We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 5*......24 Hour Power Cut.....Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corfu Holiday Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Corfu Holiday Palace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not a 5*......24 Hour Power Cut.....Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a week in August/September with my daughter.
Hotel.....first impressions "Stunning" but when you dig a little further or even get to your room, maybe a little disappointed - Rooms are basic and no where near 5* standards.

Breakfast and Dinner was delightful, waiting staff are very friendly and the variety is great!
Lots to choose from.....only issue was the day of the power cut......!!

Hotel pool and lounge area was clean, tidy and well maintained.

There is a local shop about 2 minutes work away, can get snacks, drinks and anything you need to tide you over.

Directly outside the hotel their is a bus stop which will take you directly into town - worth a visit.

My main concern and upset was that the hotel had a major power cut on one of the evenings at 10pm and power was not returned until 11pm the following day....when travelling with a young child lack of light is a little challenging and upsetting when trying to settle them to bed, brush teeth or even just putting PJ's on. Hotel put the blame on the local authority which might be true but for a 5* hotel you would have expected them as standard to have a back-up generate or even communicate with their guests about the situation - Even an apology would not have gone a miss.

In a nutshell - Not a 5* hotel by any stretch of the imagination!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dark_Purple83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfuholidaypalace, R.D. Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Dark_Purple83,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at the Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel.

Having read your feedback and comments, firstly I am glad to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay at the hotel and that you have found the food delightful , the staff very friendly and the pool area very clean and well maintained.

However, extremely sorry to note that you are still feeling disappointed towards the hotel concerning the temporarily power cut. Kindly be informed that the Electricity and all hotel’s outlets and lift are operating normally.

The electrical blackout was not caused by a hotel’s fault and all guests have been informed about .
it was a damage of the public electricity company in the area and a lot of workers were working hard to correct the damaged caused in order guest to continue their relaxing Holidays and for the area to regain the full power back. However the pool, pool bar, beach bar, public areas, kitchen, front office, emergency lightening were operating normal with the Generator.

We will certainly take an objective approach to ascertain how best we can rectify where we need to work harder. Our teams are working very hard to keep our reputation for customer service and value for money as high as it seems to be regarded by our customers so far and we are really sorry that you left feeling differently.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel in person at some point in the future and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

with my kindest regards
Maria Ioannidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    525
    247
    119
    70
See reviews for
346
594
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have juts returned after spending 2 weeks at The Corfu Holiday Palace, We spent 1 week last year here and decided it was not long enough so returned with friends this year for 2 weeks. Our rooms were on the 6th floor with glorious views I would certainly recommend spending a little more money to have one of these. You certainly get what you pay for,I agree it is an older hotel but still has a lot of charm. Its only 10 minutes from the airport and Corfu Town, the bus just stops at the bottom of the drive and bus tickets can be bought cheaper from the little shop across the way. The staff cannot be faulted from the reception, dining room, bar and the cleaning staff are just brilliant.Breakfast is plentiful with lots of choice and we found the evening meals better this year than last. Our friends who had never been before fell in love with it. Thank you to Maria for making it special once more.

Room Tip: Superior sea- view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyndabeckwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfuholidaypalace, R.D. Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Lynda,

We are honoured you have selected to stay again with us and i was very happy to see you .

Thank you very much for having taken the time to summarise your stay with us in a popular site such as Trip Advisor, and we are pleased to learn that we succeeded in making your stay so memorable for you and your friends!

Our mission is to meet and exceed guests' expectations and reading your review, it is very rewarding to learn that through the help from our staff, your stay at our corfu Holiday Palace Hotel turned into a trip of a lifetime.

I look forward to to welcome you again next year , will be in touch , take care !

with my kindest regards
Maria Ioannidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I spent a week here with my boyfriend and his family and was blown away by the hotel. Obviously 5* in Europe doesn't mean the same as it does in England so we were open minded and very pleasantly surprised.

We were off the plane and in the hotel very quickly due to the very close location to the airport. The noise of the planes, however, was not an issue at all :)

The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, as are the restaurant staff and the staff in the hotel bar. Unfortunately the lady who works in the beach bar was not so highly rated by us, she closed early both times we went and was quite unfriendly about it! But the rest of the staff more than made up for it. The food is also absolutely delicious, we were half board and didn't eat dinner anywhere else as it was so lovely!

A sea view bedroom is a MUST, the view is absolutely beautiful. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was clean and comfortable.

The pool is a lovely, quiet, relaxing area, plenty of sun loungers and the pool is a very refreshing temperature!

The beach is also lovely and having a lift down to it is another unanticipated luxury! The beach is lovely for swimming or sunbathing and a local man also offers water sports off of the beach which are great fun.

There are plenty of other activities available such as the water park or boat trips to other islands. Corfu Town is well worth a visit as well!

During our stay it was my boyfriends birthday and they made it all very special for us by providing a cake and champagne at our reserved dinner table. The restaurant staff really are lovely and very friendly too.

We had a wonderful week and I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MulberryLover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfuholidaypalace, R.D. Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear MulberryLover123,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at corfu Holiday Palace Hotel.

The entire team and I were delighted with your comments of the staff being friendly and helpful. We were delighted as a team with these comments as we aim to ensure that we at excel at customer service at all times.

We are very happy that you have found the Buffet food delicious, the rooms comfortable, clean and for pointing out all the little touches of our premises.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to write such positive feedback on your stay.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me should you wish to book again in order to personally take care of your accommodation .

Yours sincerely,
Maria Ioannidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed with friends for two weeks in early september. I loved the hotel although it was not a 5* as advertised it was a good 4*. Found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, did not encounter the dragon on reception that some people had mentioned earlier!! Enjoyed the pool and surroundings and didn't have a problem with it being salt water. Enjoyed the wee lift too and from the small beach and enjoyed many snorkelling sessions down there. Became a plane spotting anorak whilst there ....... absolutely fascinated as never been so close to planes taking off or landing, this was never a problem and in fact added to the holiday somewhat. Here are the plus points:
1. Fantastic location with terrific views.
2. Large room with equally large balcony.
3. Frequent buses to Corfu Town.
4. Free Wi Fi.
5. Friendly staff.

Negative Points:
1. Breakfast tables not cleaned after use, struggle to find a table if turing up after 9.15.
2. The coffee is awful.
3. The scrambled eggs are really really bad, stick to the fried ones.
4. Power cuts (Twice whilst there, one lasting 24hrs!!), although not the hotels fault there was a severe lack of communication from them.

Would definitely stay again if visiting Corfu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LighthouseFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfuholidaypalace, Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear LighthouseFanatic,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at corfu Holiday Palace Hotel.

We certainly do our utmost to make your holiday as comfortable – memorable and pleasant as possible, so we are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to write such positive feedback on your stay.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me should you wish to book again in order to personally take care of your accommodation and assist you with your reservation.

Yours sincerely,
Maria Ioannidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel the first 2 weekw of September. I enjoyed my stay. Here are the good points:

Great views from the hotel
Friendly and helpful staff
Big room
Free wifi
buses regularly into Corfu Town

Not so good points:

Breafast tables not cleared
Having to search for cups, etc, to enable us to have breakfast
Orange juice horrible
Electricity wend off for 24 hours (didnt seemed to be the hotels fault but really annoying)

All in all I would recommend this Hotel. We eat at Captain George's opposite the Hotel a couple of times, and we enjoyed that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Had booked the hotel for friends as well and was worried after some negative reviews. Don't be concerned - staff were helpful and rooms clean and spacious but basic. If you want a flat screen TV and designer bedding it is not for you. If you want good space, clean cool bedding, olive oil toiletries and air con it's great.

The views are stunning, bar staff George and Lena are lovely and the beach, bar and extra access to Sushi and Starbucks are great..

If you can try the A La Carte Menu - had great seafood. The Tennis coach is a bonus and you can be in Corfu town in 20 mins for a Euro.

Room Tip: Next time I would go for a room on the 6th or 7th floor with a sea view but wasn't fussed by a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This place made me nervous. Maybe it was the electricity that went off for 24 hours, maybe it was feeling that everything was old and needed to be fixed or replaced, maybe it was the large amount of bees in the dining area, maybe it was the price of the hotel that did not represent the lodgings... The convenience of the pool and beach was favorable, the food mediocre, the view from the 7th floor spectacular (but I don't think the lower floors have the view through the trees). I personally would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falamericana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kanoni hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanoni
5.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
5.8 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.9 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corfu Holiday Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Holiday Palace

Property: Corfu Holiday Palace
Address: Nausicas Street, Kanoni Beach, Kanoni 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kanoni
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kanoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Corfu Holiday Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first luxury hotels in Corfu, this hotel is the only one in the island with a direct view to the famous ‘Mouse Island’’ the trademark of Corfu Island. Set in magnificent landscaped gardens /45000 sq. m./ with an abundance of pine- eucalyptus and cypress trees, well maintains its prominent position amongst Corfu’s top hotels. The hotel is very close to Corfu town and also nearby the major archaeological sites offering the perfect base for those seeking to explore the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Corfu Holiday Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel Kanoni
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni
Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing