We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with unique atmosphere created by very friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with unique atmosphere created by very friendly staff.”
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We have been to this hotel many times and have always meant to add a review but never got round to it when we get back home, so we are writing this review sitting on our balcony overlooking the bay and Corfu town.

We are lucky to travel extensively and have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world but for us the Kontokali Bay Hotel has a unique atmosphere, the staff are very professional but also extremely friendly unlike many faceless corporate hotels, many times in our stay we have met the managers of the hotel who regularly wander round engaging in conversations with guests making sure that they are satisfied.

The food in all the restaurants is of a very high standard but for a special meal you must try the Asterias where exquisite food is prepared with passion by chef Spioros Soupionis and served in a romantic candlelit setting overlooking Corfu town, booking is advisable as the restaurant is used by many locals. There is an extensive choice of menu in the buffet restaurant for both breakfast and dinner, lunch at the beach is also buffet style but with additional choice from the barbeque of fresh fish meat and seafood.

Downside for some people may be the location as it is a little bit isolated but we are not looking for busy nightlife, Gouvia and Corfu are both just a short bus or taxi ride away.

Cannot comment on facilities for children but there are families that return each year.

Our only downside is that we fly home in a little over two weeks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex189458, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear Derona,

“Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. I will pass on your positive comments about “the friendly staff” to all employees. It is really nice to know that ‘friendliness and a smile’ stands out and it is appreciated by our guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and our services and we look forward to welcoming back soon.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    350
    93
    25
    12
See reviews for
478
689
48
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

bit disappointed upon arrival had upgraded to bayview room but requested seaview if possible when booking. Was given a partial seaview with big trees limiting the view and the room was very basic but clean. Having looked at many pictures taken by happy customers we felt like we had been given a very basic room which was 809. Having said that the food was extremely good especially at lunchtime and the staff were very friendly. The pool was lovely if a bit too deep. We had a meal in the a la carte, was extremely impressed with the service and it was very romantic. One thing i would recommend is insect repellent as we were bitten very badly. All in all a very relaxing holiday would also recommend the spa which was such a treat. Would go back again but next time would ask for a room within the main hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex189458, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
“Dear Mister NT,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had a very relaxing holiday with us and we are happy you’re praising our Staff, Restaurants, Spa and generally our services at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

Regarding the room allocation, we provide the requested room type on the reservation. In case not available, we always upgrade the guest to a better room type. Furthermore, we are trying very hard to meet our guest’s wishes in providing the best possible room, but we are trying to keep the guest happy, but that depends upon availability.

Thank you once more for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

we have been to this hotel for the past 11 years. needless to say what we think abuot it. the hotel is very spacious and clean, food is exellent,, the staff are very kind and helpfull. we should have been there now, but had to cancel due to illness. hoping to go back next year. david

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perfection89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex189458, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
“Dear David,
Thank you for posting on Tripadvisor this wonderful statement of “perfection” about Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa. Honored repeat-guests like you is the reason that our staff is willing to go the 'extra mile' in delivering services that make you to want to return back year after year. We wish you speedy recovery from the illness and we look forward to welcoming you back even sooner than next year.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The hotel is beautiful. A very calming place, with lovely gardens and beach areas and overall we had a relaxing holiday. We were quite happy in the day times, the lunches at the beach barbeque were very good and not expensive. We were on bed and breakfast tariff as we wanted to eat out sometimes. The first night we ate in the alla carte restaurant, this was very formal, very expensive and the food too rich. There was a small village 10 minutes walk from the hotel but only 2 tavernas worthwhile trying. We did, fortunately, venture further to the marina and ate in the excellent restaurants there the rest of the holiday. The staff in the hotel were all good except for reception. We needed to speak to them on several occasions and found we did not have their undivided attention and were not given the answers we needed to our questions. They were very unhelpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helensSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex189458, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
“Thank you very much for your comments and we are happy to read that you found our hotel beautiful and you had a relaxing holiday with us. I regret that the reception staff did not meet your expectations. However, I would be happy to discuss it further the nature of your inquiries. We will monitor the guest-inquiries closer and of course we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to provide better service to our guests.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

If all you want is a holiday lying by a pool or beach in a five star hotel and eating fabulous food, you'd be hard pressed to beat the Kontokali Bay Hotel. The hotel is of the standard that you'd hope for. It has professional staff and a generous amount of public lounging areas. The choice of food at breakfast is amazing, the largest I've ever seen (and I've seen a few). The standard of cooking throughout the day is top class. The pool (sea water) is good, interesting and well looked after. There are lots of sun beds. The beaches are sandy and have a large number of beds, umbrellas etc. There is a large beach restaurant / bar / theatre. At lunch time the food is unexpectedly cheap (ask for half portions). In the evening they run entertainment, even in May. We had a very relaxing, trouble-free time here.

The hotel is not suitable for people who have trouble walking (lots of steps, although there is a lift down to the beach). Not suitable for other than very young children, because there's little for them to do. The location of the hotel is ½ hour drive from Corfu Town, but there is the number 7 bus, two or three euros in and out, buy tickets before hand at the shop opposite. There are also bars, shops, banks, locally in Kontokali Bay itself.

We found ourselves back in Corfu Town for one day a couple of weeks later. I phoned the Kontokali Bay Hotel and asked if we could use their facilities again as a day visitor. No problems. "You'll be welcome Sir". How much would that cost? "No charge Sir, we'll be glad to see you". We were so pleased with them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex189458, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
“Dear John,
We are delighted you find Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa and the our staff very accommodating and friendly. We want our guest to have the 'home away from home experience' when they stay with us. We are glad we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you for recognizing our effort. We feel very proud when our efforts are recognized by our guests." Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The hotel is in a good location if you wanat to dicver corfu town. Busstop is at 500m and there is a bus each half hour. Our room with seaview was very clean with a beautiful terrace, not very luxurious but very satisfying. The buffet food was good, much choice may be a little greasy if you have a delicate stomach. My mother was ill and had to go to the hospital. The help we got from the hotel was unbelievably good. never experienced such understanding when staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christiane92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex189458, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
“Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. Understanding and helpfulness that you mentioned in your response are part of our culture and we have an excellent guest-relation team that look after our guest’s needs.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We land it there in the evening with a Dertour booking for a family room as we have a 23 months old baby girl but the front desk hotel staff did not want to take into consideration our voucher speaking to us in a very rude and impolite way. We had to querrel with them calling our agency and finally when they saw that we were right and we have paid a family room not a standard toom as they wanted to give us they "offered" us our paid room!!!!
After this incident we enjoyed the food and and the location, the other staff being very nice, polite and friendly( at the bar, restaurant).
The room was not so clean as expected for a 5 star hotel being obliged to notify the front desk couple of times.
So if you are well travelled and have high expectations of the really 5 star hotel this is a good hotel but not a luxurious one. Just a very nice with a good beach, food ( although not very diversified breakfast) and nice view from the pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adakale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex189458, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
“We sincerely regret for the incident; however, in this case the discrepancy in room assignment occurred because the hotel had the wrong information on the reservation from the Tour Operator and the guest had a different room type on the voucher. We resolve the matter expeditiously following it up with the local representative of the T.O.

We feel that the comment about impolite and rude manners on the part of the reception is subjective and unfair, as we have a strong and experienced team in place with a proven record and certainly they have very polite manners.

It’s obvious that the rest of the evaluation of the property in this review is based on ONE incident alone and certainly misleading-misdirected.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kontokali
10.3 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,365 reviews
6.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
2.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
502 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Property: Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Address: Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONTOKALI BAY RESORT & SPA is a Hotel-Bungalow complex on the central eastern shoreline of the emerald Isle of Corfu, situated only 6 kms. from the island’s capital, Corfu Town. Built on a densely wooded peninsula and on a natural incline, the main building of the Kontokali Bay overlooks both the sparkling blue waters of the Ionian Sea that separates Corfu from the taupe, coastal mountains of the Greek mainland and the Gouvia Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontokali Bay Hotel Kontokali
Kontokali Bay Hotel Corfu
Kontokali Bay Resort And Spa Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing