We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Istron Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas(Agios Nikolaos)
$348
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faedra Beach Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$63
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mistral Mare Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Marine Resort & Spa(Agios Nikolaos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lito Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blu Acqua Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Miramare Resort & Spa(Agios Nikolaos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
100
129
64
47
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
129
64
47
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachwedding guestsstunning viewsjunior suiteroom was clean and comfortablewater pressurethe main hotel buildingbeach volleyballgreat poolbreakfast and dinneroverlooking the seaagios nikolaosplenty of choicegreekarduoussunbedsprogramme
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 362 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

If you want a trip back in time, at considerable cost, this is the place for you! Clean spacious (upgraded) room, good maid service, beach towels, bath robes etc. Disinterested reception staff; all queries, complaints met with 'This is Greece.....', even when asking for help with carrying cases up several flights of stairs during a power cut. Outrageous charging for basics; water 2 euro 90 per litre when it is 1 euro 40 for 6 bottles if you can struggle with it for 15 min walk from nearest shop. You cannot even drink half your 18 Euro bottle of wine with dinner and bring the other half into the dining room the next night! Consequently one family bought no water there and our neighbours bought no wine. They even charge 5 euro to connect to the internet each time!! In a 5 star hotel, in Europe!! There are however, people who return every year. Perhaps the attempt at formal 'posh' dining appeals to some, rather like the Colonel in Fawlty Towers. The location is ok; pretty enough bay, very narrow overcrowded beach where towel reservation of sun-beds is the norm, as it is at the freezing, oblong swimming pool. Be prepared for windy weather too, even the restaurant is called The Meltemi, which is the local wind! Not the best marketing for the food on offer, but accurate I'm afraid. Have been to many better, cheaper, more fun places in Greece and elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank caro-arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stayed here for 2 weeks with my wife & 2 kids for the first 2 weeks of July 2011 and I have to say it made our holiday. Beautiful private cove with lovely water to swim in, fab restaurant overlooking the beach and a diving centre on site at the beach. Great food, great service & a view from the upstairs restaurant that is simply amazing. A must place to stay !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatthewPaulHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here for a week late June/July 2011 (our first trip back to Crete for 27 years). We needed a luxurious rest and that's exactly what we got. We both love swimming and keeping fit, so the large pool was perfect, as was the beautiful sea bay on our doorstep. stunning views, gardens and restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable (including the beds!), and our balcony had a perfect sea view. The food (we were half board) was consistently excellent in quality and quantity: fresh, full of flavour and variety. It was always great restaurant service yet really relaxed too. All staff reacted promptly whenever we needed anything or had questions. We hired a jeep one day to go exploring (and another day took the local bus into Agios Nikolias) but, although we had a good day out, concluded quickly that at Istron Bay, we had the best spot on the East Crete! Fantastic, relaxing break.Just what we needed and more. Highly recommend this hotel if you want to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Our superior sea view room was lovely, though the balconies aren't very private
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RuthEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This hotel is just lovely - the grounds and beach are beautiful and the walk to and from the beach does at least encourage a little exercise whilst on holiday! We were upgraded to a superior room with a lovely terrace and views across the bay. The food was consistently good - and the staff and service are very good. Whilst others might not like the traditional, family style hotel, it took me back to my childhood holidays in Crete and everything I like about the local people - their warmth, humour and friendliness. The hotel owner takes a genuine interest in the experience of guests. We hired a car from the hotel for a drive around the Eastern part of the island - good service from the German Car Hire company at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanna095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Second time we stayed at the hotel in 3 years. So many people we met there go back year after year and we're planning on staying for 2 weeks next year.
Fabulous quiet location if you just want to get away from it all.
Food very good, staff very helpful and nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJBGuidford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews