We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,423)
Filter reviews
1,423 results
Traveler rating
383
498
319
129
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
383
498
319
129
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews denali national park main lobby on site visitor center shops and restaurants park entrance building shuttle tours pits land river mountains miles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 1,423 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2017

The resort is spread out with rooms in a number of different buildings, but a shuttle bus connects everything and runs frequently. The rooms are comfortable. There are several restaurants and the food was good. The staff was the best. When we had a problem with a side trip we planned they went out of their way to find us a solution. The resort is big but busy with tour groups, so independent travelers might have to book well ahead.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jaymat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

Had to take the shuttles to get anywhere. No WiFi except in the main lodge. Staff were slow and not enthused about helping. The local establishments across the high way were the highlight. Some great shops and resturants.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

The McKinley Chalet Resort is part of the Westmark Hotels, the group of hotels in Alaska and the Yukon Territory that is owned by Holland America which is a division of the vertically-integrated travel operator, Carnival Corporation.

After traveling all day on Holland America’s McKinley Explorer train, we were bused to the resort in Denali Canyon near the banks of the Nenana River which was under 2 miles from the entrance to Denali National Park.

Room assignments were handled efficiently. Packets were handed out as we alighted from our motor coach. The packets contained room keys and tickets for the excursions and events we'd paid for. Luggage was transferred for us. We never had to handle it.

Since the property was very large, we took the shuttle to the bottom of the hill to our assigned room in the U Building. We were shocked to find only one large bed in our suite. I’d researched the hotel beforehand and noticed the shortage of two-bed rooms so I had my travel agent call the property and specify two beds in a first-floor room. The failure to deliver a two-bed room precipitated a call to the front desk that was met with “we’re nearly full; but, we’ll see what we can do.” Since I’ve found that problem resolution goes better if one shows up in person, we took the next shuttle up to the front desk in the main lodge. And, for our wait, we were given vouchers for free beverages at Grizzly Grind, the coffee shop in the lobby. After 5 minutes, a suite with two beds was miraculously found. They handled the transfer of luggage to Building I which was a few buildings behind the main lodge. The room was on the second floor; but, since we didn’t have to handle our own luggage, it was okay.

After inspecting the new room, we were ready for a meal. There were two choices for walk-in service ~ Karstens Public House or Canyon Steakhouse. We chose Canyon Steakhouse because it was closest to our building and in the main lodge. We had a full breakfast there on our last day.

We also ordered box lunches for $15.00 for our 8-hour Tundra Wilderness Tour in Denali National Park & Preserve. Each had several packaged snacks, a sandwich, an apple, and a bottle of water. We had breakfast from there on that morning.

We also attended the Music of Denali show at the Gold Nugget Saloon which also featured an all-you-can-eat feast of salmon and BBQ. The show was excellent.

Although the food from all three restaurants was a bit pricey, it was very good. We had no complaints.

Once we got past the initial problem, we were pleased with our room. It was well-maintained. It was clean. Everything worked. The beds were comfortable enough.

The front desk staff was always courteous and helpful during our three day stay.

The onsite gift shop had typical souvenirs such as refrigerator magnets and key rings, plus some very nice things in the jewelry and clothing lines. I got a refrigerator magnet, a cord necklace with pendant of two plasticized aspen leaves ~ one antique gold, the other rust. I later bought a thin silvertone bangle bracelet with two charms ~ a bald eagle and the state of Alaska.

Besides the onsite shuttle, there were shuttles to the Wilderness Access Center of Denali and the Denali Visitor Center, the main park visitor center.

We rate the McKinley Chalet Resort at 4.0. We can recommend it to others.

If you found this review helpful, please click THANK below.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
15  Thank Maurene_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

We stayed at this lodge on the Holland America tour...it was just lovely. The rooms were rustic, but fit in well with the location. Loved the dinner in Karsten's. Service was excellent. Fit the Holland America excellence standard.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We visited this lodge as part of a land-sea tour with Holland America. Our facility was on the lower level and worked well for us as we didn't mind the hilly area or the walks to the main lodge. The lower lodge was clean and provided great service. We really enjoyed the live music and the gas fireplaces for those times when it was a little chilly.

One of our fellow travelers was lucky enough to see a moose on the nature walk that winds around the lower level.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews