We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First looks dodgy, ends up wonderful!”

Telesilla poolside Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Kontokali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the evenings, the poolside area turns into an outdoor restaurant and a cocktail bar, which stay open from 18:00 until late. Both of them are extremely popular attracting tourists as well as locals from different parts of the island. The restaurant offers a variety of Corfiot and other Greek favourites together with international dishes and is well known for the exceptional quality of its homemade food & wine as well as its attractive prices. Telesilla nights are memorable not only for the welcoming atmosphere and the fine food, but also for their great fun and entertainment. We host live performances, free for all our guests and visitors, and music is at the heart of these events. We have live shows put on at least 3 times each week, with acts ranging from joyous and exuberant traditional Greek songs and dances (Saturday nights) to Elvis style rock ‘n’ roll (on Thursdays), and from easy listening & jazzy melodies to highly energetic dance grooves (Tuesday’s show). All the action takes place in our cosy pool area from 21:00 to 23:00, approximately. Yet, after this, the party is not over. The music keeps playing and the cocktail bar is there, ready to take you to the moon! Our barman has even attended seminars on cocktail recipes and preparation methods to ensure that he can offer our guests some of the best flavours and tastes Each and every day, Spiros and Makis Filippas will go to the local market to select fresh, pure and healthy meat, fruit, vegetables and all the other ingredients needed so that our chefs can come up with an abundance of culinary delights. We never opt for ready made products of any kind or settle for goods of low quality. We see the restaurant as an extension of our home and our guests as valued members of our extended family, the Telesilla family. Our chefs and kitchen staff prepare and cook all dishes in exactly the same way as they do at home for their close relatives. For the same reason, our portions enjoy a reputation of being both generous and good value. We also produce our own wine and, every year, any guest who wishes to participate is welcome to do so! At the poolside area, we organise a jolly “wine making fiesta”, a convivial event with much celebration! We take great pride and satisfaction in the happiness of our guests. Their smiling faces and feelings of contentment are Telessila’s principal aims and the basis on which we measure our success.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“First looks dodgy, ends up wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I booked this restaurant after reading TA reviews while researching stops on our recent Med cruise.
Email contact was always very prompt, polite and helpful.
We took a cab from the ship to stop outside what can only be described as a 2-3 star motel.
The four of us (all in mid-50s and well-travelled) looked at each other, eyebrows raised, while my heart sank, wondering what I had gotton us into.
Through the somewhat dingy lobby, we walked into the outdoor restaurant area, where a swimming pool was surrounded by tables and a bar. We were greeted effusively by the owner, the papa, for this is a family owned place.
We were still sceptical. From the look and feel of the place it was aimed at, what we would call in Australia, the T-shirt and thongs (flip-flops) set.
And from this dodgy start, things went uphill rapidly.
The papa chatted with us and introduced his son. The daughter was the one who emailed me so efficently. The waiter, who had been with the family for 20 years or so, took us into the kitchen (yes, spotless) to introduce us to the chubby happy woman who was the cook (taught all her recipes by the mother, who now acts as babysitter for the grandkids so has given up cooking). He opened pots and explained the bubbling stews - the aroma was wonderful.
Back at the table the vino arrived and so did the first courses of Greek nibbles such as vine leaves and home made taramasalata with wonderful pita. More vino, more laughter, the lamb, the beef, HUGE platters of food which was cooked to perfection, falling off the bone and so tasty.
The son and the waiter put on some music and did a little Greek dancing. The other guests were mainly English who stay at the accompanying hotel almost every summer for year after year, many requesting the same room.
That evening turned out to be a highlight of our 2 week cruise. The food was hearty and down-home good, but it was the family and their infectious love of life which made this place so great. We sat eating and drinking for hours. Papa sent us some limoncello. Eventually, my husband looked at his watch and said, "Hey, don't we have to be back at the ship?!"
Bottom line: we had such a great night we almost missed our sail time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Telesilla poolside Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Mel1Sydney,
My family and I would like to thank you for visiting our restaurant. It was an honour, choosing us, as a stop from your luxurious Mediterranean cruise. Also would like to thank you for such a detailed review. What can i say, you said it all, despite the 2 Star rating which counts only for the size of a small family hotel, we have many many satisfied guests.The reason is that we only do what every business in the tourism industry should do: Offer true hospitality and quality product to every guest. This is the only way, and this way the Telesilla has a long life of over 30 years.
We are very proud of who we are and do not want to change. We will always do our best and although we are only small, we feel very big from the huge love and support from every happy guest who returns to us year after year.
Best greetings from Papa Spiros, Makis (my brother), myself and the rest of the Telesilla Team.
Elizabeth Filippa
Telesilla Hotel & Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    34
    11
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great food perfect friendly service with smile
would recommend the Paleokastritsa Steak so nice i had it twice
thankyou for a wonderful stay

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommyb190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Telesilla poolside Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear tommyb190,
We all at the Telesilla thank you for your visit as well as for your time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your meals and appreciated our efficient service. Will be happy to see you again in the near future to try more of our Specialities and house wine.
Makis and the Telesilla team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“best in gouvia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Warm welcome, great atmosphere, quick service, food lovely. Had the tellesilla special lamb, this was lovely, melt in the mouth, served with potatoes, rice and salad. Reasonable prices for good greek cuisine. The house wine was nice too. Will go back here. Definitely one of the nicest in gouvia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mizziScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Telesilla poolside Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear mizziScotland,
Thank you so much for your review and your visit at the Telesilla restaurant.
We are all very happy you enjoyed our famous roast lamb and house wine!
Certainly hope to see you again in the near future to try more of our specialities,
and offer you our best service.
Kindest regards,
Makis & the Telesilla team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“great food and first class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ate here several times during our holiday. The Greek nights are great fun . The food is very good-especially the Greek dishes- the oven baked lamb was my favourite. The waiters are friendly and efficient- service was excellent. Prices are reasonable considering the high standard of the food. The tables are arranged around the pool which has a fountain in the centre - making it a very pleasant dining experience. Look forward to going back next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaraNewtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Telesilla poolside Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear TaraNewtownards,
Wow! Thank you so much for your excellent review!
We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your meals at the Telesilla.
The Special lamb was a success again this summer as well as the Greek dancing show
and the live Elvis Show.
Will be here again from May 2014 for more nights to remember ...
Best wishes,
Makis & the Telesilla team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Elvis night a blast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Didn't eat here, but saw the sign for an Elvis night on a Thursday and popped in for a drink. We had a great night! The staff were lovely and the Greek Elvis was really, really fun. It was so lively and enjoyable that we went back the following Thursday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterTaylor65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Telesilla poolside Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear LeicesterTaylor65,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
I am very happy you have enjoyed our Thursday evenings, with the Elvis live show!
There will be more next summer starting from May 2014!
Hope to see you again then,
Best wishes,
Makis & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telesilla poolside Restaurant also viewed

 
Kontokali, Corfu
 

Been to Telesilla poolside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing