We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just come back from a week staying at this hotel. As other reviews this is not a 5* hotel but is a good 4*.
We had a bungalow room, which had a lovely sized balcony. My overall impression of the room (and the hotel) was it was very clean but a dated.
The buffet dinners and breakfast were good for buffet food. We ate twice in their a la carte restaurant in the evening and the food was special. I would have liked to see a different menu (or a nightly special). This stopped us eating there more often.
Their a la carte lunch restaurant was lovely, nice situ and food was good but we did not enjoy the buffet lunch offering.
Other pluses of the hotel are its close location to the airport (only 20 mins away) and the hotel puts in daily buses to Corfu Town.
Not feedback for the hotel per se but we did the day trip they recommended called the 'Grand Island Tour' and it was appalling - cramped in like sardines in a coach, the cost of entry to venues was not included and we weren't back until 8.30pm (told it would be 5pm). Do not go on this tour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
“Dear Jennie F,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for your nice review. I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

We are constantly seeking to improve the quality and the overall guest experience of the hotel. Thus, we appreciate all well intentioned comments, suggestion and criticism, as it helps us to improve the services in our property. Therefore, I made careful notes of your comments about the rooms, and F&B outlets.

I will look into the “Grand Island Tour” excursion and certainly I regret the inconvenience caused, but as you understand it runs completely independent from the hotel and it is also recommended by the local T.O. representatives.

We do hope to see you back in the near future and I would ask that you contact me directly when you decide to spend another holiday in Corfu, so that I can personally take care of your reservation.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    322
    84
    22
    9
See reviews for
418
617
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Spent a week here in June, the location was fantastic with its own beaches, decked areas and boats available for hire. Sun loungers and umbrellas were easy to find each day and you could change your towels as many times as you liked. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, but ate at the hotel for lunch on a few occasions. The food was fantastic quality, if a little expensive. Good choice on the menu and beer and drink prices were not too bad. We had a bungalow overlooking Gouvia bay, which had a great view and was spotlessly clean but the room was probably more of a 3 or 4 star in terms of look and facilities. I think you would need to upgrade to a superior/sea view to get one that looked more worthy of a 5 star. A 10 minute walk into Kontokali village, which offers a good array of restaurants and a few bars, the pick of the bunch being the Navigators bar, great staff and good prices for food and drinks. Gouvia harbour and town is more of a walk, about half an hour and we found the main strip of bars didn't offer much and the food was not a patch on the places in Kontokali village. Make sure you take a trip on one of Spiros boats (at Gouvia), great value and a real laugh, we went up to Kassiopi for the day and stopped off for swimming at some caves and coves on the way back - fantastic. All in all, Hotel stay was very enjoyable but stay away from the shops - some shocking service at the shop in the complex - its allegedly independent but sells some really bad quality merchandise, bought a hat and wore for a day before it fell apart and they point blank refused to even entertain a refund or exchange. Hotel management were no help either. For a hotel of this quality, they really do need to think about service and quality in these places!

Room Tip: Main hotel rooms and superior quality rooms will give you more of a 5 star feel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allya3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
“Kalimera!!!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It is always nice to receive positive comments about our services and facilities, but more important for the friendliness of our personnel.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant holiday with us and I regret that the assigned room was did not meet with your expectations. However, I would like to take the opportunity to mention that the hotel has a refurbishment program (for the bungalows) in place and we anticipate this work completed within the next couple of years.

As far as the service provided by the shopkeeper, I apologize for the incident (they did not bring it to my attention) and it is indeed run independently, but this is no excuse if they do not provide appropriate service to our guests. As a result of your mentioning, I have instructed all people at the reception to bring it to my personal attention similar incidents.

It makes us particularly happy when our guests explore Corfu and see how pretty this green-island is and how many attractions it offers.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to see you back at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa. I will be happy to personally take care of your bookings, so please do contact me when you are planning your next trip to Corfu.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is really not a 5* hotel, by international standards. We thoroughly enjoyed our bed and breakfast holiday but felt many aspects of the hotel, which is in a beautiful setting, could be improved.

- The dining room lacked atmosphere with tables very close together and there was no option to have our breakfast (or evening meal) sitting in the sun. One of the pleasures when you come from a cold country! We had the buffet on our arrival but at no point did anyone welcome us or ask us for our room number and we were left to find our own table. We felt the staff were too happy to whisk the plates away - not in the least a leisurely dining experience. Cannot complain about the quality of the food.

- The dining room and one other restaurant were open in the evening. However, the a la carte menu was exactly the same! This also applied to the small Albatros restaurant at lunch time! At the beach bar the choice was toastie, pizza or a special sandwich which was a long roll with cheese and ham!! Obviously a distinct lack of imagination and pride in presenting meals.

- We were disappointed there was no coffee/tea making facility in the room.

- The courtesy bus to Corfu leaves once a day at 9.30p.m. Even though there is a demand for this facility the bus was unavailable at any other time.

- On the whole the staff were excellent but we did find a few waiters in the beach buffet restaurant rather unhelpful. Perhaps they were worried about the financial situation in Greece at this time and it took priority over looking after their guests. 5 were gathered together and when we enquired about service we were informed it was self-service and that was that! We then enquired once again and was shown where the bar area was for a snack - same area but we had to sit at tables with no tablecloths! Much more training in this department is needed.

- We were happy to eat out each night in local restaurants where we appreciated excellent service, delicious food at reasonable prices and a warm welcome.

- Beach towels are only available from 10.30a.m. This is not early enough!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms view excellent and the balconies get sunshine in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finsathazellodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
“Dear finsathazellodge,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us maintain the standards for which Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa is known are warmly welcomed.

We will take into consideration all your comments (strengths and weakness) as it helps us to improve our facilities and services in the future.

Thank you once again for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Yet another wonderful holiday at Kontokali Bay this hotel never disappoints. You will never get a
warmer more friendly welcome than here - the staff - from Management to House Maids are
simply the best. The hotel with its stunning views offers excellent service and great food too with
plenty of choice. This has been our twelveth year at Kontokali and we love being part of the
" family " . A big thank you to Kostas Doukas for helping to make my birthday so very special .
Looking forward to seeing you all again next year.

Elizabeth and Harry

Room Tip: Rooms on the seafront have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
“Dear Elizabeth A,

Thank you for the positive comments posted on Tripadvisor about our property. It is very nice to get complements from a repeat guest like you and certainly it make all of us proud and worth all the effort we put trying to please our guests. Rest assured that we will continue to have ‘You” as the center of our culture.

I will share your comments with Kostas and the rest of the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to your Greek-Corfiot home.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elkster
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a great week at the Kontokali Bay. My wife and I were very happy with the facilities and the service was excellent. My highlights and lowlights are below:

Highlights
> The pool area is fantastic, quiet and relaxing with great views.
> The staff are friendly and helpful.
> The food in the restaurant is very good and varied throughout the week. I would definitely recommend at least one night in the area last carte restaurant.

Lowlights
> The average age if the residents appeared to be 50+ this isn't a problem but you should be aware if you are looking for people the same age as you. Too be fair this seemed to be a Corfu theme rather than a Kontokali Bay one.
> For a decent night out its a 15 euro taxi into Corfu town.

Overall this is a brilliant destination and ideal if you are looking to relax. It's 8 km away from the nearest big town so definitely feels exclusive.

You won't regret a visit.

Room Tip: I would advise rooms on the 4th floor or above to get a nice view. Book on the seaside if you want m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
“Kalimera!!!

Thank you very much for your nice review. It is with great pleasure I read it knowing that we have lived up to your expectations.

Once again, allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next Holiday to Corfu.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We are a couple in their 30's looking for a chilled week away and that is what we got. We always book 5 star especially in Greece as the hotels tend to be more basic than other European 5 star. We had a bungalow room 848 which hadn't been refurbished and was tired. Overall the room was clean but VERY basic. Bed was lovely and comfy and we slept well. Usually I am fussy with beds but this was great. Room cleaned every day with fresh towels etc. The bathroom was clean but not to my standard of spotless. Bath very scaled up, loo discoloured and floor corners needed a good scrub but the age of the bathroom probably contributed to this. We had to ask for a kettle in the room which I felt should have been in their as standard. Also the tea and coffee wasn't replenished so we ended up buying our own milk and coffee as we couldn't be bothered with having to keep asking. We ate once in the Buffett which was nice but food was cold and for €18 for 2 chicken breasts and veg thought it was steep. Breakfast ok. I have had better but also had worse. Lovely fresh bread and cereal ok. We spent everyday on the beach as we like to relax on our holidays and everything was perfect for us except the hotel are missing a trick not offering pool side service. The donut man from the beach next door came round and many people were buying snacks from him including us! We would have probably spent more money if someone came over taking drink orders but we bought our own water from the shop at the top of the road. Overall we had a lovely holiday and for what we paid through monarch for 2 of us it wasn't bad (£1100 for 2 adults bed and breakfast inc flights). I would probably return on bed and breakfast again as the local restaurants are fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windylindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
“Dear Windylindsay,

Thank you for choosing Kontokali Bay Resort & Spa for your holiday and for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor site about your recent holiday with us.

We are always seeking to improve the quality and the overall guest experience of the hotel. Thus, we appreciate all well intentioned comments, suggestion and criticism, as it helps us to improve the services in our property.

We do hope to see you back in the near future and I would ask that you contact me directly at manager@kontokalibay.gr when you decide to spend another holiday in Corfu, so that I can personally take care of your reservation.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Originally came to Corfu to a different hotel. So dissatisfied, we found Kontokali Bay (KB) thru trip advisor and they had availability for our entire week stay. KB was in one word FABOULOUS! Our room was a sea side view overlooking the pool. Great view, service and people. Note, the beach bar staff is much more friendly and social than the lobby bar (thanks Mario's, Polys, Spiros) so go there at night. The beach/dock area was perfect with tranquil relaxing views of the Ionian Sea and islands. I would give 4 stars for only one reason, the buffet was excellent but to have more food choices would make this a real 5 star. However, I gave it a 5 because the cleanliness, room accommodations and most of all the fine, fine staff. They made the stay a 5++ stay. To all my friends in the USA, do not hesitate to go to Corfu and KB is a must stay you will not be at all disappointed. Thanks to our friends Vasilis and Kostas, our food and dining experience made us feel valued and special just as a vacation should. We will be back, no more Florida for this girl. Thanks to all the staff at KB, from your friends in Detroit, Michigan USA!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
“Dear Glynis M,

Congratulations on discovering us at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa!

We very much appreciate your taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and sharing your experiences with us. We love being able to pamper our guests and we are happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team – they are the backbone of the hotel and without their excellent efforts we would simply cease to exist. They take so much pride in their work and I will take pleasure in sharing your comments with them.

We certainly are looking forward to welcoming you back to Corfu and to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa next time you are visiting Greece.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kontokali
10.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
13.6 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Philoxenia
Philoxenia
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
6.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Property: Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Address: Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONTOKALI BAY RESORT & SPA is a Hotel-Bungalow complex on the central eastern shoreline of the emerald Isle of Corfu, situated only 6 kms. from the island’s capital, Corfu Town. Built on a densely wooded peninsula and on a natural incline, the main building of the Kontokali Bay overlooks both the sparkling blue waters of the Ionian Sea that separates Corfu from the taupe, coastal mountains of the Greek mainland and the Gouvia Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontokali Bay Hotel Kontokali
Kontokali Bay Hotel Corfu
Kontokali Bay Resort And Spa Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing