We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing vacation, good services, recommend for family with young children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Kreta Club Calimera
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Koutsounari
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing vacation, good services, recommend for family with young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our stay was early in August 2011. Very satisfied in all , clean and spacious bungalow-hotel, gentle stuff and good services.
Pros: Enjoyed the pools , our 4 year old boy loved them. Nice beach as well - only little trouble when wind blew hard! - , cosy room , rich buffet meals , many vegetables as well - all inclusive package 3 meals - . Even the hotel bars at night were ok for our taste . We didnot feel like going out and about since we had everything we wanted in- also not a place for sightseeing. Other residents mainly german and french . Great for long hour sunbathing or swimming , small playground for children.

Cons : Would suggest to renew the music collection for the main restaurant toward more modern and cheerful songs since it is summer time and the mood is light anyway! Few renovations for the room toilet maybe. No flat screen TV , but we didnot mind. Had our own wireless internet , the hotel charged the internet as far as we know.

We would certainly go again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoyThanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    85
    40
    23
    24
See reviews for
131
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

We like Greece very much, but Crete is a special place for us. You can feel and see history on that island. So, we again decided to spend our holiday there. This time we wanted go to south coast of the island. It very good decision, however number of hotels on that side limits the choice. We chose Sunshine Lyktos Beach (former Magic Life Club). You can see that hotel was built long time ago. We reserved a sea view room and got the room on same floor in the main building as reception desk. So, the view was not so great and I informed the reception staff I would like to change the floor to higher one, but my wish was not fulfilled. But, we had also great time in our room and we shouldn't complain.
One bad thing in the room is furniture which is quite old, covered by an oil paint. Bathroom is also small and the equipment is used up. But we managed and survived it.
Garden in the hotel is just beautiful. One of the best I have ever seen. Large trees, beautiful flowers and herbs. Just below our balcony we had lemon trees.
Food - it also very good. Always fresh fish, a great choice of vegetable and fruits, wine, beer, pancakes for a breakfast. Hotel were almost 100 % accommodated but queues to bars were not long and you didn't waste time there.
In the evening there were always something in amphitheatre. If you don't speak German please be prepared that the hotel is "club alltoura" and shows are only in German.
Don't forget to visit Ierapetra - very nice town to be claimed the southern most town in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KlaudiaATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Location: Quite isolated, about 20 minute bus ride from the main town of Ierapetra. Very quiet location, I would suggest you try and get a room overlooking the sea, as we had a mountain view, which was nice, but there was also a fairly busy road.

Rooms: Basic but clean and tidy, equipped with: television, safe, hairdryer, bath with shower attachment and air conditioning. Also, rooms have a balcony and quite a hard bed. Internet use, charge incurred.

Communal Areas: Dated, but again clean and tidy.

Food: Restaurant was basic, but large and clean. We were all inclusive, and the food was very good. Buffet style with a great choice, food was always cooked and seasoned well.

Beach: Private pebble beach, very clean and lovely clear water, loungers provided.

Pools: One relax pool, very peaceful and plenty of sun beds and one activity pool for aerobics etc.

Staff: Staff were always polite and helpful.

All in all, the hotel was nice and for the price we paid, great value. I would class the hotel as a 3.5* not 5 as described, it could do with updating, but still a good hotel if you can get the right price. The local town Ierapetra, was more a working town and there is not much to see or do. We were the only English couple there, as hotel is not widely marketed in the UK as yet. The pools, weather and food were the best parts of the holiday and these are among the most important things.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SidneyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Weather was very good although it could get windy at night it could also be refreshing after a warm day. Room wasn't extremely big and tv was as big as a water bottle but that was the only critic, the rooms were very clean and toiletseat disinfected. Food was very good all the time, drinks were free (also the bottles of water)
And the two swimming pools have perfect temp water.
If you are looking to do nothing but sun, swim and eat without a lot of noise this is the perfect place. Shops with newspapers and food are on walking distance of the hotel, there is a small shop in the hotel itself but I wouldn't go there.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riddlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koutsounari
4.7 mi away
Petra Mare
Petra Mare
#4 of 26 in Ierapetra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel Village
Almyra Hotel Village
#5 of 6 in Koutsounari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
31.6 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#64 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dessole Blue Star Resort
Dessole Blue Star Resort
#16 of 26 in Ierapetra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
118.1 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Kreta Club Calimera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Kreta Club Calimera

Property: Sunshine Kreta Club Calimera
Address: Agios Ioannis, Koutsounari, Ierapetra, Crete 722 00, Greece (Formerly Sunshine Crete Village)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Ierapetra > Koutsounari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Koutsounari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Kreta Club Calimera 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Kreta Club Calimera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Vacation Club Crete Hotel Ierapetra
Sunshine Vacation Hotel Crete
Sunshine Kreta Club Calimera Koutsounari, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing