We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nuala Apartments, Sunset Taverna”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nuala Apartments, Sunset Taverna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We have stayed at these apartments at least 6 times in the last 10 years and have been delighted to find improvements every time we have stayed here. The whole family do their best to ensure your stay is the best possible. The food in the restaurant is plentiful and well prepared (try the lamb kleftiko - it really is one of the best I have tasted). We visited at the end of the season, and at this stage most rooms in apartments, have normally got the insects smeared all round the walls, no sign of that here. It was my partners birthday while we were out there and Vasilis even bought in a birthday katifi on request! Can't wait to get back.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    32
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
139
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

What a fantastic place….this is our second stay at Sunset and loved every minute. We have been coming to Skiathos for the past 5 years and were lucky enough to find this accommodation as it ticks all the boxes.
Clean accommodation, air conditioning, really great infinity pool, great restaurant, very friendly hosts Vasilis & George, central location for beaches, supermarket, and restaurants what more could you ask for.
Travelling with two children we found the Sunset was great accommodation for all the children’s needs…and made the holiday a great experience. Will defiantly be back for another holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foursee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

An excellent holiday, first time to this beautiful island of Skiathos.Noula appartments ticked all the boxes for us. The rooms were clean and well stocked. The family are just lovely people, allways ready to please. The food was lovely by the pool bar, we ate there every night for a fortnight apart from once when we were on another island. We nicknamed the chef Gordon as in Ramsay as the meals were delicious and he was so polite, nothing was too much trouble. A quiet & relaxing holiday all round, the poolside was so clean and the music was not loud as we have experienced on other Greek holidays. Definately go back - Mal & Andy from Worcester.

Room Tip: The family room we had for 4 people even though there was only the two of us. It was well woth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We spent a lovely week at the Sunset Apartments in August and didn't want to go home! The apartments are run by two very welcoming brothers and their parents and were exactly what we were looking for. The pool is a great size and there are plenty of comfy beds around it. It is just afew steps to the bar area where a large Mythos is perfect in the afternoons! The family dog Ricky is well loved by everyone staying and our girls were no exception, they enjoyed lots of cuddles with him.

We had lunches and dinner at the Sunset taverna - the food is of a great standard all cooked by Vasillos who also cooks the Friday evening BBQ. Really lovely, lots of food and some wine included.

The bus stop is just up the road and it is very easy to get into Skiathos Town for 2 euros. Koukounaries beach is also very easy to reach, approx. 10 minutes walk away and is well worth a visit. All in all we had a great holiday and will definitely be returning!

Mike, Rebecca, Lucy & Sophie

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We have been to Skiathos many times over the last few years and still love it!! This is the second time we have stayed at the Sunset Apartments and have to say they provide everything you need...Vasilas and George are always on hand to help with any query, always with a smile and never too much trouble...The food at the Sunset is fabulous thanks to chef Vasilas...the fish night we had was just perfect!!...we cannot wait to return to Skiathos next year and will definitely be staying at the Sunset....the apartments are spacious, clean and air conditioned which is a must...we would recommend this as a place to stay....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaynor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

*** I posted this under Noula Apartments because thats what I have always known it as and so do Thomas Cook. Here it is again under Sunset Apartments as they are the same lovely place!***


I have been visiting Skiathos with my family over the last twenty years and first stayed at the Noula in 2001. Since then we have returned to spend days at the wonderful pool and evenings in the pool side Taverna even if we aren't staying there as we have often found it difficult to ge a booking for four people here such is it's reputation. This year we were lucky and having not been to Skiathos since 2007 there were some changes.

The accommodation has been improved yet again, now rooms are air conditioned and have access to a TV (why when on holiday??) anyway, the free wifi connection took a hammering even when around the pool and the bar had also been extensively refurbed since we last visited.

The food at the accommodation itself is superb. An accomplished cook serves up dishes of a high standard - can't comment on the cooking facilities in the rooms as didn't use them once! A meal for four here with wine ranges from 65 - 80 euros depending on your choice which is the going rate throughout Koukounaries but the quality of the food is above most of the establishments in the village.

The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable, saftey deposit boxes are available and they are set in peaceful gardens. The host family and staff will assist you with any queries and are happy to help out. The whole complex is well maintained from the front gate to the fixtures in the rooms.

I discovered on arrival that two tour operators currently take up space here - Thomas Cook (under Manos flag) and Monarch. Go with either!

We will be taking a break from Skiathos again now for a few years but we will return and this will be our choice of destination for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skidsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Just come back from another two weeks' stay at Sunset. It was brilliant! Skiathos itself is stunning, the people are great, friendly and will anything for you, but another stay at Sunset made it even more special.

The rooms are basic (typical Greek) but are very clean and tidy. Towels and linen are changed on a regular basis.

The grounds are beautiful and very very well maintained by the family. As well as plants, there are fruit trees and vegetables and all areas are superbly landscaped.

The pool is second to none, not too big and impersonal and offers a relaxing environment with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and just a quick stroll to the pool bar!

The home-cooked food on offer at the Sunset Taverna is excellent quality and reasonable priced and is always cooked fresh. The barbeque that they offer every Friday is not to be missed! - ALL COOKED FRESH BY THEIR CRAZY CHEF VASILIS - BLOODY GREEK!

The apartments are owned and run by a lovely Greek family - brothers Vasilis and George, and their parents Adonis and Noula who clearly take a great pride in their guests' comfort and every need is taken care of. Young Vasilis is the mad barman and Chef and is truly a great character who makes everyone's stay memorable.

Well done to all the team at the Sunset for another great stay and we can't wait to come back next year.

Mike and Tina, Manchester, UK.

The family

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.2 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#4 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel & Apartments

Property: Sunset Hotel & Apartments
Address: Koukounaries, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Apartments Hotel Koukounaries
Sunset Hotel & Apartments Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing