We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing pool area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elena Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Massouri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elena Apartments
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Massouri
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing pool area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Elena Apartments was a great hotel in the beautiful little village of Masouri. The hotel is right there in the middle of the village, so you don't really have to walk anywhere. There are lots of restaurants near the hotel and you can get to the beach in 2 minutes. However, there are lots of stairs! To get from the hotel pool to the street level you have to walk around 100 steps, so I wouldn't recommend Masouri to anyone physically challenged. The people in Masouri were amazing and the beach was spectacular. No wonder all the people go scuba diving - the water was cristal clear and blue!

Elena was a very good hotel. There's an outstanding view from all the rooms and you can watch the sunset from your balcony or terrace. You might want to pay a little extra for the big balcony - they looked amazing and were situated closer to the streetlevel. However, we had a room with a terrace and it was also big and nice. The only minus with the terraceroom was that it was situated on the lower level and people walked by our terrace to get to the pool, so we didn't get much privacy. The pool area is perfect. There's a big pool and it was very quiet during our holiday in May. There's this lovely bar at the pool where you can buy snacks (toast, salads, ice-cream etc) and drinks. The rooms are pretty simple, almost boringly so, but who would want to stay inside anyways? There's a mini TV in the room and that's pretty much the only option for entertainment. Sitting in the balcony is nice, but if you want to do that during the night, get some bug spray!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SannaPitkanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is one of the best places we've visited, charter-style.
Theese apartments are situated a small walk outside Massouri on the wonderful Island Kalymnos, Greece.
Nice and quiet and with unbroken seaview that you can spend hours watching.
A great bar-area, also a pool-bar with really good food.
The staff is so friendly and this is the first place we've ever visited that didn't accept our tip upon departure.
Have you ever heard of a place not wanting tip?
The whole village/Island was so friendly and we would LOVE to come back!
If you're looking for an authentic experience, Kalymnos is the place for you and especially Elena Village, the one outside the village (because there are two different ones)

Room Tip: We had 2 apartments because we were travelling with our teenagers and they were both situated at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in Elena Apartments in August. Perfectly situated in Massouri, 5 minutes from the beach, lots of restaurants nearby, beautiful view and sunsets. We opted for an apartment with extra large terrace. The apartment was adequate for our needs. There was a new electric kettle and microwave in the kitchen, which was good. What was not so good, was the old electric hob with two rusty hotplates. The saucepans could also have been better. We only used them to boil eggs, but I would not have liked to use them for other food.
Lots of people have mentioned the shower, so enough said about that. The bathroom floor will get flooded.
The terrace was indeed big. It would have been nice with a couple of sunbeds to utilize the space. Also there was some shade from an overhead pergola, but when the sun went down over the small island of Telendos, the sun was so low it would shine directly onto the terrace, and it got too hot to sit outside. We only ventured out again when the sun had gone down. Which was a shame as we enjoyed the view.
The internet worked well in the reception, which was good enough for our needs.
If you stay in Massoury, do rent a scooter and see the island. It only takes one day. Take a day trip to Telendos, taste some more lovely greek food and go for a swim.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 49Thalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We just stayed a week at Elena apartments; a small peaceful hotel in a good location with the most fantastic view you could imagine. More details:

++ The large balcony (at extra cost) is wonderful. You could eat your breakfast here in the shadow, enjoy an afternoon drink and watch the sunset behind the island of Telendos.

++ The view from the balcony (and the pool area) is indescribable. It was lovely just sitting there, admiring the view and listen to the waves below you.

++ A beautiful pool area - with a view over the ocean. Nice and quiet, not too crowded. A good pool bar where you could buy drinks and snacks.

+ Friendly staff in the pool bar and the reception.

+ A few steps down to the water, where you could choose between walking a few meters to the beach or swimming/snorkling right in front of the hotel.

The outside area would certainly deserve a rating of five, but inside there were some small disadvantages:

- The room was very simple. The kitchen area was small with very plain equipment. Unfortunately we also spotted a cockroach in the kitchen and that wasn't nice... The TV was so small that it was impossible to see anything from the bed

- The bathroom - and especially the shower - was also very small

- The wifi -connection was very poor.

Still it is a wonderful hotel - after all you probably spend most of the time outside - which we most definetely would recommend!

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a large balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Every room has a balcony with a breathtaking view towards the small island of Telendos. The view is indescribable! I think, we stayed in the smallest room. It was still average size. The room was clean, but the beds weren't very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, and the shower was even tinier. It was uncomfortable to take a shower in. It looks like the hotel is still in the process of acquiring better furniture. There are very many stairs to walk down to the rooms on different levels.

However, I would definitely stay here again! The pool was great! Tanning with such a great view was amazing! Staff were decent. Located in the very center of Masouri. Many stores and restaurants around.

There is a new, more modern hotel that is called Elena Village. It is maybe a 10minute walk from masouri center. The view is not as great, but still beautiful!

Room Tip: If handicap, or other problems, note that there are very many stairs here! Top floor is ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We upgraded from a very basic apartment half way through a 2 week holiday. It was worth every penny! Fantastic view from the huge balcony, clean modern room with a decent kitchenette and bathroom and reliable hot water.

Booking here for our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climbinmunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regstrup, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've been staying at "Elena" two times. In 2002 and 2009.
It is a very nice hotel with nice staff and good service.
The hotel is in Massouri where everything is in walking-distance...
There is several good restaurants to choose from, and you can get most of the things you need in Massouri.
This is a place for relaxing and just dooing what you feel like that day, or maby tomorrow...
Normally when people go back to their hotel at the end of the evening they say, "Let's go back to our hotel" or " Let's go bact to our room"...,,when you stay at "Elena" you just say " Lets go home"..,,
It's a place people returns to once mere, and maby once again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnitaPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massouri
0.1 mi away
MasouriBlu Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Massouri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#4 of 5 in Massouri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Philoxenia
Hotel Philoxenia
#3 of 11 in Kalymnos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kantouni Beach Hotel
Kantouni Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Panormos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tina Studios
Tina Studios
#5 of 5 in Massouri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elena Apartments

Property: Elena Apartments
Address: Massouri, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kalymnos > Massouri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Massouri
Number of rooms: 129
Also Known As:
Elena Apartments Hotel Massouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing