We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”
Review of Hotel Emerald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Emerald
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This part of Thassos is unspoilt, quiet and still relatively rural. The beach is sandy and spacious and the water shallow.This self catering hotel is excellent. The view from the room is magnificent. The rooms are small but bright and uncluttered. The owners Kostas and Katerina are very hospitable, generous and friendly. The steep walk up the hill is great exercise but requires a degree of fitness. It is therefore unsuitable for the elderly and people with poor exercise tolerance. All in all a great experience and good value for money.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have separate balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Krishnan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

The best about this hotel is the stunning view, that you get if you are lucky enough to get the top floor apartment.
The top floor rooms are wormer then the ones at the bottom, which was really important in May, have separate balcony and fantastic view from the room.
The rooms on the first floor had all joined terrace, which gave some opportunities for socializing, but were at the same time too intimidating for us. Also the view on the first floor is nice from the terrace, but you can't see much from the room directly. Apart from that the rooms at the first floor were in the shade all the very cold to sleep in. Maybe they are great for summer, but for May only top floor rooms are the good choice.
The hill is a bit steep, but this is the price you pay for the view. It was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have been to the Island six times and love it.We stayed in the Smaragdi apartments which is part of the Emerald and owned by Costas.We have not been to Thassos for a few years and after staying in very modern hotels in Spain and Portugal had forgotten how basic Greece is.On arriving we met Costas who was lovely and very helpful.When shown to our room after all the places we had been we were a little taken aback at the simlicity of the room.But after a good nights sleep and the beautiful sea view we got back into the Greek way.The rooms are basic and the kitchen only has area only has two rings to cook on and not much space,so breakfast and salads are about the most you can do in it.But the rooms were spotlessly clean.The balcony had fantastic view of the sea.The pool was lovely and the view from there was priceless,the pool bar was well stocked with everything you could ask for and staff were very friendly.You need to be fit to stay here or hire a car or bike to get up and down to the apartments,the hill you have to walk up to get to them is called suicide hill by the locals so this says it all,not good for the elderly or young children without transport.The restaurants are fabulous and very reasonably priced a must to try is the La Terrasse restaurant which is family run must be the poshest place in Golden beach but the same price as anywhere else.The meals and the restaurant are gorgeous.The bus service is very good ,try a day at paradise beach the kids will love the big waves,part of the beach is more for families but further up is a nudist beach with little coves so it would not be offensive to anyone,there is a beach cafe for refreshments.We hired a car and travelled all around the island it is not so scary driving on Thassos because the roads are pretty Quiet.This Island is so romantic with intimate tavernas and restaurants.If you want to see the real Greece you must go to Thassos.No matter what you think of the apartments after a couple of days you will fall in love with this island and nothing else will matter.I did many years ago and will be back again and again and yes I would go back to the Emerald without a second thought.

Room Tip: Ask for either an upper or ground floor.if you don't ask you won't get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have stayed in many locations on greek islands. Emerald rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable with beautiful views from the balconies. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and the location is great for access to the nicest part of Chrissi Amoudia beach. Reviewers aren't joking when they mention the hill - it is a killer, but wouldn't put me off choosing Emerald again if I return to Thassos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in an apartment with bedroom, livingroom and kitchenette and for 50 euro/night it was well worth it. We had our 2 year old son with us and they offered to give us a crib for him, which was very nice of them.

The aircon is working perfectly, the view is the best I've ever seen, the kitchenette is equipped with plates, cutlery, glasses and some pots, so it's enough for what you need. They change the towels every 2 days and the bed linen 2 times per week. The hill to the hotel is not that steep, so don't worry. The swiimingpool was a nice surprise since I had the pleasure to swim alone as it wasn't crowded. The owners are really polite and helpful. It's easy to get to the hotel, follow the signs for Chrissi Ammoudia, and then on the left you will see an arrow with the sign of Emerald hotel.

The only downside was the WIFI, it only works with a laptop, smartphones stand no chance because of the bad signal. Even with the laptop it took a while to load a page.

I would go back anytime to this hotel, the owners and the conditions made me feel like home and the view is to die for. You really can't ask for anything better on an island in Greece.

Room Tip: Emerald Suites building seemed less noisy than the building with the swimmingpool, and the apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveling_peach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Southport, United Kingdom
14073
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our third time at the emerald and we will be booking again as soon as possible.
I cant add much to the previous review by Grimsbymint which sums all the positives and agree with the sentiments about Thassos being real Greece and not Blackpool in the sun surrounded by Brits in football shirts! (sorry but in general 'the British abroad' arent my cup of tea!).
My only worry about praising this place on here is that too many people will go there!
A terrific place to stay if you like simple, clean rooms , good hospitality, real Greek food locally and a bit of healthy exercise!

Room Tip: all rooms have a good view. Upper floors may be slightly better but you may need a sunshade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Perfectly adequate accommodation. Air Con a reasonable 35 Euros a week and because the studios were not too big it worked very efficiently. The wasps were annoying so for breakfast we closed the patios doors and sat on the edge of the bed still seeing that gorgeous view. If dining out for lunch ask for a 'burner' which is a container of burning coffee that produces smoke that really scares the wasps off. The waiters usually notice you swatting them and so bring you one anyway. After sundown its wasp free. Costas the owner told us that we wouldn't need the mozzie plug in as its high up and he was right we brought it back home with us. When eating in the tavernas at night I used a mozzie spray though and didn't get bit. All the restaurants in Golden Beach and Skala Potamia were good and reasonable with lots of freebies like ouzo, olives or desserts, especially Sotiris in Golden Beach the one on the beach front with the lit up green path. Vigli has amazing views both sides and does entertainment on various nights. We went to the greek night on a Saturday but you must book first as it gets very busy with all the locals going as well. Transfers went smoothly and even fed 3 seagulls by hand on our return ferry journey. Not too many brits here lots of greeks, romanians, bulgarians etc. on holiday which we liked, makes you feel that you're on holiday instead of a Blackpool in the sun. The position of the Emerald Studios is great. I know theres a hill but without it you wouldn't have the amazing views. Just at the bottom of the hill theres a cafe bar called Cava D'oro where for 2 bottles of water 1 Euro you get free sunbeds. Although we bought frappes here which were great and some lunches as its shaded under pine trees. Car hire from Potos is at the base of hill, 40 Euro for 1 day hire. Anna's supermarket is here as well so everything you need close by. Golden Beach is lovely, sand pale and sea bluey green that stays quite shallow for a good way out. The view back up to the Emerald can be seen from the sea, beautiful. Bus service good 1.90 Euros up to Panagia village where the natural springs are, worth while trip. Nice shops up there too with different souveniers. In the hire car we visited other beaches but Golden Beach takes some beating. Theologos in the centre of the island is a really lovely village. Had our cheapest meal here in the week at Stellios Restaurant, its lovely and shaded which was needed as it was so hot there. Temps were 30-35 in week 19-26th August no rain not even a cloud in sight. Mythos 2.50 Euros pint and house wine 5 Euros half carafe. All in all a brilliant holiday and the real plus is the fact that you can DRINK THE WATER OUT OF THE TAPS as it is natural mountain spring water. No need to carry heavy water up that hill. Just book it you'll love it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a clearer view of the scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrimsbyMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chrissi Ammoudia
0.3 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
138 reviews
3.2 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#12 of 89 in Thasos
422 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#5 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dimitris Hotel
Dimitris Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chrissi Ammoudia
35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#9 of 10 in Skala Potamias
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 10 in Golden Beach
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emerald

Address: Skala Panagia, Chrissi Ammoudia 640 04, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Chrissi Ammoudia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chrissi Ammoudia
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Emerald 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Chrissi Ammoudia
Hotel Emerald Chrissi Ammoudia, Thasos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing