We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, shame about the food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corfu Holiday Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corfu Holiday Palace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, shame about the food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel except the food. There were also extensive building works taking place but I think, for the price we paid, we couldn't complain. Corfu town was about a half hour walk, nice shops and interesting places to visit. We would certainly consider another stay if the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexSue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    525
    247
    119
    70
See reviews for
346
594
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Like other recent reviewers we did have an amazingly good value visit here. We were very happy with our room which was spacious and well equipped. We had a lake view as well as the airport runway but ,as has been said it was more of an experience than a hindrance. There was no noise factor and when we were on the excellent beach it became a routine to clock in the daily flights. I recall being concerned when the Ryanair flight was a little late !. The hotel has an excellent outdoor pool and its devotees were early in leaving their towels in the 'prime positions' The beach was reached by a funicular railway exclusive to the hotel. We spent our time on the beach where there was excellent safe bathing as well as a good value beach bar. . We were on half board and these could be somewhat bland probably as they have to cater for several nationalities. I am not a buffet lover so we did eat out on several nights. This is a good family hotel with a lot of facilities. It does need some sprucing up over the closed period but I must say we found the staff helpful and friendly. I definitely recommend it

Room Tip: Obviously there are attractive sea views but we found the lake and airport runway view fascinating
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, let me say that I think there is some discrepancy in the quality of rooms in this hotel. On the pool side, the rooms look to have had SOME degree of modernisation, I think. On the lake side of the hotel, it is an experience similar to stepping back decades in time, or into a scene from Stephen King's 'The Shining'.

Upon entering the ancient, shuddering, technically outdated lifts, you may begin to suspect something is amiss with the standard of this hotel. You are not wrong.

I almost cried when I first walked into our hotel room. Honestly. It's not like me to be precious about such things, but this was disappointing...to say the very least. I had brought my 14 year old, hard to please Aspergers Syndrome child with me for a lovely, luxury holiday, and I genuinely considered instantly booking out and finding another hotel quickly to avoid upset and arguments. This was stressful. We were genuinely upset at the standard of our room. It's all in the expectation, and five star (or even four star) prepares you for something else entirely. This was not what we had expected, and for that I am angry at the operator and the hotel for selling themselves to everyone as something they most definitely are not.

Despite the room being of a good size, everything in it looked OLD. I mean, aren't hotels supposed to replace beds often? It's a fundamental thing. They sagged, looked horribly uncomfortable, weren't much better to sleep on, and the bed covers wouldn't have looked out of place in a 70s sitcom. Carpets look at least two decades old, with stains to prove it (see pics). The room furniture and fittings are equally dated if not moreso. Dark wood went out in the 80s but this stuff looks more acquainted with the 60s. The two chairs in the room honestly needed just throwing on a bonfire somewhere. The little table with equally little TV just confirmed the overall impression. The bathroom, although evidently modernised during the preceeding thirty years and tiled and lit, still disappointed. Tiling standard is poor - slapdash workmanship should not be accepted in a hotel claiming to be of even half-decent standard. There is some mould and damage to the bathroom (see pics). Each time the shower was used, it seemed to flood the nearby corner of the bathroom. We tried in vain to prevent it. The shower isn't enclosed and the shower head leaked when in use, hence the flooding. The TV channels are useless to most non-Greek speaking people. The hotel could really do with investing in a decent satellite dish. Enjoy CNN, because that's all there really is. 

There are no tea or coffee-making facilities in the room, and no mini bar. There is a small, overheating fridge inside one of the cupboards to store whatever you want in it. Again, a supposed five star rating and no drink facilities in the room, other than a rusty bathroom tap?      

The balcony did the job of being a balcony, nothing more. The view of the runway and accompanying roar of plane engines was...different. I don't remember mention of the incredibly close proximity to Corfu's only runway in the hotel blurb? It would have been nice to have been prepared. And prepared is what one must be to stay here at present.

This hotel can, in places, often smell of drains. The smell of raw sewage may occasionally wake you in the early hours of the morning. I accept this when out and about in Corfu - it's a small, hot country, partly overrun with eating, crapping, noisy tourists. I get it. But you don't expect that smell INSIDE a hotel. 

The room cleaning staff do their best to keep a reasonable standard in the rooms, and I salute them for it. We could have used bigger towels, and ones that didn't scratch a full layer of skin off when used. Just a suggestion. 

With the rooms out of the way, let me say that the staff were polite, warm and friendly. Mostly helpful, too. There is a bowling alley in the very bowels of the hotel (the smell will remind you where you are). This was an experience. Another warp back to the 70s for this one, including cheesy awful disco music which left my ears crying for mercy after 40 minutes. PLEASE UPDATE THE MUSIC! Also the mechanism on the bowling alley kept breaking, but by this time it was nothing less than expected at the Corfu Holiday Palace. (Seriously, you actually begin to accept the fact that everything is falling down around you.) But this was a lot of fun all the same. The bartender is a character, and the drinks are good. Good value if you have drinks and bowling together. They have a couple of pool tables inside the tiny bar area down here too. There are quite a few extras, including table tennis, spa, gym, salon, and of course the swimming pool and private beach accessed via a lift near the pool.


From the lake side...or as I liked to call it the DARK SIDE...of the hotel it was really nice to head towards the back of the hotel; the bar, outdoor seated area, pool and beach are the jewel in this hotel. They are its saving grace! The pool is clean and well maintained. Good seating, if you can beat the stampede to grab chairs in the morning. The grounds are incredibly well looked after. Kudos to the outdoor staff, who maintain a standard not yet met inside the hotel. Loved the sedum roofs, and all the nicely planted bits of the grounds. Great to have the use of a private beach, which is pebbled and boasts clear, calm waters. Great for a quiet day sunbathing and swimming, if you can avoid too many kids. The lift down to it is fun, if a bit hair-raising.

Breakfasts here are ok, and plentiful. They start at 7.30am and finish at 10am. Room service for meals was of a good standard.

I'd recommend the nearby Captain George's Taverna for lovely home cooked evening meals and great service from Captain George himself. Enjoy some Ouzo, and the stuffed vine leaves - very yummy. There is also a lake side/runway side Royal café down the same short road leading from the hotel, which does great coffees, and there is a now ubiquitous sushi bar nearby.

My advice regarding this hotel is to enjoy the pool, beach and bar for a few days, then hire a car and get out around Corfu. It is a beautiful island. There are some stunning beaches, mountains and fabulous little tavernas to be explored and discovered. I can recommend driving up Mount Pantokrator, and stopping for lunch at Taverna a la Palaia (it's on Trip Advisor) in the little village of Strinilas, either on your way up or down the mountain; and this way you avoid spending 15 euros each on the hotel dinner buffet, which works out much more expensive than simple room service. I presume that's why so many guests seemed to prefer room service each day.

Great prices, especially off peak, but remember this is in NO way a five star accommodation. Not by any stretch of even a deranged imagination. They really need to fix that...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Treehugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just got back from this hotel, had a fantastic time. Granted need a little TLC but still has the WOW factor. Rooms are very spacious, maid service with clean towels every day. Sensational views. Planes were not a problem infact quite an experience. Staff were fantastic, nothing was a problem. Food was good. Captain George taverna just outside the gates was amazing. Bus service to town very good runs every 20 minutes. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewisarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury in Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from this hotel and totally agree with the last few reviews. In fact they were more or less exactly what I wanted to write so I will make my review short and sweet. Its a lovely place and in a fabulous location. Definitely tired and in need of lots of TLC. The staff were polite and attentive and the food was fine. Not brilliant, but good enough for what we paid. The beach is not very nice. Gritty sand and pebbles and scruffy with rubbish strewn about. Such a pity, as the area is lovely. We too booked with Broadway travel and for what we paid we certainly didn't expect 5* as advertised, but instead got a decent 3*. We certainly enjoyed the peace and quiet but maybe a bit too quiet in the evening !!!!! You get what you pay for, and we certainly got that. We did enjoy our week....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

So while this is no 5 star resort by any stretch of the imagination, this place is a great base from which to explore the island. the rooms are large, have air conditioning and the staff are very pleasant. On the downside, the breakfast is not a very relaxed affair ( shame on those who leave mountains of food behind them and let their kids do the same) and the food choices never change, we never managed to get any sunbeds by the pool and the beach is not terribly attractive and certainly not private. But I liked this place nevertheless and if you consider that there are some great deals to be had, then I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: If you ask for sea view, make sure you are on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We found this hotel via an offer from Broadway Travel, linked with flights with Ryanair. Our outbound flight was delayed because the pilot choose to go to Thesilonika to re-fuel, rather than land early. Our homeward flight was delayed by 1 hour due to late arrival of Ryanair planes, both Manchester and East Midlands planes arrived late!
The hotel was built as a Hilton in the early 70s, though they display testimonial letters in the foyer dating back to 1961.
Our room had a very difficult toilet flush button. We mentioned this at reception, twice, but the plumber never turned up to fix it. Reception didn't seem to care!
The food in the restaurant was very good, with a good choice. We felt that the times for dinner ending at 9.30 was a little early if one had been exploring Corfu during the day. We didn't like the fact that coffee was not included with the meal, especially as they did include coffee at breakfast.
Entertainment in the hotel was limited. The advertised wifi in the rooms did not work, everyone who wanted to use the internet gathered in the foyer. In the small bar they had 2 singer/dj/keyboard players who alternated each night. One was good but the other was poor, as could been seen by the lack of customers on his nights.
The "good" one , though, did not play requests for some birthday people, They had all retired to their rooms before he got round to doing it. Now good.
The price of the holiday at £305pp was good value, but eating in the hotel is no where near as good a holiday experience of looking for a finding those wonderful little tavernas which are hidden in the "non touristy" villages!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DParryUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanoni
5.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
5.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.9 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corfu Holiday Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Holiday Palace

Property: Corfu Holiday Palace
Address: Nausicas Street, Kanoni Beach, Kanoni 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kanoni
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Corfu Holiday Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first luxury hotels in Corfu, this hotel is the only one in the island with a direct view to the famous ‘Mouse Island’’ the trademark of Corfu Island. Set in magnificent landscaped gardens /45000 sq. m./ with an abundance of pine- eucalyptus and cypress trees, well maintains its prominent position amongst Corfu’s top hotels. The hotel is very close to Corfu town and also nearby the major archaeological sites offering the perfect base for those seeking to explore the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Corfu Holiday Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel Kanoni
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni
Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing