We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for a relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Exensian Villas & Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marathias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We relied heavily on tripadvisor reviews when booking our stay at Exensian so wanted to write our own review having returned.

It was great! The setting is quite remote and very picturesque, with a lovely view out to sea from all windows and the front terrace especially. We stayed in one of the executive double villas- the top left one. It isn't very clear when booking but each villa can be split with the top half having the pool and balcony/terrace and the bottom half just being a flat with a terrace and no pool, so if you are just two people (having booked a double rather than family villa) then chances are there will be people staying in the room beneath you. The entrances are completely separate and you would only know because you overlook the bottom half's terrace slightly when by pool/at front balcony. It didn't disturb us much but could do if people below were noisy/smoking. The villas are spaced far enough apart so you don't feel on top of each other, but the noise carries a bit- we were disturbed when a family were playing loudly in the pool in the villa below- nothing wrong with that of course, but for us it didn't feel quite so peaceful!

However, the pool and villa were gorgeous- furnished to a high standard, modern, comfortable, just as pictured and described. We expected to cook a few times, but made breakfast and lunch at the villa and ended up eating out every evening- we drove a few times to Keri beach (Keri Tavern) and to la bruschetta (which is a few minutes drive away, by where the road to Exensian hits the main road near Keri), both of which were great. We mostly went to a tavern called votsalo which was a few minutes walk, literally across the road- food was typically Greek and delicious.

Spiros was on hand nearly all the time and not have been more helpful- he really was amazing. We booked boat hire in Keri through him (recommend- exactly the same boat hire as companies in Keri selling and safe boat) and he also helped us out with jump starting our car when the battery died!

For couples or families these are lovely villas in a beautiful spot (a world away from laganas!) We would not hesitate to return.

One word of warning- the roads in Zante are pretty terrible and the little road to Exensian from the main road (about a 5 minute drive) is quite hairy- a coastal road with few places for two cars to pass, not nice to drive at night if you are a nervous driver!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imogen-J-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Exensian Villas & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Exensian Villas in October 2013.
It was the best stay we have ever had.
The weather was very hot, as if it was summer...
The villas are beautiful.
The view from the terrace on the sea is fantastic and the very nearby beach of Marathias (in which we were going on foot) is amazing.
The location is excellent and there is a lot of privacy.
The service and attention by the owner is as those of luxury hotels.
Nansy (the owner), was just a phone call away if we needed anything.
The villa was stocked with fruit, bottled water and even a bottle of locally produced wine.
Our private but very large pool, was cleaned every morning and every afternoon.
The housekeeping cleaned our villa twice per day.
We will go back soon.

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank LiliaRiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife always want to go to Greece. She came up with the plan and I saw those busy ( but worth it ) Islands, like Mykonos, Santorini, ... on the list.. The only thing that I said is that I would choose at least a different/calm/exotic Island other those on her list. Zakynthos was my choice!

It was easy choose the Exensian Villas as our accomodation, due its great and perfect reviews.

When we got there we were surprised with the location, quality and relaxing environment, right in the middle of nature. The room ( your should I say house!! ) was amazing.

I saw on the website that we would have a private pool, but i thought: "ok, this should be like those places that promote private things, but it should just be small and to say that they have it". I was wrong! I could every morning have a great exercise ( ok, some drinks as well ) on it. It was huge, clean and with a AMAZING view. The Turtle Island right in front of us, very nice view for sunrise and sunset.

As we saw here at the reviews, Spiros is the guy. He arranged our plans, rented an amazing boat, took us to get fresh fish and gave all the tips that we needed. We felt like we could ask for anything and he would find a way to make it.

We only stayed for three days, it was enough to know the Island, but not enough to enjoy the suite and around. Next time we will stay 1 week!

I also have to mention that prior to get there, Nansy ( I guess she is the owner/manager ) was fantastic providing all the required information ( I made tons of questions about boats, locations, shuttle.... before get there ).

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. If you have more than 4 people, there is also am integrated accommodation i...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JTravellerBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at Exensian for our 3th wedding anniversary.
We had the "Standard Suite with private pool" which was very private, very comfortable and furnished to a high aesthetics.
The views from our two private balconies to the sea and Marathonisi was unbelievable.
You have to be seen to be believed.
All indoor and outdoor areas was cleaned perfectly daily and overall the staff was fantastic and did all they could to make our stay unforgettable.
Our private pool was lovely and relaxing.
We would never forget the beautiful beach of Marathias which is very near the villas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2013, and really liked it very much. First of all, the view from the terrace is fantastic! You can see some islands on the ocean right in front of you, and enjoy sunrise, sunset, and beautiful moon. It's a villa with kitchen. So, there is no room service or anything. You are on your own. You should have a car if you want to visit beaches or towns. There is a great Taverna 100 meters from the villa. You will enjoy great Greek dinner there. The host of the villa helped me so much when I needed it. He was a great host throughout my stay. He will help you to enjoy your stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hideyuki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Everything about the place was exceptional. The view, the set up, privacy and of couse the location. Great for couples or familys and caters for most needs. The care taker Spiros was a great help. He could not do enough. He recommended places, picked up drinks and food, organised our car and was an already lovely guy......thank you Spiros. Thank you Zakynthos.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pas_G_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent 1 week in this villa. Everything was amazing. If we have some questions Spirus( it's a men who did everything on the villas) helped us at the moment, even given a sugar:-) I think we will back here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathias
8.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
619 reviews
10.8 mi away
Lesante Blu Exclusive Beach Resort
10.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,249 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
10.6 mi away
Porto Zante Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exensian Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exensian Villas & Suites

Address: Marathias 29092, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Marathias
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marathias
Price Range: $141 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exensian Villas & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have always enjoyed offering our warm Greek hospitality and we have a big and long-standing experience in that. We developed areas where the modern decoration, the luxury, the comfort of modern rooms with the warmth of the traditional ones are combined!!! Having as duty your own comfort and aiming at your special enjoyment, we cared of all the villas to be characterized by high esthetics, roominess and absolute functionality. Our complex contains four elegant villas which are built by the local stone of Zante island, according to the traditional architecture of the island. All the villas have a magic view to the sea and built among fully green gardens!!! Every villa has a private swimming pool of great dimensions equipped with gear of opposite swimming and gazes into the shocking view to Marathonissi and ensure for you the absolute coverage of the private moments of relaxation during your vacations. The thick stone walls secure wonderful conditions of stay for you in the most natural way. Modern and functional pieces of furniture of excellent design, enhance the grandeur of the stone while the bathrooms being designed in a particular lovely way will enthral you. We cared of establishing a place for you, where the luxury and the modern decoration bow to serve your own comfort and distinctive enjoyment. All the rooms are characterized by convenience, roominess and absolute functionality. What captivates the glance and takes somebody's breath away is the unique view. The amphitheatrical location of the premises as well as the way in which the villas were built so that they do not obstruct each other , offer to all the premises an unhindered view to the boundless light blue of the crystal waters of Zante and of magic Marathonisi (Marathonisi island). Overrun with greens and with an incomparable view the Exensian Villas offer you exceptional moments of isolation and refreshment. Endless green not worrying of stopping even there where the hard saltiness of the sea water starts, trees looking as if they are hung from the sea. The fantastic beach of Marathias waits for you who look for calm, tranquility and beauty which do not let you to think about anything else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Exensian Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exensian Villas & Suites Greece/Marathias, Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing