We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Week in Skiathos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magda Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magda Apartments
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Perfect Week in Skiathos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a week 6th to 13th September in studio 14, next door to the legendary Stan and Diane!!
The studio was typically greek, very clean and had a lovely patio area with a view down to a great swimming pool, which was very peaceful during the day.
Great location, set back from the main road, just 10 minutes walk from Koukounaries beach, on the edge of a pine forest which if you go through, takes you to more fantastic beaches. We hired a quad bike for 3 days and went to Mandraki, Agia Eleni, Banana, Troulos and Kanapitsa beaches, which were all great.
There are shops, restaurants, tavernas all just a few minutes away or you can experience the famous Skiathos bus service into the town, where you will find many, many excellent places to eat and drink.
The weather was glorious all week, can't wait to go back to Magda and have already booked for 2 weeks in June.

Paul and Sue.










  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OneUnited99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    16
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

3rd to the 17th September 2013
Never been in September but it was so quiet compared to July and August. No problem getting on the buses and eating/drinking in the taverna and bars. Dino and Efi still running a tight ship at the Augestera bar. Taverna's we would recommend (in order of preference):-
Panorama
Strofilia
Big Bad Wolf
Muses
Golden Beach
Ilias Orchard (Runway)

The weather was great as only a little cooler than July and August which is welcome especially in the evenings and at night. Great walks through the Pine forest from Magda to the Mandarki beaches. Maratha was particularly good this year...bar on beach has improved.

One down side is that we did find it alot more expensive than Santorini last year. BUT skaithos still has everything and this was our 7th visit to the Island.

Magda is basic but the owners take great pride in their property and are always on hand to sort out and problems (big or small). Also there are many people returning like us...it is like a family...special mention to Stan and Di....who make everyone come together.

KIndest regards

Rhombus Adam and Jemma

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhombus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos G, Owner at Magda Apartments, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Adam & Gemma!
Really glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves with us and hope that Stan didn't drive you mad!!!
They are a lovely couple with Diane and the place is always lively when they are here!
Have a good winter and we hope to see you again, Costis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The studios look good ,they are the four accommodations in a row that are in most photos,the apartments are at the top end furthest from the pool area but beware,there is the main block of apartments in the photos then attached but kind of hidden from view there is the owners apartment and two other apartments including number five which is the one we were given.it consists of a front door leading to a kitchen area measuring 3m x 2m with a door to the left leading to a bathroom with loo sink and shower with curtain and a little window that is head height and looks out to the front door area you can see people passing as you shower !! Straight ahead from the front door and kitchen are is the bedroom area there is no door it's open plan ,the bedroom is 3.5m x 4m with the hardest double bed ever plus a single wardrobe and a little table 1m x 1m and two chairs not enough room for two suitcases not enough clothing storage space for two persons so I had to keep most of my clothes in my suitcase on top of the wardrobe.At the far end of the accom is a window that looks out the back of the accom.the aircon is next to the bed so if you are nearest the window you get blasted the bed is too close to the aircon.the fridge is nearest the the passage from kitchen to bedroom so when it gets hot in the apartment it switches on to cool itself down and wakens you up in the middle of the night,you then put the aircon on and get blasted with cold air because its too close to the bed.im used to roughing it but this was very uncomfortable accom.rhe people are lovely the owners live in the apartment adjoining number five.

Room Tip: Do not go to apartment number five go to a studio instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos G, Owner at Magda Apartments, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear customers,
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with room 5 - it is a studio with double bed, not an apartment. The sizes of the studios are more or less the same, the layout may differ. The furnishings are also the same (i.e. wardrobe, table, chairs etc), it is just the location that it differs. We do have larger apartments that sleep more than 2 people and every person is given the room type they have actually booked and paid for.
I would like to ask you if possible to check our website www.magda.gr - if you click on the Magda Photos section you can see that there are actually 3 photos of this studio; 3rd row down 3rd photograph, 6th row down 1st photograph and 7th row down 1st photograph are all from studio 5.
There is nothing we can do now to rectify your disappointment as you have gone, we are sorry for this.
Thank you for your custom and do take care of yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had a lovely relaxing week at the Magda apartments in August. The apartments are basic but bigger than some other places we have stayed on Skiathos. They have everything you need. The pool area is lovely and very quiet during the day. As there is no bar/entertainment at Magda a lot of other guests didn't stick around - they sought entertainment elsewhere. This meant on a couple of days we had the whole pool to ourselves. Which was fantastic. You get a lovely breeze coming onto the pool area from the pine forest direction so it doesn't get too stifling hot during the day. There is another track leading up to Magda to the right hand side of the pool - this one is lit better so you don't need a torch as you do if you use the sandy track. If you want a holiday that is relaxing and quiet in lovely surroundings I would recommend Magda.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos G, Owner at Magda Apartments, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear customers,
We are glad to hear you had a good time in Skiathos and to our place.
Much appreciate your kind comments.
Take care.
Regards, Costis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just come back from a lovely, relaxing holiday at the Magda apartments. Plenty of room for the 2 of us but don't go expecting all the luxuries of home. Having said that the apartments are kept very clean and the staff are very friendly. The apartments are set back from the road up a quiet lane making it quiet and relaxing all the time. 10 minutes from the nicest beach on the island and only 2 mins to amenities (supermarket, bars, restaurants) of koukounaries. Great bus service into Skiathos town, with a bus stop only 2 minutes from the apartment. Take a torch as the lane to the apartments is not very well lit at night. Will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigOll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos G, Owner at Magda Apartments, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments and the good feedback - really appreciate it.
We are glad you had a good time with us in Skiathos.
hope to see you again in the future.
regards, Costis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé stated here in the last two weeks of July and this was our second time round (2010) staying at Magda, and once again we fully enjoyed it! We chose to come back here because its nicely set back, small and friendly! I was celebrating my birthday on the 2nd week and the owners got me a birthday card and a bottle of wine, very nice touch! We stayed in a first floor apartment which was very spacious, clean and had a balcony which was nice to sit out on in the mornings/evenings! The kitchen is well equipped for self catering but we found ourselves using the toaster most mornings and then just going out to the town for meals each night. You could easily get a sun bed, and just relax by the pool. Koukounaries beach is just a 5-10 min walk across the road. Bus stop is literally in front of you as soon as you get on to the main road from the apartments. We hired an open top jeep for a few days to explore the other side of the island to the various beaches!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreya8823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos G, Owner at Magda Apartments, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Visited by lovely people!
Thank you for your feedback - much appreciate your comments.
We are pleased to read you had a good time once again at our place and you celebrated your birthday over here!
Look after yourselves and maybe we will see again next year!
Costis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a lovely holiday at the Magda. As others have said, the apartments are set back from the main road, so really peaceful (a torch is handy at night) and relaxing. We had room 14, which is one of those shown in the picture and it was the most spacious studio we've experienced in Greece. We particularly loved the gate on the veranda for easy access to the pool area. The studio was well equipped in terms of utensils, coat hangers, an airer outside, patio furniture etc, but don't expect much in the way of drawer space.

We aren't usually pool people, but it was such a quiet relaxing spot, we spent several days lazing around it. The choice of beaches is great, and the Magda is well placed to explore several so you can pick your favourite. We preferred the beaches on the south of the island, and I was taken aback by the beauty of Koukounaries beach which fully deserves the accolades of one of the best in Europe (and it has sparkly sand!). It is not however, a well kept secret, I've never been anywhere where the sunbeds are quite so tightly packed! We did find though that if we got there before 10.15ish, we could get a bed on the end of a row so you can move out and give yourself a bit more space.

Koukounaries wasn't quite what we expected. It isn't really a resort in the usual sense, more a strip of road, so if you're after a large choice of tavernas and bars, it won't be the place for you, but if you're looking for something low key, then it will suit.

Skiathos Town is a cosmopolitan, cool place, and very easy to get to on the bus service which covers the south of the island and they run every 15 minutes. The buses can get incredibly crowded, so brace yourself! We were apprehensive on our first trip but the buses have a conductor with plenty of change, so you just need to find a seat and wait for the conductor to help you - easy, and well worth the effort!

Finally, my husband says I must mention the free WIFI at the Magda which he found very useful, and the password is helpfully pinned to the noticeboard in your room. Thank you Magda for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthiebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos G, Owner at Magda Apartments, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - really appreciate your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and you seem to have liked both Skiathos and the Magda!
Do take care of yourselves and maybe we will see again in the near future.
Costis (owner's son)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.1 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maistrali Studios
Maistrali Studios
#7 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Studios
Lake Studios
#11 of 11 in Koukounaries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magda Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magda Apartments

Property: Magda Apartments
Address: Koukounaries 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Koukounaries
Hotel Class:1 star — Magda Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16 units in total are built on a large private land amongst pine and olive groves with private parking area. There is a large swimming pool, a smaller kids’ pool (both constructed according to strict European Union safety standards) and a sun terrace, which comes with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. Spread out from the pool area to the edge of the forest are some beautiful gardens, which are cared for by the owners of this lovely complex. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magda Apartments Hotel Koukounaries
Magda Apartments Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing