We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Corfu Holiday Palace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not 5 star”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just back from a weeks holiday and am disappointed, advertised as private beach but this was not the case as it was open to anyone including the locals, beach was small and got very over crowded which resulted in a shortage of sun bed {which were 7 euros a day} The pool was fine but you had to be early {7am} to get a sun bed. Hotel was okay but 3 star at best, apart from breakfast the food was poor.
Staff didn't seem interested when we booked we requested a sea view... we got there and were given a garden view which looks onto the airport runway.
I went for change one morning was told to come back in the afternoon...... then decided to eat in the hotel one night and was pestered through the meal for the payment even tho I had told him i would pay at the end.

On a side note the airport at Corfu is a shambles, by far the worst airport experience we have ever had.

Room Tip: Dont take a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    577
    273
    131
    83
See reviews for
385
669
49
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
romania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The breakfasts were excellent and offered a really wide choice . Dinner in the evenings was also quite sufficient / the staff were cheerful and efficient, all of them were helpful.
The rooms were roomy and the bathrooms were still fine with everything in good working order.
So, all in all, in my opinion, the hotel is good , the location are wonderful .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dionisied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijnsburg, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a nice hotel with friendly staff, a nice beach, beautiful view and a pool in my garden. It is so great to have a good breakfest (ooh I like the greec yoghurt, fresh bread, pancakes and fruit) outside on the balkony with the view and a softe morning breeze. But sleeping is sometimes terrible as in our room we had much noise of the music (4 of the 7 nights). The last night was a wedding at the pool. It looked like if the band was located in our room, the wood in the room vibrated and made noise as well. It was until three a clock in the morning.

Room Tip: never choose a garden room as you hear the life music like it is in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Yes, it's not what you'd expect from a 5 Star hotel but it's very good for the price. Dated but clean & tidy. The location is lovely in Kanoni, with views of Mouse Island, 20 mins away from Corfu town by local bus (which stops outside every 20mins), with an elevator to it's own beach and choice of bars and restaurants onsite (the sushi and cocktail bars can both be recommended), a great taverna just across the road and a mini-market for essentials next door to that. Don't be put off by the airport, it is really close but it's not Heathrow and actually the planes taking off and landing just add to the entertainment. We heard a complaint about the noise from night flights from guests in the garden bungalows but honestly in the sea-view rooms it's not an issue. Staff were a little brusque but efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you are hoping for 5 star luxury then you can forget it . Wild horses would not drag me to this hotel again.
Staff totally disinterested and unfriendly.
Food ok but nothing special.
If you are not up by 7 am then you can forget about getting a sun bed.
Brown slime on bottom of pool. Pool also very deep and not suitable for young children.
Bathrooms very dated and every time we had a shower the bathroom flooded.
Constant stream of guests at reception complaining about their rooms.
Stay well clear of room 249.
If you want to stay in this area check the other hotels as they are far better.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms on the second floor at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kanoni hotels

Bolton, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Although there is no doubt that this Hotel does require some refurbishment to the bedrooms - (it was formerly a 5 star Hilton in the 1960's) - nevertheless it still offers great value for money and still retains the original stunning and remarkable location that the original Hilton offered when it was first opened. The rooms were roomy and the bathrooms were still fine with everything in good working order and plenty of hot water available whenever required.
Food wise, it was also good - the breakfasts were excellent and offered a really wide choice plus a feature cook each morning who produced freshly cooked eggs, pancakes etc. Dinner in the evenings was also quite sufficient - no problems at all in my opinion - the staff, on the whole, were cheerful and efficient, all of them were helpful. Plates etc were cleared pretty quickly throughout our stay. The Hotel reception area and lounges have been kept to a higher standard than the bedrooms - the room maids really were fast and extremely good at their job.

So, all in all, in my opinion, this is a very well run Hotel in an absolutely wonderful location. Sea view rooms are a MUST at the Hotel (not much more expensive) and they offer that superb view over Mouse Island - floors 5, 6 and 7 being the best. The Funicular lift that takes you effortlessly down to the beach area is great and once down there you can hire 2 sunbeds and an umbrella for 7 euros per day - the Hotel provides you with towels for the pool area and the beach area.
A beach bar serves drinks and snacks from around 10am until 6pm every day.

Watching the planes come in to land is fascinating and the runway proximity does not present any noise problem - there are 3 bars serving food overlooking the runway and right on the sea edge. There is a sushi bar and a Cocktail bar (formerly Starbucks Coffee House) Ma Cocette, that both overlook the sea and approaching aircraft, sited within the Hotel grounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimealfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit to this hotel and very happy with everything.
Yes the hotel is slightly dated but the position and outlook are wonderful.
Since our last visit the hotel has added garden rooms with a lovely pool, great to see money being spent despite the economic issues within Greece.
The Manager Maria and her team run the hotel very well, we loved the banter with the waitress Lavinia throughout our stay.
Eating breakfast outside, laying by the pool enjoying great views, we will be back.
Clean rooms, nice food.
Thank you Maria, see you soon.
Duncan

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DEPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfuholidaypalace, Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear DEPC,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at corfu Holiday Palace Hotel.

We certainly do our utmost to make your holiday as comfortable – memorable and pleasant as possible, so we are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to write such positive feedback on your stay.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me should you wish to book again in order to personally take care of your accommodation and assist you with your reservation.

Yours sincerely,
Maria Ioannidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanoni
5.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
478 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Corfu Town
652 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
15.7 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corfu Holiday Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Holiday Palace

Property: Corfu Holiday Palace
Address: Nafsikas Street 2, Kanoni 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kanoni
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corfu Holiday Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first luxury hotels in Corfu, this hotel is the only one in the island with a direct view to the famous ‘Mouse Island’’ the trademark of Corfu Island. Set in magnificent landscaped gardens /45000 sq. m./ with an abundance of pine- eucalyptus and cypress trees, well maintains its prominent position amongst Corfu’s top hotels. The hotel is very close to Corfu town and also nearby the major archaeological sites offering the perfect base for those seeking to explore the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corfu Holiday Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel Kanoni
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni
Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing