We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view from the balcony of the wonderful villa!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Exensian Villas & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marathias
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic view from the balcony of the wonderful villa!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at these villas which are lovely modern and combines excellent facilities and service with a friendly approach to their guests. The view to the sea and Marathonissi, was fantastic. Our villa "executive villa with private pool" was superb with very comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchen and a stylish bathroom with spa bath. Cleanliness was first class. Each villa has a great private swimming pool and is a wonderful place to relax in. The staff and owners give a very personal service. We were near to a lovely beach of Marathias and Zakynthos itself has many places to visit. We thouroughly recommend the Exensian villas & suites.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FedotT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had the Standard villa with our own private pool. All the villas were amazing with lovely helpful staff. The location was wonderful and the view from the two very large balconies …amazing!!! The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. Very close (4 minutes walk) is the beach of Marathias which has crystal waters and there are also two lovely Greek taverns. We wish we were still there......

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandr1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The pictures we had seen on the internet were fully reflecting the reality. Exensian is a small paradise! - Stunning view to the Turtle Island (Marathonissi) from our balconies. - Staff with polite smile that was always willing to help us. Everything was carefully made with an excellent taste of aesthetics. My husband and I, look forward for next summer, we are definitely going to be there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (UK)
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was a little concerned that since these apartments had received so many good reviews, I would be hyper critical. No need to worry on that score, we had a fantastic week after the close of the season and when the olive picking island life had begun. The apartments are capable of sleeping 8, four on the ground floor self contained unit (double and two singles) kitchen, tv and bathroom. This was not in use as we were only 3 people. Two beds on the first floor (fold out), with kitchen balcony and bathroom and tv/dvd. Two beds on the top floor (double) with seperate balcony. Wifi was free.
Our caretaker Spiros Parasxis was very helpful making us comfortable with the rooms being cleaned daily by Irene. We were able to walk down to the nearby stoney beach (500 metres) where the water was comfortably warm. Even though all the local taverns were closed I was still approached by a local to pay for the palm umbrella. I told him to go away.
Car hire is recommended, we had a Suzuki Jimny from the airport for 150 pounds all in. It was rubbish. The vast majority of the island is paved, even down to shipwreck beach, and so I would look at a Smart car for couples or a small compact with aircon. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Downstairs is cheaper, but has no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very enjoyable villa to stay in. The place was lovely and clean and we felt very safe and relaxed. I would definitely recommend getting a car as the surrounding area is all hills. The staff were very friendly and we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aislingandpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Exensian Villas and suites is a very luxury and comfortable place with four houses. Every villa has a panorama view to the sea and to Marathonissi island. You will find silence, relaxation and happiness there. There are only four villas, so it is very private. You will have a teracce and a own swimming-pool with garden. Mr. Spyros the housemanager is very nice and cares about everything you need. The lady who cleans the villas every day is also very friendly. The beach is only 10 minutes away to walk and there are two excellent tavernas, about 5 minutes to walk. We will come again in two years and celebrate my birthday with friends in the Exensian Villas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuergenK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having booked three nights in a beach resort area, Tsivili, to have those beach days, we wanted to get away from the package holiday side of Zakynthos and see the real island.

The villas are located about 20 mins from Zakynthos town and about two kilometres above and along the coast from the little port village of Limni Keri which is a great centre for renting little motor boats or jump on a boat trip to the Keri caves and more importantly the island in the bay that the turtles breed on. As we were out of breeding season, we did not see any turtles but the island has a beautiful little beach accessible only by boat and is backed by the cliff wall. Amazing place to tie up on our 3 hour jaunt around the bay in our hired boat.

Limni Keri itself is small but has plenty to offer with a number of restaurants and a few bars, a great bakery (for the villa breakfast) and some small supermarkets. There is also a beach here but the beach 5 mins below the villas is much more interesting. Down a path from the road near the villas, you come to the shore which turning left and around a jutting rock you get to a lovely stony beach that feels isolated bar the occasional boat that rocks up.

Keri itself is up the hill road from Limni Keri and is worth the trip in the evening to see the sunset at the lighthouse above the Keri cliffs.

As for the villas, they really allow you to enjoy this area as the views from the villas over the bay to the turtle island is amazing - to wake up to and in the evening enjoying a drink on one of the balconies in the villa. The villas are reasonably newly renovated, have a balcony from the living room, one from the upstairs bedroom, a seating area outside the front door and two around the pool. They seem to be co-ordinated with the sun as throughout the day the sun is shining on one of these meaning that you have no excuse or reason to leave the villa. There was a jacuzzi bath which I wasn't aware of in booking and the villa throughout is finished to a high standard. The pool is lovely - deep at one end and less so at the other and with two areas around to relax at.

Immediately near the villas there is two tavernas within walling distance - one up the road to the left and one to the right. The one up the road to the right is much better and has amazing views over the island in the bay behind which the moon rises each night. La Bruschetta is a highly recommended restaurant along the road from the villas to Limni Ker which you could walk to and back during the day but may be too dark a walk in the evenings as no lighting along the road.

A hire car is best for this villa and I believe essential to getting out to see the rest of the island which is relatively small and so easily covered in a day. Drive to the viewing area above Shipwreck Cove as it is probably as spectular as seeing it from a boat.

We stayed in villa 412 which was the lowest and so had no villa in front but as the villas are built on a hillside, the other villas have uninterrupted views also. Just to note, each villa structure has two accommodation options which can be combined for a larger group. The main villa has the pool, has a bedroom on the mezzanine and a living room with a convertible sofa below. Below the villa with a separate entrance is a two bedroom one level apartment that is quite spacious and has its own outdoor area.

For the price, these apartments are well worth it and the location and type of stay you'll experience here is a more authentic experience that that offered by the package holiday areas around Zachythos Town. Laganas is the party package holiday area and is far cry from Limni Keri - tacky, false and woeful. Give me here any day - will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Any of the villas would give you a great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhaleBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathias
8.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
5.5 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
10.6 mi away
Porto Zante Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villas Cavo Marathia
Villas Cavo Marathia
#1 of 3 in Marathias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
11.9 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exensian Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exensian Villas & Suites

Property: Exensian Villas & Suites
Address: Marathias 29092, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Marathias
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marathias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Exensian Villas & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have always enjoyed offering our warm Greek hospitality and we have a big and long-standing experience in that. We developed areas where the modern decoration, the luxury, the comfort of modern rooms with the warmth of the traditional ones are combined!!! Having as duty your own comfort and aiming at your special enjoyment, we cared of all the villas to be characterized by high esthetics, roominess and absolute functionality. Our complex contains four elegant villas which are built by the local stone of Zante island, according to the traditional architecture of the island. All the villas have a magic view to the sea and built among fully green gardens!!! Every villa has a private swimming pool of great dimensions equipped with gear of opposite swimming and gazes into the shocking view to Marathonissi and ensure for you the absolute coverage of the private moments of relaxation during your vacations. The thick stone walls secure wonderful conditions of stay for you in the most natural way. Modern and functional pieces of furniture of excellent design, enhance the grandeur of the stone while the bathrooms being designed in a particular lovely way will enthral you. We cared of establishing a place for you, where the luxury and the modern decoration bow to serve your own comfort and distinctive enjoyment. All the rooms are characterized by convenience, roominess and absolute functionality. What captivates the glance and takes somebody's breath away is the unique view. The amphitheatrical location of the premises as well as the way in which the villas were built so that they do not obstruct each other , offer to all the premises an unhindered view to the boundless light blue of the crystal waters of Zante and of magic Marathonisi (Marathonisi island). Overrun with greens and with an incomparable view the Exensian Villas offer you exceptional moments of isolation and refreshment. Endless green not worrying of stopping even there where the hard saltiness of the sea water starts, trees looking as if they are hung from the sea. The fantastic beach of Marathias waits for you who look for calm, tranquility and beauty which do not let you to think about anything else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exensian Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exensian Villas & Suites Greece/Marathias, Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing