We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a very good all inclusive resort. Some minus points.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mareblue Beach Resort
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Have never been to an All Inclusive resort and would only manage it it for a week otherwise beomes a bit repetative. There are parts of this complex that are definitely 4 star - pool areas, communal areas and grounds. I think the food was generally very high standard with a wide range of choices - most repeated, but still good quality.The bedroom was spacious but really very basic. We had a ground floor room over looking the pool - and unless you want to sleep in your room all day there is absolutley no noise from about 10/11pm until 10am. We had a separate twin room and sitting room with 3 sofa beds. There was a sink and a fridge and a kettle. The bathroom was adequate. The mattresses are so hard that I never slept well for the entire week. We had 2 chairs on the terrace which is ridiculous as the room sleeps 5, although there were only 3 of us. Air con worked fine. Limited satellite TV (BBC world news only English speaking channel). Only 2 bottles of water for the week in the fridge. We refilled them from the drinks dispenser - although there is a well stocked shop onsite.
The help yourself soft drinks are horrible. Cheap and nasty tasting. The fruit juices are not fresh fruit juice - more like squash.The aloholic drinks are rubbish although I liked the red and white wine served in proper glasses in the lobby bar and at lunch and dinner. Pool bar staff were surly and not very nice. Entertainment team tried their absolute best and although not my kind of thing the kids loved it.
The small beach has 2 lovely bars which are nice for evening drinks - and although you pay for them it is worth a change of scene.
The big beach is also nice to spend the day. 8 Euros for 2 beds and a brolly. Water warm and clear.
A big minus is that the all inclusive stops at 11pm. We were often watching the football world cup which started at 11 and had to pay for soft/alcoholic drinks. Even midnight would be a bit better.
Overall my kids loved it. I liked it. Ready to come home after a week though.
It is a very muticultural resort - which I like - but I do have to say the etiquette of queing for food at meal times is lost on a lot of our European friends. Best just to let it wash over you.
There was also a scramble for sunbed bagging....that I hate. Folk must have set alarms and put towels down at 5 am. Often I would be up at 6 or 7 standing on our terrace and could see half the beds 'booked' already. It is mad.

Room Tip: I think a room nearer to the pool with a seaview is a definite must. Noise is only during day time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joolzief40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,338 - 1,344 of 2,232 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Can't complain !
food great choice, one meal per stay off a menu in beautiful setting overlooking sea.
Room comfortable great view towards the Albanian mountains
Facilities excellent loved the adults only pool very relaxing
Very clean
Staff helpful and always smiling
Nice beach close by
A very relaxing resort

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the sea and Albania
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ed_wood1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

First time back in Corfu for 25 years! There is nothing really to fault about this hotel. The main hotel is nicely presented and very clean. One review said it was like Butlins in the sun. I can see where this comes from as all the rooms are in blocks of 18 rooms giving it that feel. I thought this was good as each block had a different view. Our room was near to the adult only pool and that suited us. It was very quiet and relaxing and the no children rule was never broken. The best bit of the experience was the food. For an all inclusive hotel all the food was of good quality, good variety and always hot (checked often). Negatives - It's a long way from any town, a car is needed and because it was early in the season no resort info was available so we missed out on an al a carte night. Generally could not fault it for the price.

Room Tip: If you want a direct sea view you need to be at the bottom of the hill near the main pool. This cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a one week stay in the Mareblue in June. We found that this was a very good all inclusive resort. Accommodation was good. Quality of the food was very good and the staff were very attentive. The entertainment at night was also varied and very good. The only thing is the resort itself is quite remote with only two or three tavernas surrounding it. Saying that there is no need to go outside the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrewpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We got more what we paid for. The room was very spacious, the pools were brilliant, the food was varied, the animator team was perfect and the daily programs and entertainment also. The staff were very friendly and we always felt that the staff and services are definitally for us. These can be told about the whole island. So I absulately recommend this hotel for everyone.

Room Tip: ask room with seeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dominik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Although isolated, which suits me, this hotel may not suit younger people who want nightlife. The hotel was reasonable for the money, but more like a 3 star. The facilities in themselves are 4 star, but the standard of room cleaning and food was just not quite up to scratch-I don't expect to see cakes made from leftover breakfast cereal offered as a legitimate 4 star dessert option, though the 'main' cakes were ok and the ice cream was of a good standard and also served at the pool bar. Some of the main meal options were not too good-reconstituted turkey roll is vile and some meats were just a tad bit fatty! However, chicken or fish were always a pleasant choice, and there were plenty of salad options and good bread. Do try the a la carte; this was a beautiful, tasty meal.

The rooms are appointed in a similar way to other Greek 4 star hotels- you get tea&coffee facilities, and some mineral water in the fridge on arrival, but for the price you are paying, don't expect a minibar as well- if you expect that, then pay more and stay at the Mitsis Roda! Bed sheets were not changed during our stay, and it was hard to tell if the floors/surfaces in the room had had a wipe or not. Reception and bar staff were very helpful, some of the waiting staff could be a bit aloof, with one waitress talking to some English people (the waitress was English), but pretending not to speak English to others, which is a bit rude.

The option of a relax pool in addition to the main pool was great and suitably peaceful-definitely use this if you want a quiet time in pretty surroundings.

All in all, a good hotel but only for the right price- with better room cleaning and slightly more emphasis on pleasing rather than simply economical food options, it could be even better.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel in advance and ask for an upstairs room- most of the ground floor rooms are sub-te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank bluepointcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Good
Lovely Clean hotel and beautiful well kept gardens.
Lovely clean adults only pool - lovely and relaxing.

The bad
Left home before lunch, ok booking in and onto plane - plane ran out of food before it got to us in the middle as limited supplies. Had to wait an hour and a half in the mini bus for later flight before leaving for resort. The 35mins transfer became 1 hour 35 minutes and by the time we got to the hotel the all inclusive bar had finished and no food available - if you are on a lunchtime or later flight - eat before you leave or you will be hungry.
We were told by teletext we had been upgraded to the bronze package including a full mini bar service - on arrival there was only one package - which only included one bottle of water each on the first day and after that nothing.
Room extremely basic for a four star hotel - extremely thin towels and linen only changed once a week. Very thin light curtains so room was very light very early - not ideal when you are on holiday.
Food was very basic and chaotic - hygiene was a problem as not enough staff around to keep an eye on things - no better than a works canteen - even though we were all inclusive we ate out a lot at a local taverna which was a much nicer experience.
Very late room service - often not done by 4pm
Awful shower over bath with awkward placed bath taps pushing you into horrible bath curtains - yet no bath plug so can't use bath as a bath only as a shower - the worst of both worlds.
Charge extra for safe.
You have to hire pool towels - but the hire hut only opens at 11am - a pain when you arrive the night before but even worse it closes at 2pm so you have to hand your towels back then even if you are not leaving till the following morning - so no access to the pool on your final full day after 2pm - only one towel for the full week.
Mosquitoes were a real pain - take full precautions with you - bitten a lot on our final day - not a good look for going home.

Room Tip: Try and get one facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WAEAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Spyridonas
21.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,474 reviews
17.3 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
11.5 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
31.0 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,453 reviews
15.7 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mareblue Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareblue Beach Resort

Address: Agios Spyridonas 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Spyridonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Spyridonas
Price Range: $78 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mareblue Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mareblue Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Beach Hotel Agios Spyridonas
Hotel Escape Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing