We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
CheapTickets
Traveluro
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,423)
Filter reviews
1,423 results
Traveler rating
383
498
319
129
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
383
498
319
129
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews denali national park main lobby on site visitor center shops and restaurants park entrance building shuttle tours pits land river mountains miles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 1,423 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay of three nights here at the resort. Walking to the various buildings is a challenge for many but transportation is provided continually. We didn’t mind the hills as it gave us a chance to exercise and work up an appetite for the delicious food served in Canyon Steakhouse. We also enjoyed a couple of breakfasts, served buffet style, at Karstens Public House.
We attended the Music of Denali dinner show. Guests are seated at long tables which accommodated about a dozen diners. Food was served family style - platters of items which are passed from guest to guest. The salad was overdressed and soggy with limp, tasteless leaves of iceberg lettuce. Biscuits were good. There were two proteins - beef brisket and salmon - which were okay. Lima beans and corn were the veggies. For $70 per person I expected better food especially since other restaurants on the property provided such excellent fare. The show was cute.

We appreciated the shuttle buses provided to transport guests to Denali National Park.
Fortunately, the weather was excellent and we were able to spend most of our time outdoors in Denali Park. Had we experienced inclement weather it would have been a bit boring. There really wasn’t much provided to do at the resort. There are various little shops but they could be visited in about forty-five minutes.
The grounds were well maintained. Housekeeping was a little slow on the first day. We were out of our room at 5:15 in the morning to go on an excursion. They didn’t get cleaned by the time we returned around lunch time.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank GECG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful Views, clean rooms. Try the Carson Steakhouse best steak i ever had. Priced high. Then again Alaska is expensive. I enjoyed my rime there the Chalet is owned by Holland America. It is a delightful place& i would go back there again. A wonderful view of Denali& great gift shops. Also a Starbucks in lobby area. I give the McKinley Chalet a 10. Just the View is worth the stay. Just loved it there.

Date of stay: September 2017
2  Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

We stayed here as a part of a land/sea tour with Holland America. We had a room in the Cottonwood building, which is one of the larger lodge buildings. The resort is set on a nice wooded site with the river along one side. You definitely get a wilderness feeling when onsite near the rooms. The property is quite large, but they do a good job of breaking crowds down into smaller zones throughout the property. The main lodge is pretty busy, but still nice. There is a small "commercial/restaurant" area at the center of the property that has several restaurants and shops, and nice outdoor seating areas around outdoor fireplaces for a nice finish to your evening. The rooms are comfortable, but not overly elaborate, and were clean. There is a small commercial area across from the hotel that is open seasonally, with shops, restaurants, and tour companies. Very well located for exploring Denali National Park and the surrounding virtually untouched mountains. Exceeded expectations.

Room tip: You might try for a room facing the river
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wohlerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a Holland America cruise. There are a variety of different accommodations, and we stayed in the Canyon Lodge, which was very nice. The resort is fairly large and has a significant elevation change between some buildings, but they have a shuttle that can be used. They have multiple restaurants and an outdoor gathering area with fire pits and entertainment. There are many other businesses within walking distance, so you aren't captive to the resort.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Mckinley Chalet Resort on a recent trip to Alaska. First of all this place caters primarily to Holland America cruisers and Princess cruisers. This has helped them to be extremely service oriented and organized. While we were not part of a cruisetour, When we got there our paperwork was ready for us along with an information packet, just like the cruisers. So check in was a breeze. They complex is very large including restaurants and retail. They have shuttles that go around the resort until midnight every night. They offer shuttles to the various activities in the area. They even have several full time employees whose only job is coordinating transportation for the guests. The room was a 2 room suite. They were both kind of small, but adequate. They have a laundry room for guests, which we used. This came in handy. The resort is across the street from many shops and restaurants if you are looking for something outside the resort. Very convenient.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews