We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
54
89
42
31
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
54
89
42
31
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunshine beach negative reviews sister hotel cleaned daily great holiday beach hotel beach bar denis pools balcony vacation sea crete kettle hill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 245 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2016

I am only reviewing the hotel restaurants, bars, pools and beach, excluding rooms, since we stayed in the Sunshine Crete Village (which is a separate hotel) but could use all the amenities of Club Calimera.

Overall the hotel was OK, nice greenery, lots of space. However, you can tell that the hotel is pretty old and could use some overhaul. One thing that struck me the most - if you are travelling with small kids in strollers or if you're handicapped and moving around on a wheel chair, you might find that there are just too many stairs and too few ramps to move around freely. Same goes to elevators - there is no elevator that would allow you to acces the pool/beach area directly from the main reception - you have to make your way around the whole complex.

There are 3 hotel restaurants + a beach bar. 2 restaurants are themed and serve Italian and Greek cuisine. Overall the food was good, so was the variety. Restaurant area was very clean, lots of seating and quite a few baby chairs available. The bars were good as well, unfortunately there were just a few coctails available in All Inc.

There are several pools located within the hotel grounds, 2 in the central part, 2 at the beach front - these have water slides for adults and kids. Nice and clean, yet sometimes the water was a bit too cold for my liking.

The beach is clean, very big, but all stones and no sand. Some catalogues say that the beach is sandy with some gravel - this is not true! Make sure to bring some protective footwear, especially in the summer, as the stones get so hot it becomes impossible to step on them.

Very nice amination team - both for smaller kids, teens and adults. Activities organized throughout the whole day.

Date of stay: July 2016
2  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Visited this lovely hotel for a 10 night stay
Had a gorgeous sea and pool view very nice room with hairdryer but no kettle unfortunately
Food okay but Greek so not to much choice for kids plenty of fresh salad and meat though
Bar but crowded sometimes pool area lovely and staff very friendly and helpful
Good disability access
Beach shingle and quite strap
Few bars and restaurants around but not a lively town
All round good stay will go back because it was good value for the price

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JoJo69_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

-Good place with amazing sea and very strong wind sometimes. Be careful with open balcony in your room because wind may crash down a TV.
-So many activities for children in this hotel was cool
-Food is not unbelievable but ok
- It's good hotel for families with small children and teens, old couples

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank NataliaPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2015

Booking this hotel was a very good choice for me and my girlfriend. It was very relaxing, room was spacious and comfortable with private bathroom and balcony with nice view. All staff was kind and helpfull, at front office they speak well english. Definitelly recommended

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeterBalogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2014

Interesting experience, the reviews seemed great for this hotel and on the whole it was, except it was mainly German and Russian holiday makers staying here. Booked this one for the kids club but entertainers spoke mainly German and some Russian. He is only 3 1/2 and did his best to join in but I felt slightly let down that he wasn't really included, except by the one animation girl who spoke English occasionally. We did find a French family to talk to who had a son of a similar age, plus a family from Prague who were nice and a very friendly bar man who seemed to work all day every day. Apart from this the kids pool had great slides, area was spotlessly clean and staff were all friendly, helpful and nice. The food was good, I enjoyed it. As I am veggie that eats fish, I was worried but there was still a lot of choice, perhaps less so at breakfast but that's to be expected. Only disappointment was that if you missed lunch having gone out for the day, you only got soup or a ready made sandwich and no choice just ham and cheese, bit of a let down!! Other hotels have provided a snack bar. I am glad we picked the accommodation near the beach and not up on the hill though, as the dining area was much bigger and had a much wider choice. You were also allowed to have your meals on either site so it was nice for a change. The 2 hotels are separated by a main road and you access via an underground tunnel and a short walk up a hill. I cant say it was a bad experience, but I won't be going back there.

Room tip: The garden view rooms mean a view of the car park. We arrived and had to change room to a sea view. Our family room was ground floor which was excellent, far enough from pool not to worry but having space for our son to run around was a bonus.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angeline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews