We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant week in beautiful Vass!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Surf Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vasiliki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Surf Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant week in beautiful Vass!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week with Ocean Elements and wish we had booked two weeks!!
Fantastic staff especially Adam, Tom and Katie who were very patient and knowledgable and great fun. we even managed to acquire a level one windsurfing qulification.

The kids facilities are also excellent both Youth Squad and Sea Tigers and Harry and Sally both deserve medals for their patience. This is a brilliant holiday and you can be as active or leisurely as you wish. Stunning location and the fact that it is half board leaves you to sample the local restaurants.

The rooms are clean but basic but it doesn't matter as you spend very little time in them.
Good breakfasts and end of week BBQ night.

Only an hour on the ferry to fiskardo in kephalonia which is well worth a trip.

Overall a great week and definitely recommend Ocean Elements.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sue H,

Thank you for your helpful review. It is great to hear that you managed to get a qualification whilst you were on holiday and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the facilities for the kids.

I am glad that you managed a trip over to Kefalonia as Fiskardo is a beautiful little village, and I agree is well worth a trip to.

We hope to see your family in the future,

Thank you,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    32
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cockermouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Real good holiday spot if you are into your dingy sailing or windsurfing ..all new kit loads of it and enthusiastic instructors...the accommodation is ok, not luxury, but who cares you are there to be out on the water!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear steve w,

Thank you for leaving a review of your holiday. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the watersports and found our instructors enthusiastic - it's great to receive positive feedback from our guests regarding our hardworking staff!

Thank you,

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have just returned from hotel surf where my teenagers and myself learnt to windsurf. Fantastic location, superb equipment and attentive instruction. A great time had by all and when the wind picked up too much at 5 pm for us beginners, we were content to watch the fantastic spectacle of the expert windsurfers in action. All the staff were very helpful . Plenty of opportunities to sail, kayak or cycle. A perfect holiday for the active family.
Vassiliki is a short walk away where you can find plenty of bars and tavernas.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Janet P,

Thank you for your great review of your holiday. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday and all of the facilities and activities that were available.

We are glad that you enjoyed watching the advanced windsurfers in action and hope you have picked up some tips!

We look forward to seeing you again,

Thank you,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having been to the area a couple of times, i was excited to see how Ocean Elements would put their mark at this amazing location and i wasn't to be disappointed. I believe (my girlfriend actually booked it) the UK sales staff were incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and passionate when confirming the trip. On arrival, the friendly team were there to welcome us to the club and even helped with the embarrassing amount of luggage we had for the week!

The hotel is set in three blocks, the pool is located in the center and with an open plan bar leading onto a grassy sunbathing area, the whole site has a relaxed and intimate atmosphere. When first walking around, the sheer amount of kit really grabs your attention, racks and racks of windsurf and SUP boards/rigs was a very pleasing site. This matched with rows of dinghies and not forgetting the bikes, you do find yourself questioning if you will have time to fit it all in.

All of the staff here are brilliant and right from the start on hand to get you involved and updated in all the activities and tuition on offer. The lesson format has tonnes going on without being too intrusive and seemed to cater for all abilities.

The catering is on B&B basis which was great as it allowed us to experience the lovely Vassiliki village in the evenings and the hotel even puts on a couple of catering options in the evenings.This was particularly useful on the first night following the early start!

The rooms were surprisingly large and comfortable, the style is traditional Mediterranean and while quite basic, perfectly fine especially the little time we actually spent in the room.

Overall a excellent experience with Ocean Elements, fantastic staff in a amazing location, look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteHilyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear PeteHilyard,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review of The Surf Hotel following your holiday. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the range of equipment we have available at the resort and we hope that you did manage to fit all of the activities in!

We look forward to seeing you both in the future,

Thank you,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked fairly last minute, on the recommendation of friends. We were not disappointed! Had a brilliant holiday and would definitely return. Great for active families as well as those who like to enjoy the sunbathing/pool/scenery/ local tavernas. Staff are excellent and everyone is friendly. This hotel was very clean and well maintained. The rooms have basic but good furniture, we had a mini kitchen too. Air con very efficient. Activities for children and water enthusiasts alike were well organised.

Room Tip: As far as I could see, all rooms pointed towards the pool and sea. Best views are from higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sheena P,

Thank you for your review and it is lovely to hear that you were recommended by friends. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and we hope that you would consider returning next summer!

Thank you,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Hotel Surf with Ocean Elements. It surpassed our high expectations once again. The staff remembered us from our previous visit and all took the time to chat to us when not running classes.
This holiday is all about the opportunities for sailing, windsurfing, kayaking, SUP paddling, cycling, jogging and walking. There is never a dull moment so make sure you get a good breakfast down you. And on that note, the breakfast is plentiful and this time we could have freshly cooked pancakes or omelettes as well as the cereals, meats, cheese, yogurts, toast etc.

The rooms may be tired and basic but they are cleaned on a daily basis by staff that genuinely care.

We highly recommend this holiday for fun packed days in a fabulous location .The water sport tuition is superb and the overall package is supplied at a very reasonable price.

Thank you to everyone for the holiday and we'll be there again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunlovers2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sunlovers2006,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad to hear that you loved your holiday second time round too! We are refurbishing our bedrooms this winter which will include new bathrooms, bedroom décor and furnishings and we hope that you return to see them!

Thank you,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A brilliant spot in Vass, Hotel Surf may not be a five star hotel but it has all you need for a relaxing stay whilst providing every opportunity for you to get out on the water (or on a bike if you prefer). Ideal for us with 2 teenage sons and another, younger son who wanted to do everything his brothers were doing and more ... which he managed to achieve in the Elite Youth squad with the excellent Harry at the helm! We had great weather, the bay of Vass is just fabulous for sailing, even for a beginner in dinghies like me! Above all the team at Hotel Surf are exceptional - from housekeeping, to the bar, the instructors and beach crew were friendly, helpful without being OTT. Best holiday all-round for years and we all want to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Andrew O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your family holiday with Ocean Elements. We are glad that you had a fantastic time and we have passed on your feedback to the staff in resort.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasiliki
0.8 mi away
Grand Nefeli
Grand Nefeli
#4 of 12 in Vasiliki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
13.4 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
0.2 mi away
Grand Theoni Hotel
Grand Theoni Hotel
#2 of 12 in Vasiliki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#5 of 12 in Vasiliki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
10.2 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Enodia Hotel
Enodia Hotel
#3 of 12 in Vasiliki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Vasiliki 31082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Vasiliki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vasiliki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beach Surf Hotel offers a warm welcome for couples, families and active sports enthusiasts. Its private swimming pool and gardens which front onto the beach, offer a safe and exclusive area for family fun right on one of the best beaches in Greece for active water sports! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surf Hotel Lefkada/Vasiliki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing