We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the Sun in Vass”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Surf Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Writing this to share what a wonderful two weeks we've had at the Surf Hotel with Ocean Elements. We came as absolute beginners and left as intermediate windsurfers and start sailors. The teaching and lessons were top notch with special mentions to Sara, Sally and Sam who made our stay even greater.

The accommodation is a little basic and the cleanliness could be better but that doesnt matter so much when your on the beach and in the water all day.

Would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas19860501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 147 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

I've had a fantastic 2 week stay here in vassiliki, and both bike Sam and Sara have been such amazing instructors and guides! All the staff have been great and have made learning some new skills fun and easy. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake13243546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had an amazing two weeks on the beautiful island learning to windsurf and doing mountain biking!! Sally, Sara and Sam- thanks for making it all so much more fun and being great instructors! The company are very lucky to have you all!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie1234567891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had an excellent holiday at hotel surf everything was spot on only the room was a little basic . but found this didn't matter as why would you spend to much time in your room .
vas itself is an amazing little horse shoe bay with just enough restaurants and bars.
All the staff made this a great holiday especially the wind surf instructors Adam, Sally and Megan they made the class such fun and even somehow got me surfing .. Also had the best morning learning to sail with Tom.
over all I think this is an amazing holiday great value for money and watch out surf hotel might come for two weeks next year.
many thanks to all Barold and Em xx

Room Tip: all rooms are good with sea views I think ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chick0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Vassiliki itself, the staff, the watersports and organisation are excellent. A superb holiday - it's just a shame that the Hotel itself lets down Ocean Elements. Our room (bathroom)was very smelly, peeling paint and open ended pipes. sheets too small for the beds . Everything else - particularly the staff was very good though.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jll62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear jil62,

Thank you for writing a review following your holiday, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the watersports that we offer. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding the room you were staying in and we are refurbishing the rooms and bathrooms ready for next season. We will post the photos on here of the improvements and we sincerely hope that we see you again in the future.

Thank you,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband was the on who took part in the water sports mainly wind surfing thoroughly enjoyed it although that week they could have done with more wind. I had a great time relaxing by the pool. My only adverse comment would b tat the accommodation needs upgrading. Staff great an a wonderful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wishfulnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We are a family of 4 with children aged 15 & 13 & spent a fortnight here with Ocean Elements. 2 of us did dinghy sailing courses & 2 windsurfing ones and everyone had a great time. We also tried out the guided mountain biking & used the kayaks. All the equipment was in good condition & all instructors were fantastic. Communal areas such as pool, bar & breakfast room were clean & well maintained. Rooms contain twin beds, full sized fridge & have air conditioning. Everything worked but the rooms could do with a bit of redecorating. Don't mean to complain though because this is an ideal holiday for a family with active children and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vasiliki hotels
0.1 mi away
Xenia Apartments
Xenia Apartments
#1 of 43 in Vasiliki
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neilson Cosmos Beachclub
Neilson Cosmos Beachclub
#2 of 17 in Vasiliki
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Vassiliki
Club Vassiliki
#8 of 12 in Vasiliki
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Nefeli
Grand Nefeli
#6 of 12 in Vasiliki
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Katerina Resort
Katerina Resort
#5 of 43 in Vasiliki
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Holidays
Pension Holidays
#9 of 12 in Vasiliki
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Address: Vasiliki 31082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Vasiliki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Vasiliki
Price Range: $159 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beach Surf Hotel offers a warm welcome for couples, families and active sports enthusiasts. Its private swimming pool and gardens which front onto the beach, offer a safe and exclusive area for family fun right on one of the best beaches in Greece for active water sports! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Hotel Lefkada/Vasiliki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing