We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden bay apartments”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gournes Pediados
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Golden bay has no faults. The apartment was nice spacious and clean. Pool lovely. Bar and staff brilliant. And if eating out go to the ambrosia The guy their catered for 11 of us lol he took all our orders and drinks without writing em down and everything was remembered. And food their was awesome

Pavlos in golden bay is brill. He will probably tell you he loves you lol but he's cool and you got stu. Who's very gay. Was even comparing my wife's makeup. But he's funny

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew1974wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Golden Bay Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 284 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went for a week with some friends (all of us in our fifties) on a half-board basis and had a really good time. Accommodation was spacious and clean and the food was very good. But it is the staff who deserve a special mention, as each and everyone was polite, friendly, helpful and conscientious in their work. Rania, who seemed to run the hotel, was brilliant and bravely tried to encourage us to learn a few Greek words throughout our stay and got us to join in with the dancing on a "Greek Night" that she organised! She always looked after guests and waved people off at the end of their holiday - we even saw people giving her hugs of appreciation.
There are beaches, taverns and places of interest within walking distance and a very good bus service into Heraklion. We hired a car for a few days from a business a few hundred yards away at a good price and were well placed to explore other parts of the island.
Wi-Fi Internet access was available for free but performed very badly for some reason. Our holday rep was awful - but that has nothing to do with the hotel. Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Crete and will certainly not be the last.

The apartments are very clean and all the staff were so nice. Not a lot of entertainment on but we weren't there to party we just wanted to chill by the pool and go for sunset walks by the sea. The beach is clean and a short walk from the apartments. There are a few bars and restaurants along the beach front and these were all great. Food is great value and very good quality.

We hired a car for a week and went out and about to places like Agios Nikolaos and across the mountains to the hippy beach on the other side. A wise investment for us was a lonely planet guide of Crete. We would plan our next day trip chilling at the bar the night before.

This is no party town and appears to be a little run down in parts of the town. This also means that prices are low for food and drinks. If you want relaxed this is the place for you. The taverna at the apartments is excellent and was a regular haunt of ours. We will definitely return to here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sloanie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

golden bay is very lovely place to relax, we are a young couple just wanting to chill and this was the perfect place bus stop not that far to go into surrounding towns, food there is excellent ate there every nite for the 2 weeks we were there, staff couldnt do more to help place is so nice and clean. we stayed there in may 2012 and was fab we highly recomend anyone to stay there if u looking for peice and quiet, if looking for fun and nites out not the place to go, we had fun tho and trips were grt around the island, would defo go back loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smudger433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A fantastic resort with great staff and excellent, clean facilities. A peaceful haven among northern Crete's more lively resorts, Golden Bay is 10 minute stroll from deserted beaches and excellent restaurants. Special mentions to Pavlos and Rania, who did so much to ensure we had a great time. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The beach views are spectacular, especially at sunset, so aim for a room at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

All amenities & public areas were kept very well, clean & tidy. The staff really wanted you to have a brilliant holiday. Lots of special offers in bar & restaurant/taverna (comfy not posh). We were staying in the hotel's last week of the season so a few little jobs needed attention but they were dealt with promptly when mentioned. The resort is very quiet so not for clubbers!! We enjoyed eating at GB as well as The Albatross Taverna (on lane up to main road) & The Ambrosia (order kleftico or stifado in advance to avoid disappointment). Fresh fish available at all tavernas (just ask to see the selection of the day). 3 course inc drinks for E30 quite do-able!! Short walk to Cretaquarium and along the front to Gourves (East) or Kokkhini Chani (West) where we found The Anatolyan Patisserie (yummy cakes & icecream made on site). Near airport so transfers short but you can wave at the pilots!! Not the hotel's fault or 24/7, you've been warned. We had a trip by public bus to Heraklion & Knossos. Both worth it. Have fun.

Room Tip: Choose a 1st floor room so you could leave window open for air if you don't want to pay for airc...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suemcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

From the moment you arrive you are greeted with a warm welcome and hospitality you can expect from a favourite aunt. All the staff are committed to making you feel at home while you are on holiday. The rooms are spacious, clean and the complex has a family run feel to it. If you can afford to then get the option for air con as it got really hot at night! The taverna on site has the best menu and food quality on the beach front and is regulary visited by residents of other hotels and also locals. The option to upgrade to half board is highly recommended. Its advisable to hire a car which can be done a short walk away as the resort is secluded from main activities and attractions, however one of the best aquariums you can ever visit can be walked to from the hotel(about 15 to 20 mins). It was 12 euros each. Your holiday advisor visits the site twice a day and we booked the trip to spinalonga which included an ocean swim and bbq and we highly recommend it. Its a full day out so if you decide to do just one excursion then pick this one as you get to see the beautiful scenery of crete on the coach and then the boat and get a bit of history and then swim in the crystal clear ocean. Book this hotel and enjoy! Sam and Paul

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gournes Pediados
20.6 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel
Golden Bay Hotel
#25 of 58 in Heraklion
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.2 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bay Malia
Golden Bay Malia
#41 of 90 in Malia
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Apartments

Address: Gournes Pediados, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gournes Pediados
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gournes Pediados
Price Range: $54 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Golden Bay Apartments Hotel Gournes Pediados
Golden Bay Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing