We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Emerald
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fedra(Golden Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ioannis Hotel(Chrissi Ammoudia)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Princess Golden Beach(Golden Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Studios Marina(Golden Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nostos Studios(Golden Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dionysos(Golden Beach)
View Hotel
Island View Villa(Golden Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
55
30
11
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
30
11
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillpool barsmaragdi ii studiosgolden beachthe ownerhired a carboth sidesrooms are basiclove this placewingslate august early septemberbakery vantypical greekscreaming kidscrockery and cutlerylovely viewair con
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 105 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have been to the Island six times and love it.We stayed in the Smaragdi apartments which is part of the Emerald and owned by Costas.We have not been to Thassos for a few years and after staying in very modern hotels in Spain and Portugal had forgotten how basic Greece is.On arriving we met Costas who was lovely and very helpful.When shown to our room after all the places we had been we were a little taken aback at the simlicity of the room.But after a good nights sleep and the beautiful sea view we got back into the Greek way.The rooms are basic and the kitchen only has area only has two rings to cook on and not much space,so breakfast and salads are about the most you can do in it.But the rooms were spotlessly clean.The balcony had fantastic view of the sea.The pool was lovely and the view from there was priceless,the pool bar was well stocked with everything you could ask for and staff were very friendly.You need to be fit to stay here or hire a car or bike to get up and down to the apartments,the hill you have to walk up to get to them is called suicide hill by the locals so this says it all,not good for the elderly or young children without transport.The restaurants are fabulous and very reasonably priced a must to try is the La Terrasse restaurant which is family run must be the poshest place in Golden beach but the same price as anywhere else.The meals and the restaurant are gorgeous.The bus service is very good ,try a day at paradise beach the kids will love the big waves,part of the beach is more for families but further up is a nudist beach with little coves so it would not be offensive to anyone,there is a beach cafe for refreshments.We hired a car and travelled all around the island it is not so scary driving on Thassos because the roads are pretty Quiet.This Island is so romantic with intimate tavernas and restaurants.If you want to see the real Greece you must go to Thassos.No matter what you think of the apartments after a couple of days you will fall in love with this island and nothing else will matter.I did many years ago and will be back again and again and yes I would go back to the Emerald without a second thought.

Room Tip: Ask for either an upper or ground floor.if you don't ask you won't get
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have stayed in many locations on greek islands. Emerald rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable with beautiful views from the balconies. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and the location is great for access to the nicest part of Chrissi Amoudia beach. Reviewers aren't joking when they mention the hill - it is a killer, but wouldn't put me off choosing Emerald again if I return to Thassos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in an apartment with bedroom, livingroom and kitchenette and for 50 euro/night it was well worth it. We had our 2 year old son with us and they offered to give us a crib for him, which was very nice of them.

The aircon is working perfectly, the view is the best I've ever seen, the kitchenette is equipped with plates, cutlery, glasses and some pots, so it's enough for what you need. They change the towels every 2 days and the bed linen 2 times per week. The hill to the hotel is not that steep, so don't worry. The swiimingpool was a nice surprise since I had the pleasure to swim alone as it wasn't crowded. The owners are really polite and helpful. It's easy to get to the hotel, follow the signs for Chrissi Ammoudia, and then on the left you will see an arrow with the sign of Emerald hotel.

The only downside was the WIFI, it only works with a laptop, smartphones stand no chance because of the bad signal. Even with the laptop it took a while to load a page.

I would go back anytime to this hotel, the owners and the conditions made me feel like home and the view is to die for. You really can't ask for anything better on an island in Greece.

Room Tip: Emerald Suites building seemed less noisy than the building with the swimmingpool, and the apartment is worth the extra money, especially if you have a child.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveling_peach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our third time at the emerald and we will be booking again as soon as possible.
I cant add much to the previous review by Grimsbymint which sums all the positives and agree with the sentiments about Thassos being real Greece and not Blackpool in the sun surrounded by Brits in football shirts! (sorry but in general 'the British abroad' arent my cup of tea!).
My only worry about praising this place on here is that too many people will go there!
A terrific place to stay if you like simple, clean rooms , good hospitality, real Greek food locally and a bit of healthy exercise!

Room Tip: all rooms have a good view. Upper floors may be slightly better but you may need a sunshade
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymorri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Perfectly adequate accommodation. Air Con a reasonable 35 Euros a week and because the studios were not too big it worked very efficiently. The wasps were annoying so for breakfast we closed the patios doors and sat on the edge of the bed still seeing that gorgeous view. If dining out for lunch ask for a 'burner' which is a container of burning coffee that produces smoke that really scares the wasps off. The waiters usually notice you swatting them and so bring you one anyway. After sundown its wasp free. Costas the owner told us that we wouldn't need the mozzie plug in as its high up and he was right we brought it back home with us. When eating in the tavernas at night I used a mozzie spray though and didn't get bit. All the restaurants in Golden Beach and Skala Potamia were good and reasonable with lots of freebies like ouzo, olives or desserts, especially Sotiris in Golden Beach the one on the beach front with the lit up green path. Vigli has amazing views both sides and does entertainment on various nights. We went to the greek night on a Saturday but you must book first as it gets very busy with all the locals going as well. Transfers went smoothly and even fed 3 seagulls by hand on our return ferry journey. Not too many brits here lots of greeks, romanians, bulgarians etc. on holiday which we liked, makes you feel that you're on holiday instead of a Blackpool in the sun. The position of the Emerald Studios is great. I know theres a hill but without it you wouldn't have the amazing views. Just at the bottom of the hill theres a cafe bar called Cava D'oro where for 2 bottles of water 1 Euro you get free sunbeds. Although we bought frappes here which were great and some lunches as its shaded under pine trees. Car hire from Potos is at the base of hill, 40 Euro for 1 day hire. Anna's supermarket is here as well so everything you need close by. Golden Beach is lovely, sand pale and sea bluey green that stays quite shallow for a good way out. The view back up to the Emerald can be seen from the sea, beautiful. Bus service good 1.90 Euros up to Panagia village where the natural springs are, worth while trip. Nice shops up there too with different souveniers. In the hire car we visited other beaches but Golden Beach takes some beating. Theologos in the centre of the island is a really lovely village. Had our cheapest meal here in the week at Stellios Restaurant, its lovely and shaded which was needed as it was so hot there. Temps were 30-35 in week 19-26th August no rain not even a cloud in sight. Mythos 2.50 Euros pint and house wine 5 Euros half carafe. All in all a brilliant holiday and the real plus is the fact that you can DRINK THE WATER OUT OF THE TAPS as it is natural mountain spring water. No need to carry heavy water up that hill. Just book it you'll love it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a clearer view of the scenery.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrimsbyMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews