We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday at MareBlue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mareblue Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mareblue Beach Resort to your Saves list
Mareblue Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Spyridonas 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great holiday at MareBlue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just returned from Mareblue Resort in Corfu (14th to 28th June 2013). OK, a couple of negatives. We booked with Thomas Cook, who offered bath robes,slippers. free wifi, sat TV. We had none of these. We were told they would be removing them from their brouchure. However Cindy the rep was great, nothing was to much trouble for her.
Now the resort. It is well out of the way, unless you want to stay by the pool all day, everyday, then you are gonna need transport. there are some fantastic sights to see all around the island. Some reviews made a big issue about mosquitoes. They are very active at about 9 to 10 in the evening. They do not attack in swarms, as I was lead to beleive( I recommend Boots Tropical Strength spray Which best buy!). The bar is very limitted for an all inclusive. You are only offered local beer and a very small amount of cocktails. No Malibu, burbon or whiskey.
Positives, Staff are very friendly and helpful. You are met at the door, where they deliver your bags to the room. There are two pools. One is adults only, with a further family pool. The entertaiment team are great, there is always something going on with them. The food was a great delight, it is all freshly cooked with enough variety to satisfy anyone. The entertaiment in the evening was good. THe Greek night and fire show is well worth watching. For the cost of the all inclusive holiday, I would recommend a visit.
BIT OF ADVISE. if your gonna hire a quad bike or scooter, do not use Spirakos bikes in Kassiopi. The bikes are total unreliable and unsafe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    541
    224
    81
    37
See reviews for
498
704
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Loved the resort, food was pretty good with lots of choice, lots of excursions available and well worth taking up on, well suited for couples as well as families with children, rooms spacious, well kitted and kept very clean

Room Tip: 2 floor buildings, go for an upstairs room rather than downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank clarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Wyrley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed at Mareblue for 10 nights from 09/06/13-19/06/13. This was my second time at this resort, and this holiday was even better then the first time I visited. The management has changed, the managers are frequently seen walking around the hotel and dining room, and are very welcoming. All of the waiting and bar staff are polite and very efficient. They all work so hard and always greet you with a smile on their faces. Around the pool, maintenance staff and pool staff are continuously seen wandering around making sure the everything is clean and well maintained.

The rooms are cleaned daily (excluding sundays) and perfect for what you use them for. Decent space with plenty of storage, and a good size bathroom. There is a tv in the room, which we never used, air con, a hair dryer and a safe (extra charge). It's not 5* luxury but thats not what we paid for!

The food is brilliant. All fresh and well cooked, as long as you didn't try everything available to you every night, there is plenty of variety! Best food I've had at an all inclusive by far. Snacks are available at the pool bar early afternoon along with ice cream, so no need to leave the comfort of the sunbed!

One of the big highlights of the holiday is the brilliant work by the entertainment team, especially from Rico and Gill. They work so hard all day to keep guests occupied, frequently encouraging guests to partake in a range of sports. In the early evening, they all take part in the mini disco for the kids, which they all seem to enjoy very much. At 10, the evening entertainment starts, which is sometimes cheesy but we always had a great time, and the team encouraged everyone to get involved. We particularly enjoyed the Greek night and the quiz (which we won woooop!). These guys really made our holiday, lovely people, an asset to the holiday. The new additions to entertainment team arrived days before we left, but they all seemed extremely enthusiastic and hopefully will live up to the high standards Sam, Rico and Gill have already set.

This is a quite part of Corfu, and although we are aged 24 and 26, this was perfect for us! There is a bar 2 minutes away from the hotel called Ammus which we went to every evening after the entertainment finished. Drinks are very reasonably priced and music is good. This is run by Menelaaus and Paola, both lovely and very welcoming people, strongly recommended! Plus, free wifi, so we went for a coffee in the afternoons and to catch up with the rest of the world.

We strongly recommend a trip to kassiopi, a beautiful fishing village, just stunning. But then again, the views of Albania from the hotel took our breath away every night. We couldn't get bored of that view. We strongly advise decent mosquito repellent, they appear around 7:30-9.30 in the evenings, but they are EVERWHERE!

In summery, a perfect holiday, best one we have had. Leaving was tough, couldn't recommend it enough! Definitely will be going back in the near future. Thank you to all of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilina, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family spent here one week in june 2013 with children 15, 10 and 2 years old. Everything was wonderfull - rooms, food, sea, pools but especially animators Gill and Rico. From morning till midnight they were pleasant, funny for all our children but also for us. We loved them very much. They were smiling, dancing and everytime they found time to make our holiday better. Unforgetable, wonderfull and amazing holiday. Hope we meet next year again. :)
Slovakia

Room Tip: we were in the first building near reception - too much busses were often coming here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KristinaMaruniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a weeks stay with my best friend at the Mareblue and what a fabulous week it was. On arrival at the airport we took about an hour and a half coach transfer to reach this lovely place. Swift friendly check in with helpful and happy staff. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean in all areas and our room was too with a perfect sea view.The food was superb, my friend and I are well travelled and we both said how impressed we were with the choice and standard. Great choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner, vegetarian or not. Snacks were served down near the main pool if you had any room to fit them in! You could also eat there over lunch time, but my tip would be to go up to the main restaurant if you require a larger choice. The 'quiet pool' is perfect for relaxing, the larger pool great for families with lots of kids activities going on. If you want total chill out go down to the beach to the left of the hotel. 8 euros for two sun beds and a parasol, lay back and just watch the world go by with fabulous views over to Albania. If you are wanting nightlife, bars and restaurants, this hotel is not for you, however there are two nice bars down to the right of the seafront, but also bear in mind that there are buses that run from the hotel in to Kassiopi and Corfu Town should you want to explore more. Overall I would say this was a superb holiday destination, we have returned totally relaxed and re-charged. Suggestions for improvement would only be an information folder in your room and a bath mat, that's all!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week, we were very pleased with the room witch was clean and well cared for.The food is also very good, i especially loved the salads. The views are amazing, we went to the beach witch is nice, but we preferred the pool better.The staff is very nice and always helpful, we enjoyed the entertainment, they have a fakir show that i especially liked, my son had lot of fun at the children activities, we even took some photos with the entertainers Gill and Rico, they were dressed up as clowns and big pink bears and my son liked that very much.So if you are a family with children is a very nice and relaxing place to go to for your holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexDebrecen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks from 27/5/13-10/6/13. We are a family of four 2 children aged 9&5 plus our parents came with us.

Overall the holiday was good, we were let down with weather but that has nothing to do with the hotel however, there was little to do when it did rain or was very cold....
The food was okay we did two weeks and did not feel that it was as repetitive as other all inclusives we have stayed in before.
Some main points:
the site is spread out well so lots of room and lots if walking space, however, there is no maps of the grounds so you can spend a few days looking around finding things.
Also, you do not receive a welcome pack from the hotel to give you any idea of the hotel information, such as no maid service on Sundays.
Although it stipulates full trousers for men in dining room this is not enforced, why say then don't do....very annoying...
Mosquitos where a very bad problem when we where there. My son had over 150 bites and my mother in law was placed on anti biotics when we returned hers where that bad...plus others around us where the same. When I spoke to the manager he said its a hot country there is nothing you can do about it....however I disagree there are no electric machines no netting and no gassing is done on site there is lots you can do. Everyone purchased there own candles and we reduced the problem as guests. Very poor responce from the hotel....
When we were there it was not full and staff at times struggled with service but nothing that I would complain about but I think when its busy this may be an issue.
There are shuttle buses from the hotel these are reasonably priced and safe.
The tavernas local are great and if you want a late night you can visit one that stops open late and staff go there too....
The 2 drinks per person is a pain but manageable.
Entertainment was good, however, the stage needs raising so people can see what's happening without standing on tables and chairs. Plus the area for entertainment is covered in bird poop so check your seats. The hotel have placed some wood under the birds nest but have jot finished it so its hit and miss all over.
The pools are spotless as are all the areas the cleaning staff do a fantastic job.
Flys where not a problem for us nor where ants.
The kids disco is brilliant its on a little later than other hotels we have stayed at and that was brilliant because you could spend longer in the sun and at the pool and the kids don't miss the disco.
There are no water stations and you can not use the machines to fill up your water this is the first location that this has been the case for us and it would be better to have some water stations.
If you enjoying eating at high school go to restaurant at 7pm if not wait a little later because people rushed in at 7pm and it can be like a cattle market, we ate about 8.30pm and food was still fresh and it was a lot quiter for us. That's upto each person's preference.
Rico and gill the animation team are outstanding, they made the holiday 100% better. They are aware of what people want or need they cater what they do to make it fun for all....they do not mither if you don't want to do anything....they spend time with you on a night to get to know each person.....
We met some lovely people on this holiday and my family had a nice time, however, I feel lots of little things can be done to improve it overall. It's nothing major.......
Overall this is in a remote location, but book if you don't mind that. Food is typical to all all inclusive hotels, cleanliness is not an issue, drinks finishing at 11pm was a pain for us but not for others, bird poop was everywhere, mosquitos where very bad, staff where good, animation team outstanding.
Hope this helps.....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank selina1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Spyridonas
17.1 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Aeolos Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Perama
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
21.3 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 stars 1,657 reviews
30.9 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
10.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
10.1 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mareblue Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareblue Beach Resort

Property: Mareblue Beach Resort
Address: Agios Spyridonas 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Spyridonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Spyridonas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mareblue Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mareblue Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Beach Hotel Agios Spyridonas
Hotel Escape Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing