We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place ever!!!”
Review of Erato Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Erato Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best place ever!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been many places many times. But this one i will remember forever!!!
Great hotel, excellent service, professional staff! The place where You want to come back again and again! Here You can discover the real GREECE. If you want a well-run, intimate hotel is well cared for here. The food matched the Greek standard, and is geared toward typical Greek. The cleanliness left also hardly left nothing to be desired. To mention is the Greek evening each Thursday. Join here can also each guest and Cretan folklore dances and more. Great souvlaki from the grill. Since the boss still even at the grill. Besides, the hotel has a great atmosphere. Relaxation is announced. If You are looking for best holidays in this unique country, this is the right hotel indeed!!!I want to thank to all Somaras family. These nice people made me feel like at home. Looking forward our next year holiday for coming back in this little world of happiness. Confidently recommend this incredibly wonderful hotel to anyone who believes he deserved vacation in a little corner of paradise.
Sincerely Yours Marina.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsMaryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    44
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
104
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our holiday at the Hotel Erato was great. We really enjoyed the fact that it was a small hotel with a family like atmosphere. The Somaras family made us feel really welcome. The great home cooked meals completed the picture. The rooms where simpel but very clean. The hotel is centrally located and close to the sea. My partner and I had a great time here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leontien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I was in hotel erato with my friend 11th until 18th in june. Hotel was very nice and clean we enjoyed a lot!!!! Specially the pool party and the greek nights were amazing... The staff was very friendly!!! We want come back next year!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giedre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I love Greece so much and I have been many times there in different places and hotels!
Erato hotel is one of the best hotels which represents real and natural life of Greece!
Friendly atmosphere and quite place for having vocations with your family! You will feel there like at home!
Thank you all for your friendly attitude and professional service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alina0107S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our experience seems to have been very similar to that of celiah h. We were also give a shabby room up five flights of stairs with no lifts in the hotel and we are both over 60 too, though they couldn't have known that beforehand, of course. Also, they don't seem used to the idea of people arriving by plane after midnight. There is no night reception and we arrived to find the hotel closed with a note pinned to the door giving us a number to ring.

The staff were very friendly and helpful however, and the food was good if a little unvaried, so don't rule this hotel out. Noisy air-conditioning unit and TV with a single English language channel.

We seemed to be the only Anglophone guests. Decent beach is a good 15-20 minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

A warm, friendly, family run hotel where the staff take an interest and are always there to help. Good accommodation and facilities representing very good value for money. The pool is very attractive and, though close to the road, is quiet since there isn’t a great deal of traffic. The buffet breakfast is delightful; the choices available will manage to suit everyone. The busy season buffet dinner is excellent and, again will provide everyone with sufficient choices. The hotel is located very conveniently for the airport at Heraklion and is ideally situated for visiting that city, Knossos, Phaistos and indeed all of the eastern end of Crete. Thoroughly recommended! We stayed in May 2011 and the following September.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwilym_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We had a very good holiday in this little hotel
A very friendly atmosphere , good food really home made
Don't miss the Greek night !
A quiet place but close to bus station to the city , very usefull to avoid trafic and parking problems in Heraklion

G Varvello

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gournes Pediados
1.4 mi away
Marilisa Hotel
Marilisa Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#6 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
48 reviews
37.6 mi away
Hotel Zafiria
Hotel Zafiria
#10 of 17 in Matala
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kri Kri Village Holiday Apartments
Kri Kri Village Holiday Apartmen...
#3 of 8 in Gournes Pediados
43 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Themis Beach
Hotel Themis Beach
#8 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erato Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erato Hotel

Property: Erato Hotel
Address: Gournes pediados | 71500 - Heraklion - Crete, Gournes Pediados, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gournes Pediados
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gournes Pediados
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Erato Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Erato is built in traditional Cretan style, recently renovated and offers the Cretan hospitality and warmth, quality of service and food. Double: bathroom with shower, telephone, radio, hairdryer, Air-Condition, Sat-TV & safety-box(extra-supplement), balcony or veranda. Single: same as double but with window or terrace. Facilities-services: Restaurant, bar, pool-veranta, swimming-pool, roofgarden, playground, internet-station, table-tennis, Pets not allowed, sandy-beach in 800m, Aquarium in 500m. Credit-cards: AMEX-VISA-MASTER. Rates on halfboard basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erato Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erato Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing