We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Elements”
Review of The Surf Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vasiliki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Surf Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ocean Elements”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I've had three trips to the surf hotel in vasiliki with Ocean Elements. The hotel is very basic but well run and clean. I've always enjoyed my stays in Vass and would probably go back again. The windsurfing there is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TedLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    32
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Let's be clear. This resort is for watersports, for which the hotel, room and location were ideal. If you don't want to be on the water, you might not find enough to occupy you locally and you might be disappointed in the rooms.
Organisation & staff: Brilliant. It's a British resort - no worries about communication. In fact, you'll have to make an effort to go out and experience something Greek.
Equipment for learners: Excellent.
Bar/food/pool: Good quality, not too fussy. Decent bar with food. There were also 3-4 evening meals including the first night.
Hotel: Comfortable with simple furnishings. Fully tiled throughout with a simple shower-room/wetroom. The kind of room that withstands you coming in wet and covered in sandy grit. We had a great little balcony that overlooked the bay. (Tip: Take plastic cups/plates/cutlery & bottle opener for having lunch on the balcony. Take pegs/string to hang wet clothes out to dry in the sun).
Lessons: We were impressed with the way the staff catered for mixed abilities. Easy to learn RYA level 1 in a week.
Town: Very touristy. Abandon hope of experiencing unspoilt Greek. The locals were friendly enough, but were clearly a bit tired of tourists. Lots of restaurants 2-20mins walk away. A small food/drink shop is 2mins walk away. A larger supermarket is 15mins walk away.
In summary, we loved it and would recommend it for learning to sail/windsurf in great surroundings while getting a tan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidUK567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

great holiday and very friendly staff, but internet access is appalling and unreliable (I ended up using a competitor hotel wifi!)

also lacking in equipment and supplies, Sam did brilliantly to keep the bikes running without spares, and if you dont want lessons you will struggle to get a board when the lessons are running

you also cant use the bikes unless you have a partner to ride with or go on an organised ride, something that no one mentions until you get there

a really nice holiday but would be better if Ocean Elements didnt try to do everything on a shoestring

finally, it would help if some of the less experienced staff could be slightly less preachy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keirik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is right on the beach and in a great spot. The rooms were very basic and in need of an overhaul but apart from that the whole ocean elements experience was fantastic. Good service, excellent watersports equipment and coaching staff and vassiliki is a great spot for relaxing and watersports..... would definitely go again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddock Wood, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A great week, thanks to the superb staff, whether activity or hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble. I'm not a sailor but many guests commented very positively on their experience. However, my overall enjoyment slightly marred by a rather basic room - tired furniture, terrible bed / mattress and a just acceptable shower room. Breakfast also rather basic, lunch menu good. Poor internet access which most guests appeared to find irritating. Vasiliki was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Writing this to share what a wonderful two weeks we've had at the Surf Hotel with Ocean Elements. We came as absolute beginners and left as intermediate windsurfers and start sailors. The teaching and lessons were top notch with special mentions to Sara, Sally and Sam who made our stay even greater.

The accommodation is a little basic and the cleanliness could be better but that doesnt matter so much when your on the beach and in the water all day.

Would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas19860501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I've had a fantastic 2 week stay here in vassiliki, and both bike Sam and Sara have been such amazing instructors and guides! All the staff have been great and have made learning some new skills fun and easy. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake13243546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasiliki
0.8 mi away
Grand Nefeli
Grand Nefeli
#4 of 12 in Vasiliki
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Theoni Hotel
Grand Theoni Hotel
#2 of 12 in Vasiliki
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Enodia Hotel
Enodia Hotel
#3 of 12 in Vasiliki
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Billy's House
Billy's House
#1 of 12 in Vasiliki
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#5 of 12 in Vasiliki
57 reviews
10.2 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Vasiliki 31082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Vasiliki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vasiliki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beach Surf Hotel offers a warm welcome for couples, families and active sports enthusiasts. Its private swimming pool and gardens which front onto the beach, offer a safe and exclusive area for family fun right on one of the best beaches in Greece for active water sports! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surf Hotel Lefkada/Vasiliki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing