. Some hairy moments along the mountain roads but worth the effort.
The pool and bar area were kept spotlessly clean, the pool was a perfect spot to cool off and enjoy a beer. We ate here one night and the food was plentiful, delicious and service excellent. There are also plenty of bars and other restaurants very close by and a fab supermarket which has fresh fruit, cakes and yummy biscuits.
The room as other people have said was very basic, with all that you would need for your stay regarding crockery etc, fine for making breakfast or a snack, perhaps just take a tea towel and dish cloth with you. There are no luxuries, towels are rather thread bare. It was cleaned most days by cheerful maids and we had sheets and towels changed once in the week. The only improvement I would make to these apartments is the Bed! I am surprised no one has commented before, it really was very basic, very low to the ground and not comfy at all I have spent many years travelling Greece and know that the beds are basic however you really do need a comfortable bed to enjoy your stay. Most of the people staying here were middle aged and retired couple we spoke to also loved Skiathos and Sunset but said they wished they had only booked a week instead of two because the lovely lady had not slept at all.
If you do not mind very basic facilities you will be fine. Some of the larger apartments may have had bigger beds I am not sure. So Bigger more comfy beds please and we would return! Thank you Vasillas and family, I wish you well for the season ahead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Having found the Sunset Appartments last year and spending a wonderful week relaxing and making new friends - Vasilis and his family that own and run the appartments, together with their very good chef/barman..Vasilis 2 as we called him ! we returned this year for two weeks. We underestimated our decision... it was total bliss, brilliant so relaxing we were 'horizontal'.....
Vasilis and his family made us so welcome, and was genuinely pleased to see us return.
The appartments are well situated, very clean and comfortable, we stayed in a 'maisonette' style appartment and found it had everything we needed, although we never used the kitchen facilities except to make tea/coffee as the on-site taverna with the Vasilis 2, the chef, provides delicious local traditional food.There are also many other tavernas within walking distance all providing good local dishes.The cleaning staff are very helpful and we found them to be very friendly.They were regularly in the appartment with clean linen and towels.
Koukounaries is a quiet and beautiful part of the Island of Skiathos, there are many beaches to find and explore with Skiathos town just a 'hop' on the local bus which runs frequently throughout the day.
We hired a 4-wheel drive- 'Jimny' and toured the island and some of its historical sites. A 4-wheel drive is the best option as a lot of the 'roads' are dirt tracks and there are steep rises and falls as you travel to the small villages off the beaten track.
Had a brilliant time at Sunset, lovely appartment and wonderful hosts, we look forward to our next visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue-Graham_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have just returned from my sixth visit to Skiathos & having stayed in the same place for the last three wanted a change, but still wanted to be in Koukoukanaries. I chose Sunset as I knew the location was good & the apartments looked in good condition on my last visit. I stayed in a ground floor apartment at the top of the drive & thus in a very quiet location. The apartment was well presented with plenty of floor space even with a double & single bed in the room. My only gripe re the furnishing was the large plastic dining table & chairs which I felt let the place down a little (saying that I didn't use the table once). Wardrobe space was more than ample which is always a plus point. The kitchen area consisted of a 2 ring "cooker", fridge, kettle & enough crockery & cutlery for our needs - I only ate breakfast in the apartment & then did so on the terrace, so didn't need too much anyway.

The bathroom which consisted of a toilet, shower & basin could have done with a bit more storage for toiletries, but this wasn't a major issue.

The apartment was very clean & was cleaned twice during our weeks stay, & linen was changed once. Two loo rolls are provided at the start of the stay & then it's up to you to buy more - best to be aware of that one!

A safety deposit box is available for hire - I paid 10 Euros for the week.
Air con & fans are also available for hire should you need them - I didn't so cannot comment on the cost.
I didn't eat at in the attached taverna, as I prefer to go out so again I cannot comment on the food/service here. All the staff that I came into contact with were very friendly which is something sadly lacking in many establishments these days.

I will definately be staying at Sunset again on my next visit to Skiathos - hopefully later this summer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the bar area to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Sunset Apartments in Skiathos and have enjoyed it immensely. Sunset Apartments are located on the greenest part of the Island and a great base to explore from. Lots of woodland trails leading to some stunning beaches. The staff really looked after our needs and nothing was too much trouble. Food is excellent, Greek cuisine at it best. We tried other restaurants nearby, but we always liked Vasillis's cooking better. Apartment was located within the peaceful garden area and cleaned regularly. Weather was marvellous, and we took the ferry to Skopelos one day, shopped in Skiathos town, swam everyday, walked the trails, lots to admire here. We will certainly book these Apartments again
Paul and Jean from Motherwell

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulnorris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had such a fantastic holiday here in Sept 2012, lovely staff going that extra mile to make sure we had a wonderful stay. Basic but comfortable and very clean room. Many beautiful beaches within walking distance. We are looking to sitting on Mandraki beach again, it has a lovely taverna for that early morning coffee or something stronger at lunch, great food too. No hire car needed as busses run every 15 mins from Koukounaries to Skiathos Town and all beaches in between. Boat trip around island well worth the trip, even for those who suffer from seasickness (like me). Once back in the UK all we talked about was returning, so we have just booked 2 weeks for 2013 and can't wait to see Vasilis and his family again, not forgetting Vasilis the wonderful chef. This time we hope to hire a quad bike to see the interior of the island. I wonder if we will return again and again like so many of the people we met whilst there. Watch this space!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.0 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel & Apartments

Property: Sunset Hotel & Apartments
Address: Koukounaries, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
#2 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Apartments Hotel Koukounaries
Sunset Hotel & Apartments Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing