We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
124
34
2
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
124
34
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages libyan sea modern amenities location is great watching the sunset traditional architecture places to visit cretan hospitality short walk joanna comfort beaches mandala mother vacation tranquility village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 163 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2019

Great accommodation!
Comfort, quiet, very clean, cozy and minimal cottages, with a great view to Libyan sea, a courtyard garden full of colourful flowers which set the scene in a quiet neighbourhood are a retreat for those who seek one! A chance to get away from a noisy world.
Nice minimal interior with simple shapes/materials from the past and clean cut lines that combines tradition, simplicity and elegant style.
We loved the “No TV Philosophy" and that’s why we appreciated this place even more!
Great hospitality!
The welcome table was full of plenty delicious treats and goodies like an amazing handmade orange jam,
cretan rusks “paximadia", Crete’s famous traditional sweets “kaltsounia" which are small cheese or herb pies
and grape spoon sweet, all handmade by Joanna’s mother!
Joanna, a really gentle and nice hostess and very knowledgeable about the whole surrounding area,
she will give you valuable informations for your staying.
As a bonus, it’s a short walk to a nearby long beach (10 minutes, walking) and a sea tavern with excellent cretan food. Be sure to enjoy afternoon time in the courtyard!
Koutsounari cottages make a bid to travellers looking to combine location, affordability and long-time classic places.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank beautifulplacestobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioanna M, Manager at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Dear beautifulplacestobe,
Thank you for your excellent review. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday experience at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages.
Getting away from it all, is what we believe in and our wish is that our guests get this feeling while staying with us.
Dora, my mother thanks you for your nice words on her jam and cookies, you have to see/taste what her cooking is like!
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

Great accommodation! Genuine friendliness by Ioanna Mandala! Warmth, conviviality, service. Everything here is designed to uplift the true meaning of the word WELCOME. We all have heard about Cretan hospitality but it's different to live it 24/7 at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, a place that feels like home and offers much more than what you might expect. Splendid view, good energy and small details in decoration that make a difference - like the wooden ceiling (as we were told wood was from Agion Oros!!!). Great place for families, kids adored the yard and the beautiful plants and flowers. For easy going people it's near the beach and a great restaurant/ tavern called Alatsi so you have everything within reach if you don't want to take the car for other excursions. Thanks again to Ioanna for making this Easter unforgettable. See you in summer!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeonidasP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioanna M, Manager at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Dear Leonidas,
thank you so much for your touching words and excellent rating. it was a great pleasure spending Easter time with you and your lovely family.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Warm regards,
Ioanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Amazingly and very tastefully redone traditional cottages, roomy, comfortable, clean and super view to the sea! Location is great! Easy access to nearby beaches and villages. Perfect place to relax but also many choices for action nearby! Must visit!!! Excellent service and amenities!!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Tasos X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioanna M, Manager at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tasos,
thank you for your excellent review.
Sharing your Easter vacation experience at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages means a lot to us and helps other travellers.
We are delighted to read that you had a great time.
Hope to see you and your lovely family soon!
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 days at the Koutsounari cottages and wished we could of stayed for 10! The hospitality from Ioanna and Dora was wonderful they made us feel like we were at home and went out of their way to take care of us and ensure we had a special stay. The cottage itself was stunning! Ioanna’s taste in design is the perfect mix of traditional and modern... So peaceful, so beautiful and so unique! We absolutely loved it!

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Philly_K1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioanna M, Manager at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Dear Philly_K1,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal experience at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages. We are glad to read that you felt like at home! Your photos are amazing, the one with the cat's tail on the terrace of your cottages stole my heart!. Thank you again for your kind comment and for choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Ioanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We were four persons and stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the atmosphere and the kind and helpful welcome by Ioanna.
Rooms with an authenticity, clean and comfortable.
Nice to sit outside having breakfast and watch the sunrise.

If possible we would like to return in 2019

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank lunaJylland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioanna M, Manager at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Dear lunaJylland,
thank you for your kind appreciation.
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages in autumn. It is indeed so pleasant, having breakfast at the terrace during sunrise...such a nice way to start one's day!
It is a compliment for us and look forward to have you, among us again next year!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews