We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,905)
Filter reviews
1,905 results
Traveler rating
1,255
477
126
31
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,255
477
126
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte restaurant corfu town kontokali bay resort bay view room private beach half board indoor pool beach bar five star hotel breakfast and dinner free towels wonderful hotel bed and breakfast basis water sports great facilities at lunchtime sea water
Filter
Updating list...
634 - 639 of 1,905 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

I would firstly point out if you like any kind of pottering around shops, restaurants or bars close by this is not the hotel for you. The hotel itself I could not fault, spotlessly clean and all staff very pleasant, breakfast was lovely but i would have preferred the pancakes every day and not every other day ;). Lovely pool and beautiful beach that we used everyday didn't go to pool once, taxi into Corfu 17 euros and the same return Corfu was bustling itself but ten minutes away from hotel in taxi, there is a marina about ten/15 minute walk away but not much at it, and on way home the roads are pitch black with no lighting so could be dangerous. Spa was lovely and all staff very attentive, my only negative that jacuzzi,swimming pool and hydro pool was freezing water temperatures most definitely need turned up. The bar prices are a bit expensive and the 1 local shop that sells water cigarettes etc is extorianate due to the fact you are a captive audience. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. Had a nice time but wouldn't return due to location, but if it's a beach holiday with nothing else you want then this is the hotel for you.

Stayed: September 2015
2  Thank carrie_bea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2015

“Dear carrie_bea1
Kalimera,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent holiday here at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa (KBH).
I'm sorry to hear that our location failed to meet your expectations. We are indeed in a quite green peninsula beach-setting, which for many guests is part of the charm. Despite this, I’m pleased to learn that you enjoyed the resort’s layout, cleanliness and the services by our friendly personnel.
Nothing would make us happier, other than changing your opinion about the location and we do look forward to hearing from you and to welcome you back.”
We at KBH love to serve!!
A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

Stayed here for four nights right at the beginning of September, when the sun shone it was fantastic, but when it rained (3 days solid) not so good. Hotels who rely on sunshine should have a infrastructure in place for when it rains. This place doesn't. The pathways were awash and hideously dangerous ,i saw many people succumb and fall over. The only place to get lunch is a buffet with outside seating,albeit covered, miserable in lashing rain. I only ate there once and the food was cold, not even luke warm. Is it really that difficult to serve food at a decent temperature? Room small but comfortably furnished and equipped. I'm assuming it was security but all night long there were running footsteps pass my bedroom door along the concrete hallways, up until 4am, every night. I had hoped better from a hotel charging hundreds of euros a night, alas not

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meridian35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2015

“Dear Meridian35
Kalimera!!
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent holiday here at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa (KBH).
I am sorry that the …..Corfiot weather failed on us, but this time of the year guests may expect some rain. We are indeed in an area of Greece that gets considerable amount of rain; this is why the island is so green and full of lash vegetation.
With regard to the rain-proof-infrastructure, it’s extremely difficult to make any changes now this is taken into consideration when the hotel is built and as far as the tavern serving lunch, allow me to state that the grill fish/meat is made to order and only the Greek traditional dishes are pre-cooked (pies, etc.) but our head chef is present to make sure that our guests get the best quality food.
I fully understand your disenchantment and I hope you will pay us another visit… I might guarantee the weather this time. Wishing you wholeheartedly all the best and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
We at KBH love to serve!!
A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the resort for 7 nights at the end of August. Our room had a beautiful view of the harbour. The room and bathroom was all newly refurbished. Can not fault anything with the room. We had a complimentary bottle of red wine and water in our room when we arrived, and also a free 15min massage for the spa.

The main reception staff and porters where very friendly and helpful.

Beautiful beaches and pool on the resort.

Highly recommend the water sports. We hired a boat for 4 hours and had the best time!

Breakfast was amazing every morning. (So much to choose from)

The À la cart restaurant had a beautiful view, amazing food and top quality service from the waiters.

Drinks at the resort where quite expensive but it is a 5* hotel! (There is a shop down the road that sell cheap booze/snacks)

The restaurants down the road from the hotel (fish tavern and small tavern) are also very friendly and served amazing food! (Only a 5min walk)

A bus stop only down the road from the restaurant was very easy to use to go into Corfu town. (€5 for a day pass)

Over all we had an amazing 7 days in Corfu, being a young couple the only downside was the evening entertainment on the resort finished at 23:00 and wasn't brilliant! More live music entertainment would be great as we highly enjoyed the acoustic and Piano duet.

Thank you Kontokali bay, we will be back!

Dom & Jess

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Dom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2015

“Dear Dom L,
Kalimera!!
Thank you very much for giving us your feedback on your experience at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa (KBH).
It is always a great pleasure to know that our guests are well-taken care of and to receive good feedback on the service delivered. Making our guests feel at home is extremely important to us, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience and felt comfortable.
I do hope we are able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.”
We at KBH love to serve!!
A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2015

Pros: You can come here and not go anywhere else.

The hotels beach is okay, there are nicer in corfu but the hotel is great. Modern and the staff are helpful. They helped us out with a hire car, which you need if you want to explore corfu. I was surprised that the hire car was a resonable priced one, cheaper than those we had looked up online and the standard rates the front desk had originally given us.

You could come here and not go anywhere else, everything you need is here. The breakfast was fantastic. We dined in the al a carte restaurant it was okay but I would not call the food was good but not fine dining (but the service was impeccable).

Cons: The only real con was that the taxi driver they called did try and take us to the airport with no meter on. but when I asked why this wasnt it on, it was because i couldnt see it and miraculously it was then one and we received a receipt at the end. You could say this isn't their fault but at the same time, they do know the taxi drivers they call (it is a small island).

The pc room also had some issues with working computers and printer problems.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gin_e123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2015

“Dear Gin_e123
Kalimera!!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent holiday with us.
We're delighted that you have been pleased with the level of service and facilities.
Your feedback is of great value and I will ensure that your positive comments are shared with the staff across the hotel.
Just to inform you and the readers, that Corfu has 220 taxis X (two drivers per taxi) = 440 aprox. drivers, thus it is a bit difficult to control the quality of the taxi drivers. However, I would pass on this message to their association to take it into consideration.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of any assistance.
We at KBH love to serve!!
A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2015

We have just returned from 8 nights at the hotel: The grounds are very beautiful and nicely spread out. The private beach is very clean and perfect for swimming, also a lovely touch to always be able to get fresh towels. The pool area is wonderful and even though the hotel was reasonably busy never once did we feel as though any of the areas were overcrowded. The spa area is very nicely maintained also with good treatments on offer.
In the evening there is some entertainment on certain evenings but again this is very discreet and not at all impacted a quiet night’s sleep.
Being 28 weeks pregnant I had been allocated a lovely quiet room with nice sea views. We found the staff to be incredibly helpful and accommodating, especially Lia from the main reception desk was very sweet.
The rooms are nicely designed and the air-con being set at perfect temperature meant we were never too hot overnight which in my condition was a huge relief. The maids did an excellent job of refreshing the rooms daily. Also the complimentary water, wine and fresh fruit was a wonderful welcome upon arrival.
We had booked bed and breakfast only and found the breakfast buffet to be excellent with plenty of choice of both hot and cold items, delicious fresh juices and lots of variation throughout the week. Whilst we didn’t eat in any of the restaurants in the evening (simply because I am not a huge fan of buffets for dinner and we wanted to explore more traditional Greek tavernas), we did frequent the beach bar for lunch where there was a good choice of bbq items, fresh salads, gyros etc on offer. Therefore if you have booked bed and breakfast only you need not worry as there are a few tavernas in walking distance (Roula is a nice fish taverna) and frequent buses into town.
We also very much enjoyed the day trip to Paxos and Antipaxos which the hotel organised for us.
We would thoroughly recommend the property to anyone looking for a relaxing break in Corfu whilst still being able to benefit from the close proximity of the capital.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freya84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2015

“Dear freya84,
Kalimera!!
Thank you for your great comments posted on the site following your recent holiday with us. You have been kind enough to point out the many little touches that our guests seem to appreciate
We are pleased to see that you found our location convenient – this is a re-occurring theme amongst our reviews and it is a major benefit of our hotel.
I am thrilled that you found the team to be warm friendly and efficient and I have especially mentioned your kind words to Lia, but of course all of the team is delighted to hear such great feedback. We do want to make our guests feel very special and hope they return. We have a beautiful property which we call our gem and a very enthusiastic team who are highly dedicated in what they do. Attention to detail and customer service is paramount to us.
Wishing you wholeheartedly the best of luck with the baby and we look forward to welcoming back ….the entire family in the not so distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.”
We at KBH love to serve!!
A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews