We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We recently spent 11 nights at the hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing trip.

The setting is absolutely stunning, with 2 private beaches overlooking the bay towards Corfu Town. Whilst there are always a few selfish people who put out towels on sunbeds at the crack of dawn, there really is no need as there are always plenty available, with space available on the beaches by the pool, in the gardens and on decking over the sea.

The only real disappointment was the room. We were in the main block, the garden rooms may be different, and although the bedroom area was fine, the bathroom let the accomodation down. The shower was underpowered and the fittings were looking rather jaded. In addition the sink plug didn't do its job very well meaning that in order to have a shave, the hot tap had to be kept on to keep the water level up.

Breakfast was fine, I've had worse but I've also had better, though the fresh fruit, yoghurt and honey were marvellous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

“Dear Barry S,

Kalimera!!

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to hear that overall you had a pleasant holiday with us, and that you found our location ‘Great’ and other services + facilities to your liking. I do apologize that the bathroom in your room is a bit dated. We are in process of renovating on a rotation basis our rooms/bathrooms.

We are grateful for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa in the not too distant future.”

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Despite being an older building, Kontokali Bay hotel is very comfortable and welcoming. As many other reviews point out, the gardens are beautiful. There are two small private beaches and the hotel's private marina with boats for hire and watersports too. Restaurants abound and the food is good quality, although breakfast can be manic. Staff could not be faulted, being polite, efficient and very helpful.
For us, the one thing that stopped it being 5 star was the bathroom. The shower is over the bath but the tap controls are not at the end of the bath, they are almost in the middle of the wall at the side of the tub! Showering was not comfortable for me at 6 foot tall. We still thoroughly enjoyed our week, visiting Corfu town using the hotel's courtesy bus. A short walk away in Kontokali village are many tavernas where we ate cheaper. The best of these was Harry's which is full of life and decent food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidrLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

“Dear davidrLeicester,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback following your recent holiday with us. I am delighted that you found our location and facilities to your liking. We never tire of telling our guests about how wonderful our gardens and landscaping are and how nicely blend with the 2 beaches and the calm Ionian Sea.

We will take into consideration all your comments (strengths and weakness) as it helps us to improve our facilities and services in the future.

We are pleased to hear that you had a good time and that our staff was friendly and attentive. Our aim is to provide an exceptional level of service and I will ensure that your positive comments are shared with the team.

Thank you for being our guests, and we love to have you back soon!

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for 11 nights at the Kontakali Bay Resort in September 2013. This was our first visit to this hotel, and to this area of Corfu. The hotel is 5* in many ways and the beaches, pool area and gardens were lovely. It is a in a perfect setting between the sea and the marina, and the views are great. We had a marina view room and it was lovely.

Breakfasts were good with some of the best, freshest croissants I have ever tasted, absolutely delicious. The Greek yoghurt and honey were sublime. Even though the dining room was busy at breakfast it was big enough so as not to feel crushed.

The hotel is very large but even so, there was a feeling of space and privacy at the beach areas and in the gardens. There was a lovely, relaxed feeling during the day.

However, away from the central area and facilities of the hotel, our bedroom and especially the bathroom were not of the same quality, sadly. Don't get me wrong, they were good and clean, but were dated and needed some work on them. The bathroom in particular wasn't great with an under-powered shower too.

Also, the beach bar prices were expensive so we never stayed there on an evening and always went to the cafe bar on the next beach for lunch.

As an aside, this is not about the hotel but this was our first visit to Kontokali and I don't think I would return. It is not a "resort" as such, just a string of restaurants along a short road on the way to Gouvia. Those restaurants are VERY good and we always ate very well indeed every evening on our walk from the hotel into Kontokali but there are no tourist facilities as such there.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms have an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenda_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

“Dear Glenda_Young

Kalimera!!!

Congratulations on discovering us at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa!

Thank you so much for your 4*review and we are grateful to read your comments with regards to your holiday with us and that you found our services + facilities lovely and relaxing.

We are delighted that we were able to enhance your holidays with pleasant memories and we are also obliged that you share your Corfu-experiences in public, so potential visitors can read them.

We hope that you will change your mind and choose us again on your next holiday to Corfu and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.”

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you want to relax and get away from everything, this location is perfect! The food is excellent and the staff very helpful and one feels like "Welcome home"! Our Junior Suite with the private pool was a real highlight! For the first time we used the spa (body-peeling), which was fantastic!

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are very important!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birgitt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

“Dear Birgitt G,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for your loyalty to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa and for continuing to return to your summer “Corfiot-home” and enjoy our services + facilities.

We aim to deliver an attentive, but non-intrusive level of service and we look forward to many more years of future visits!

Warm regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Visiting Kontokali Bay one of the first things you should do is upgrade to a sea view room. Me and my girlfriend did this and it was simply a fantastic decision. The view was simply stunning. The hotel is very clean and welcoming too. We had a brilliant stay here and would very much recommend here especially if you are looking to do a holiday that consists of chilling out on a private hotel beach for a week to get away from everything.

Room Tip: Purchase a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobWhit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

“Dear RobWhit5,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for choosing to have your holiday with us and we are so pleased to hear that your stay was a “brilliant” one.

We love to have you back for some more ….pampering and we do appreciate your taking the time to post this review.”

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful property at the beginning of this year season and the al a carte restaurant was due to be open the week after, we were a bit disappoint by that. Our least favourite restaurant was breakfast. The food was acceptable the staff were all very pleasant and we were well looked after and they were not too intrusive. We always start and end the evening with the best Mojitos this side of Europe made in the lobby bar by Stakis. Yumm! Yumm! We would like to send greetings for the crew at the beach bar and restaurant who kept us well watered and filled. We look forward to going back next year and having a wonderful time again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

“Dear Dean B,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review about your experience of your early season- holiday with us.

Your feedback is of great value to us and I will ensure that it is shared with the team. I am sorry that our A la Carte restaurant was not open. Unfortunately, our experience with the weather conditions in Corfu this time of the year does not permit us to have it open.

Your lovely comments about Saki’s Mojitos are greatly appreciated and have been shared with the team members who are delighted that they created a ‘memorable’ experience for you.

We love to have you back for another holiday in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have recently returned from yet another excellent holiday at Kontokali Bay Hotel. We were accompanied by friends and family with an age range of 6 months to 63 years. Everyone had a truly fantastic time. Every age group was catered for.The mini club was a big hit with the children. The facilities were very good and the staff were attentive and helpful. The beach was delightful;very clean with ample comfortable sun loungers. Lunch at the Hotel Marina bar/restaurant was excellent. Hot food was freshly cooked on the barbecue and the buffet had a wide variety of dishes. The views were superb.

The hotel itself was spotlessly clean. Bedrooms were serviced each day. Every member of staff was helpful,polite and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.The Maitre D'Hotel, Kostas, was extremely efficient. he was always on hand, greeting guests and ensuring that the restaurant ran smoothly. Service in the bars was very good. The drinks were priced accordingly for a 5 star hotel.

The spa was fantastic. Each day began with a session in the gym/swimming pool, followed by hydrotherapy pool and hamman. WOW!! This really was a wondrous experience and highly recommended. The more energetic members of the group also took advantage of the tennis courts. Suffice it to say that 30 mins. was all they could muster!.

The hotel is extremely well located. It is a short stroll to nearby Kontokali where a number of excellent bars and restaurants can be found. We particularly recommend Roulas Fish Restaurant ( turn right as you exit the hotel gates), Hotel Telesilla and Harrys bar. Gouvia is within easy reach. This is a livelier resort with plentiful bars/restaurants. Recommended restaurants here are Sze Chuan and Muses. The Molfetta Beach Bar has a good evening entertainment programme. The hotel provides a courtesy bus service to Corfu Town, which is approx 15 mins. journey. Corfu Town has an interseting history with many fascination places to explore. The shops are an added bonus!

We have visited numerous hotels in many countries but the Kontokali Bay Hotel remains a firm favourite. We always return feeling refreshed and ready to face the challenges that everyday life presents. The manager and the management team are always visible and on hand to efficiently deal with any queries or problems. They listen and act accordingly. The concerns,opinions and needs of guests are a priority. We would recommend the Kontokali Bay Hotel to anyone without reservation.

Helen and John Tonge

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

“Dear Helen and John,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for taking the time to leave ….another outstanding review on TripAdvisor and for choosing to have your holiday with us here at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa this time with the …entire family.

We appreciate very much for leaving detailed positive feedback and I am pleased the entire team and associates were able to meet your needs. It is excellent to hear that all in the family enjoyed the facilities and services our property offers and that you had a great time.

Your feedback has been relayed to all departments concerned especially to those who have been mentioned. It is really good to see that so many of colleagues delivered excellent customer service.

We are delighted that we were able to enhance your holidays with pleasant memories and we are also grateful that your share your Corfu-experiences in public, so potential visitors can read them.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to your next holiday to Corfu to your Greek-Corfiot home.”

Thank you again for leaving such a positive review.”

Warmest wishes,

A. Margonis - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kontokali
10.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
533 reviews
13.7 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Address: Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Price Range: $143 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONTOKALI BAY RESORT & SPA is a Hotel-Bungalow complex on the central eastern shoreline of the emerald Isle of Corfu, situated only 6 kms. from the island’s capital, Corfu Town. Built on a densely wooded peninsula and on a natural incline, the main building of the Kontokali Bay overlooks both the sparkling blue waters of the Ionian Sea that separates Corfu from the taupe, coastal mountains of the Greek mainland and the Gouvia Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontokali Bay Hotel Kontokali
Kontokali Bay Hotel Corfu
Kontokali Bay Resort And Spa Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing