We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
98
18
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
18
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior studiopine forestself cateringsandy pathplenty of sunbedsstudios apartmentsthe main roadlovely verandachanged frequentlybedroom apartmentthe busskiathos townolive treesno rushplenty of hanging spacejust returned from a two weekminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 123 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2015

We have just completed our 11 th trip to Magda studios and that should say it all really.
Beautiful peaceful setting set in the pine trees away from the main road a short walk up a gravel track.
Immaculate swimming pool with ample sun beds and pretty gardens.
A family run complex with charming apartments furnished in typical Greek style. Most of the rooms have been updated for this year to a very nice standard and we understand the beds will also be updated for next year.
Lovely Olga is in charge of housekeeping and is just amazing, leaving the room spotless every day, with the exception of Sunday's.
We shall no doubt keep returning to this wonderful place for as long as we are able.

Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos G, Owner at Magda Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2015

Thank you very much for the positive feedback.
The fact you are visiting Skiathos and our place for so many years, says it all!
We all try, including Olga who is part of the family, to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible.
Thanks for your continued custom and look forward to seeing you again.
Costis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2015

We have just returned from our first visit to Skiathos and stayed at Magda Apartments for 10 nights. As previously mentioned by reviewers, the property is perfectly situated on the very edge of a beautiful pine forest. It is so quiet there and the pool is surrounded by orchard and garden. We stayed in studio 4, which was comfortable, but fairly basic in that Greek way. The little kitchen was well equipped for two and towels and sheets were changed regularly. We were a little disappointed that studio 4 was up by the gate and there was little or no sunshine to sit in. But it was kept spotless by the wonderful Olga, who is so much more than the cleaner. Sadly the owner, Magda lost her husband last year, and without Olga we think it would be hard for her to run this place as well as it is. But there are plans for some improvements and extra apartments next year.

We would thoroughly recommend Magda to holidaymakers wishing for a very quiet holiday. There are several beautiful beaches within a 20 minute walk through the pine forest and Koukounaries' busier beach is nearby too. Supermarkets and restaurants are nearby as is the stop for the wonderful bus service into Skiathos town. We are not surprised that so many people return to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joinedupwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos G, Owner at Magda Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2015

Thank you for taking the time let us know your views about our place and your holidays at Magda and Skiathos.
We are trying with difficulty to cope with dad's absense, he is missed and with Olga's help we continue what he started back in the 80s...
As you understand all the units have pros and cons - room 4 is quiter than others due to its location. If you move the table and chairs a bit forward you can get the sun for longer from the patio. We could have moved you to another studio if we had been made aware. Never mind, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and thanks again for your custom.
Costis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2015 via mobile

We had room 14- one of the bungalows. We booked the magda apartments after close family had told us how idillic it was and how they wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island now. We are only on night 7 out of 14 and are already booking our next holiday here.
The rooms are kept pristine, the kitchen is very well equipped, the owner and staff are more than pleasant and the pool is lovely with plenty of sunbeds.
The location is beautiful with orange trees and rose bushes. Very close to a range of bars, restaurants, breathtaking beaches and convenience stores.
Other main things to note are how friendly the other guests are and how bright and starry the nights look. Oh and expect daily courtesy visits from Lady Loretta and Master Fat Cat- resident mutt and puss- they like to check you are settled in and enjoying yourself!
If you booked your holiday in the Magda apartments you would not be disappointed... except for on the day you had to leave!

Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos G, Owner at Magda Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2015

All we can say is that we are very pleased that you are enjoying yourselves here ar our place.
We do our very best to ensure people enjoy their holidays with us!
We do hope you return and thank you for your custom and positive feedback.
Costis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015

If you like peace & quiet with lovely walks & stuning beaches then this is the place for you. If you have small children,a buggy, poor mobility or like a busy resort with night life then its not.
Lovely refurbished bungalows. Well equiped kitchen area. Nice bathroom with good shower.Light & airy room. Lovely pool area with plenty of sunbeds. Room was spotlessly clean & tidied daily (except sun). Grounds are pretty to look at from a fairly private terrace. No music or pool bar which suited us. Short walk to supermarkets (2) & plenty of nice tavernas.No other shops. Longer walk to beaches ( 30 minute amble) but very pretty walks often through cool forest & with stunning views & sandy beaches at the end. All now have small beach bars. There are watersports & 3 big bars at main beach but this is always very busy. Bus stop very close & buses every 20 mins until midnight.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acoldbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos G, Owner at Magda Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2015

Thank you for the review and feedback, well described and much appreciate it.
It seems that you enjoyed your stay at our place and in Skiathos and hope you return one day in the future again. Costis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2015

This was our first experience of self-catering abroad as we usually select bed and breakfast, but we were particularly drawn to the location of Magda, It is beautifully situated on the edge of the forest walks to the beaches, off the main road but only a couple of minutes walk to tavernas and supermarkets, and 15+ minutes walk to beaches, depending on which you choose to walk to. We stayed in studio 16, which was at the end of the block and closest to the pool. As most people used the path past our studio to the road and the walks, we managed to speak to most guests as they passed, and were struck by the friendliness of everyone. In fact, Skiathos impressed us as an especially friendly island.

Our studio had 3 single beds, and I believe to be part way through renovation. There was a new shower room with a proper cubicle, though a tray to hold shower gel, shampoo etc would have been desirable as there's not a lot of room for taller people to bend down to get these items from the floor of the shower, and caused me some difficulty as I have back problems, but that's a minor observation. There was always plenty of hot water, but should you have a younger person showering be aware that the temperature fluctuates, presumably as other guests use their showers, and can quickly go from very cold to very hot.

The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of crockery etc; being the wife of an ex-butcher we did miss our sharp knives but then that's usually the case when we're on holiday!

There was a wardrobe with plenty of hanging space and hangers but only two small drawers - three people would struggle to store clothes for a fortnight. We kept tops folded in our cases, on the third bed. Honestly, this would make a lovely double apartment, and I'd love to see it with a nice double bed (I really don't like sleeping alone on holiday), drawers, comfy chairs and a full length mirror. Oh, and fluffy towels - ours were little tired and line-dried. Perhaps this sounds a bit picky, but will explain why I didn't give a 5 star rating.

We didn't buy air con, and were glad we didn't - evenings were cool (19/5-2/6) and a couple of times we even used the heavier quilts stored on top of the wardrobes.

There was free wifi, sometimes a bit iffy but very good most of the time.

The balcony area was a good size and a very pleasant spot to sit and eat/drink/watch the world go by, overlooking the gardens.

The peace and quiet was fantastic - always empty sunbeds round the pool, which was never busy but beautifully kept. No pool bar, so no noise either from radio etc. In fact with no TV or radio in the room, we found we missed neither at all. Instead we listened to Skops owls beeping, a little owl screeching, peacocks and the ubiquitous hooded crows, and cicadas on hotter days. We saw bee eaters and then at dusk the bats came and the Eleonora's falcons, sometimes half a dozen at a time, putting on a beautiful flying display. Magical.

Ladies, there was a proper hair dryer, not the swimming pool type, and a diffuser.I couldn't (or wouldn't) wear a long dress or pretty sandals because the two tracks are so dusty, one more than the other. If you plan on walks through the forest to the beaches, I'd recommend trainers; I brought walking sandals but the sand was so deep and soft in parts it was heavy going, wish I'd taken mine!

The bus stop(23) was a couple of minutes walk away, and costs 2 euros into town. We didn't bother hiring a car as the service was so efficient, but if you want to go anywhere other than the south coast you'd need to hire.

All in all a lovely place, ideally situated, which with a couple of tweaks would be perfect!

Room Tip: studios 11-16 are well placed, we'd choose 16 again, on the end
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bevlikeshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos G, Owner at Magda Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Thank you for your feedback. You are correct we started renovating the place and it should be completed by next year. All comments are taken on board - thank you. Tha lack of TV is because we are known as a "get away from it all place in complete peace". There is a CD-radio player available in each apartment. Thank you for your custom and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay oveall in Skiathos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews