We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked & crappy room”
Review of Grand Nefeli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Nefeli
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Vasiliki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Let me explain my rating:
-1 for overbooking: Reached the hotel two hours after check-in and lady said my room is being cleaned. I asked how much and she said unknown. I insisted and she could not tell me, she needs to talk to boss. The later we got another apartment for one night. This is the kind of things which casts a dark shadow on your holiday. Next day we got our room however....
-1: the new room was small of what we payed for. I payed for 25sqm and i got 15sqm so wasted money
-1: Although they advertise a kitchen, there is nothing for you to wash dishes. I asked and ladies are supposed to wash them however they did not do that.
-1: Since they have kitchen and they do not do disinfection there were several colonies of ants in the room.

The only good thing for me was that breakfast was ok. I guess for windsurfers there are other advantages too but for me was not since i did not do windsurf

A note to potential travelers. Be aware that not all rooms in the same category are made equal.
Some of them are underground and you only have a front window. Some of them like mine are small and last floor and you get to hear all the air conditioning devices hurling in your head all night.

Here is a handy number: 801-11-17200 which is state customer complaints

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank mihais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teo_lefkada, Διευθυντής at Grand Nefeli, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear Mihais

You booked a mountain view room and were given a complimentary upgrade to a sea facing room which as you will see in our hotel prices costs more. You were also offered the upgraded room a grand suite 70m2 seaview, bath with Jacuzzi for 80% discount for the duration of your stay, which you refused. The hotel was not overbooked – you were given an upgraded room and were NOT turned away. Overbooking means a guest arriving with a reservation but being turned away. You were given a superior room on your arrival to what you booked, but still you were not happy and chose to leave a bad review instead. Normally guests are very happy for a complimentary room upgrade especially during a very busy month in the entire island.

Nowhere on our website or in the hotel does it mention that kitchen utensil cleaning products are supplied. If you had asked for specific kitchen utensil cleaning products we would have supplied them to you with pleasure
With regards to your comment “I guess for windsurfers there are other advantages too but for me was not since i did not do windsurf”. Vassiliki is internationally known for windsurfing and is why most tourists stay here. All hotels / resorts in the Ponti area of Vassiliki (where Grand Nefeli is located) primarily cater for windsurfers, but obviously non-windsurfers are also very welcome.
As about our diffirent room types this is obviously,we have double mountain view,junior suites ,grand suites and apartments which they are located at the semibasement

Your negative comments are very unwarranted because if you had discussed your grievances with us at the time, we would have happily assisted. It must be noted that you did not reply to our message explaining things when you initially submitted your negative review. Since your visit, the hotel has been fully booked with very satisfied guests who have booked again for next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Grand Nefeli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very good hotel with very nice staff. Not exactly 4 stars(more like 2 1/2 stars) but that's typical for Lefkada and the beach is for small children and windsurfing, not for swimming, but it is not advertised as such... People working there are extremely helpful, especially Avi(she is such a great person)!
Vasiliki itself is perfect as a starting point for Lefkada sightseeing. Hotel also has great parking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratko_Vranes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week and the beach is the most beautiful beach I've ever seen. I recommend coming here an highly recomend this hotel to be your choice, situated practically on the sand of the beach, close to restaurants and bars and shops. The location is perfect and vasiliki is an easy drive to Porto katsiki the famous beach near by. The rooms were very good but the best part of this hotel I definitely the service with managers who are extremely helpful and polite, i was greeted properly every time I walked past which was impressive, staff are defiantly top class. There is also a large quantity of water sports available on this beach with a place to rent equipment just next to the hotel. Also the hotel has facilities to rent bikes, scooters, cars and also an in hotel restaurant with amazing food and the standard of English was very high which is good compared to most hotels in the area. Definitely a must stay hotel and is the only hotel in my months trip of Greece that I though deserved a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timdom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Grand Nefeli Hotel for 5 nights. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. We got a free upgrade to a large superior room with sea view. The hotel is situated right on the beach and it has very good watersport facilities for those who are fans of these activities, but it is also a good option for families with children. They offer sun beds for free for the hotel's guests. Breakfast at 5 euros per person is very good value for money. The hotel is situated within walking distance (10-15 min) of the port of Vasiliki. There are also a few nice tavernas within a few metres of the hotel for those who want to walk less (Almi taverna for instance-very good). The hotel provides free parking places. You definitely need a car to reach the island's best beaches, which can be quite easily reached by car from the hotel (Agiofili, Egremni, Porto Katsiki, Kathisma).

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralucaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just returned from Vassiliki and we are completely satisfied of our stay in Grand Nefeli Hotel!!t is our 3rd time that we picked up this specific hotel. We love this place. Its a luxurious hotel, in a quiet and peacful beach. Pool-beach bar is super, service very good, fresh juices, coctails and food. The rooms are very comfortable , all with nice verandas facing either the sea or the mountain. They provide everything u need- including a small refrigerator- in order your vacations to be comfortable. Theodor, the manager, has a unique talent to make you feel like home. Very cool guy. Definitely , we will return back the next summer!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend there.. We stayed in a wonderful room , well decorated clean and comfortable with a breathtaking view of the sea !! The standard of accomandation is higher that I had come to expect and the relationship between price and quality is perfect !! Its the ideal choice because it offers you relaxing ,sporting ,active and quiet holiday and it depends on the mood which one you will choose..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikos m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a great experience,
We travel there in the beggining of the season,and if the hotel wasent fully opened,we were treated like we were part of their familly,
Whatever we would ask it was just happening,
Thank you very much for the beautifull room and hospitallity and windsurfing theo,nikos,anna

Room Tip: rooms with seaview (e.g ) junior suites
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasiliki
0.2 mi away
Grand Theoni Hotel
Grand Theoni Hotel
#2 of 12 in Vasiliki
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalias Hotel
Kalias Hotel
#7 of 12 in Vasiliki
29 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Konaki
Hotel Konaki
#3 of 7 in Lygia
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#14 of 76 in Lefkada
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Enodia Hotel
Enodia Hotel
#3 of 12 in Vasiliki
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#6 of 12 in Vasiliki
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Nefeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Nefeli

Address: Agiou Petrou-Vasilikis, Vasiliki 31082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Vasiliki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vasiliki
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vasiliki
Price Range: $53 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Nefeli 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the island of Lefkada and hotel GRAND NEFELI 4 ****.The 4**** Hotel Grand Nefeli stands at Vassiliki Ponti 33klm from the city of lefkada. Completed at 2004 in accordance with E.O.T (Hellenic organization of tourism) that stands the upcoming needs for luxurious tourism. The hotel is placed in one of the most beautiful places of Lefkada the beach Ponti in Vasiliki. We Offer high standards accommodation with many services. The region of Southern Lefkada is famous for Ponti beach, one of the ten best windsurfing beaches worldwide and Porto Katsiki beach which is included in the three most beautiful beaches worldwide!In hotel GRAND NEFELI 4 we provide windsurfing lessons for all levels-beginners up to advanced- by experienced pro windsurfers.You will also enjoy all comforts of luxurious stay as our rooms will exceed your expectations.GRAND NEFELI 4 waits for you in Vasiliki and promises that it will make your stay unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Nefeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Nefeli Lefkada/Vasiliki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing