We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Relaxing”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for 1 week mid/end Sept. self-catering. Had read reviews and totally agree with reports of friendly staff. Never before have we had staff waiting on the steps to welcome us & wave us off at the end of the holiday. Irania, Yasmin, Effi, Natasha, the two waiters whose names we never found out (the funny one & the quiet one) & the cleaners were all lovely and made us feel at home. The room was basic but had everything we needed, although in the kitchen area the cupboards were too high for me, being a 'shorty'. The bed was a bit hard but not too bad. We always had plenty of hot water in the shower. Towels changed regularly. A few yards from our room was the pool & snack bar which served a good English breakfast and I also tried the yoghurt & honey 1 morning which was nice as well. Our room (401) was opposite the bar area so it could be a bit noisy late at night - but if you can't beat 'em - join 'em. The food at the restaurant was fantastic - I echo a previous review stating that the mousakka was the best that I have ever tasted, and my husband agreed. We did try the Ambrosia one night for a change & that was good as well, but eating at the on-site restaurant was so convenient and my husband would have been happy to eat there every night.- we never ordered a dessert as the main meals were so generous & they always bring a complimentary dessert to share& glass of raki (or 2) at the end. We had lovely weather - 26 - 28 degs. every day - some days were a bit windy though, which seemed to make the sea a bit rougher & colder. We didn't pay for air-con as the room was comfortably warm in the night so not needed. It was lovely to sit on the terrace outside our room & look the sea about 30 yards away. It only took 5 mins. to walk to the sandy areas which were never overcrowded, although in August it may be a different matter. There isn't much in Gournes, although we knew that before we booked. As long as I've got the sun, sea & sand I'm happy. There were plenty of places to eat on the seafront, and 2 little supermarkets selling basics, although I have to say that the staff in both were quite miserable and didn't want to engage in any conversation, which was a bit of a shock as we normally find people in the Greek Islands very friendly & chatty, even taking into consideration the language barrier - smiles cost nothing. The area lacked 1 or 2 gift shops, but maybe the couple of empty shops were gift shops at one time. We booked with Thomsons for the Spinalonga trip - my main reason for visiting Crete, quite expensive at 59 euros each. Very enjoyable, although a bit rushed, as these trip usually are. The trip incorporated a barbecue on a quiet beach - be warned - the beach was rubbish - a clamber over rocks & then a horrible, dirty beach with hard sand. Wish we'd caught the local bus & had more time on Spinalonga. Also caught the local bus to Heraklion & then visited Knossos. The bus stop is a good 20 mins. walk but at least gives you the option to see more of Crete if you are unable to hire a car. We had a night flight home, so we didn't need to leave the hotel until 7 pm. We didn't pay to keep the room later as we found that the courtesy room had everything we needed - showers, toilets, electric points, mirrors & towels. All-in-all, an enjoyable, relaxing holiday with the friendliest staff ever.

Room Tip: Room 401 (ground floor) was convenient for everything, with sea view from terrace but could get a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fussySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    77
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
113
86
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I can only confirm that all of the glowing comments from previous reviews are correct. The staff, the cleanliness, the restaurant - way beyond our expectations.

It was like going back in time - Gournes doesn't have a lot to offer - no noisy bars - no night clubs, just a handful of lovely bars and restaurants. The only drawbackbeing there isn't a beach as such, just a few sandy areas populated with sunbeds by the bar owners - the bonus being you only have to buy a couple of drinks to avoid paying!

We stayed for 1 week from 1st - 8th October - their last week and we were fascinated by the care and attention to the gardens, the cleaning and storing of furniture etc for the "winter".

Can't recommend it highly enough for value for money, peace and tranquility and a taste of how Crete used to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Mellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks 12th - 26th September 2013. Fabulous accommodation, staff couldn't do enough for us, even the cleaners were wonderful. Food great, we alternated with other tavernas along the road. We did the Jeep Safari which was just amazing and I learned so much about Crete from our lovely guide. The lunch was to die for, well worth the money this trip. Weather was exceptional 31 degrees every day. Great value and so clean. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We originally had a pool view room, but the first night being very tired after being up since 3am tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Impressed from the moment we got off the bus, Yani and Yasmin came out to greet us. Nothing too much trouble, rooms spacious,clean and well equipped compared to some we have stayed in. Kettle, toaster, microwave and also spare bedding if needed. Also to our surprise there was a couple of terry towelling bathrobes.
Food in restaurant is excellent and also food in pool bar throughout the day. we alternated between here and the Ambrosia Taverna further down the strip. Also very good and similar in price. We paid 30 euros to keep our room until the evening we left [glad we did] as it was a chilly day.Excellent bus service and very good fare prices. We visited Herkalion, Malia, Heresonioss by local bus and walked into Gouves and the other little village also about a 15-20 min walk. The aquariam is a few minutes walk around the coast road and is well worth a visit and is open until 9pm until end of September, good value at 6 euros.
The local area is abit of a let down but, all in all i would return here and as i said its so easy to get around.
We also went to the Saturday market in Herkalion on the bus and then got a taxi from the bus station{4.50 euros} but if we knew where it was could have walked there, we did walk back!
Found it very hot and noisey but def an experience lol.
Sunbeds on the small beaches appeared to be free if you bought a drink from the nearby cafes/bars.
This hotel is on the flight path into Herkalion and planes are VERY frequent day and night so if this bothers you perhaps not the place for you - i can ignore them!!

Room Tip: room 106 although up alot of steps has a lovely seaview and of surrounding area. sleeps upto four pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannygrotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We can thoroughly recommend the Golden Bay Studios and Apartments. We had a studio for 2 at the beginning of September 2013. It was the typical Greek studio with twin beds, a kitchenette and a shower room (small but adequate) but we also had an electric kettle, a toaster, a TV receiving BBC World News and a microwave. There was a phone, a hair drier and even bath robes. The studios and apartments were grouped around a pool, pool bar and reception area. Immediately outside across a small road is the sea. There was always hot water, the bins were emptied daily and the towels and linen changed 3 times a week and there were always toilet rolls. We shared a balcony overlooking the sea with 2 other studios. This had a table and 2 comfortable cane chairs. The ‘hotel’ also has its own Taverna. The staff were the friendliest and most helpful we have ever met in all our 24 holidays in Greece. Nothing was too much trouble – they set out to make your holiday enjoyable and stress free. We were self catering but were offered half board for €15 per person for a minimum of 5 days which is probably a good buy if you like a full English breakfast and 3 course dinner every day. Air conditioning was available at €8 per day which we didn’t use but would probably be needed in July and August. The hotel accepted Credit Cards for this type of expense and also for meals and Greek Nights. They also exchanged cash and travellers cheques, There was free WiFi in the reception area and cash in the slot Internet access.
We chose to eat at Golden Bay as there was a good menu and the prices were much the same as the other Tavernas (a main course being about €8+ and ½ litre of local wine €4 or an Amstel at €3). We were rewarded with the ouzo and cake at the end of meals.

The hotel is on the very edge of Gournes. The area is relatively quiet. There are 5 other Tavernas within a ten minute stroll, 2 small ‘supermarkets’ and several café/bars. There are also several small sandy beaches within 10 minutes some with beds and parasols free if you buy drinks.

The hotel is under the landing flight path for the airport so planes come in low but we found this more interesting than a nuisance. There was sometimes a wind but this came as a relief in the heat. The only down side is the 15 minute walk up to the main road to catch a bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian365_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Golden bay apartments from the 30th of August till the 13th of September, We had a very good idea of what the hotel and area would be like from the reviews we read on here but feel the information was not all as helpful as it could be. The area is quiet but certainly not as bad as people make out.. there are about 10 Tavernier's on the strip and two supermarkets and the hotel does provide very good food too, we decided to go half board at 30 Euro's a day in total for the both of us and this was due to the price of meals in the travernas which were very expensive we had a two course meal in Ambrosias with only one drink and that cost us 65 Euro's and the food was no different from the hotel.
We spent everyday at the beach which runs right along the front of the hotel and all the bars have there own section of beach which give you free use of sun beds and umbrella if you purchase a drink.. we chose the ice bar and went there everyday due to the two amazing girls that served you they really were lovely and very kind we miss them very much! we had our lunch and drinks served to us everyday without even getting up from our sunbeds it was absolutely wonderful! The beach is lovely and the water so clear! From Monday to Wednesday the beach is nice and quiet and gets a little busier near to the weekend with mainly locals using the beach. the weather was perfect and very hot!
On one occasion we went to kokini hani but this really was a waste of time as it was very run down and had not much but two large supermarkets as we had no intention of making any food we didn't need to worry about that. we also went to Hersonissos as I have been here before and know it is very lively and full of hundreds of bars and restaurants but this cost us 50 Euro's in a taxi in total! The bus stop is too far and not a very nice walk and late at night not well lit at all if you have the option of hiring a car then you will have nothing to worry about as you can easily get to stalis and hersonissos very nice locations.
The hotel staff really are amazing everyone of them! Unfortunately we were both unwell for two days on holiday and couldn't have been in a better place they really looked after us and bought our dinner up to our room at no extra cost, all we had to do was call reception.
We most definitely will return to the golden bay and probably many times it really suited us we like to feel secure when we are on holiday and do not like a loud and drunken environment as we do not drink very much. Thank you to all the staff at the Golden Bay see you soon x

Room Tip: we had a room above the restaurant which we were very satisfied with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Its our third time in Crete and we wanted somnewhere quieter. Gounes certainly is quiet compared to the surrouing areas. It certainly isn't Malia. Actually it is the more authentic Crete but if you like your nightlife, then you will be disappointed. But if you want a quiet, no hassle break then you couldn't pick a better place. The staff are great, from the service at reception and the pool bar to the local on-site taverna - the staff can't do enough for you.

Rooms are variable in size and strangely for Crete feature a rather small shower rather than a wet room. A couple of the rooms are effectively in a basement and some don't have a balcony, others have excellent views of the pool and a couple have a sea view. Towels and bed linen is changed regularly and they even clean the room on a Sunday. Kitchen facilities are quite basic and difficult to cook a meal but adequate for breakfast/lunch. The local on-site taverna is very good and if self-catering you could upgrade to half-board for 15e per day. It's a restricted menu but very good value and good quality food. Room safe is 20e per week and the air conditioning 56e per week. Be careful with the air con though because the outlet may be in the lounge rather than the bedroom. The beds are quite hard.

Its about a 20-30 minute transfer which means that you are directly on the flight path but on a good day you can watch the planes landing in Heraklion (next large bay along). There are two local shops selling basic items otherwise its a trek to the Spar in Kokhini Hani, about half hour if walking. Regarding the local area, you are right on the sea (rather than the beach) with Gouves to the right and Kokhini Hani to the left. Both have a wider choice of shops and restaurants but are far more commercialised as well as having the constant sound of mopeds and quad bikes - young Brits abroad eh! To see the local area it may be worth hopping on the land train. It winds its way around the areas mentioned and costs 9e. It takes about an hour and a quarter but its a good way to familiarise yourself with the local area.

If you like the beach then the closest one is about 200m to the left. The girl at Alva Bar is great and if you buy a drink you have free use of the sunbeds. She doesn't pester you to buy more drinks either. There is a cooling breeze from the sea, some may call it windy though.
If you don't want to eat on site then there is a good local taverna Ambrosia about 300m away, apart from that its a walk or taxi ride into Kokhini Hani. It takes about 20-30 minutes if walking, or around 9e by taxi.
In summary a quiet location, great for a week's relaxing break.
I hope that this posting is helpful to you.

Room Tip: The pool views are fine but there is piped music playing from around 8.am until midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MyKey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gournes Pediados
0.2 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
20.6 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel
Golden Bay Hotel
#24 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#8 of 90 in Malia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Apartments

Property: Golden Bay Apartments
Address: Gournes Pediados, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gournes Pediados
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gournes Pediados
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com so you can book your Golden Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bay Apartments Hotel Gournes Pediados
Golden Bay Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing