We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Booking.com
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,423)
Filter reviews
1,423 results
Traveler rating
383
498
319
129
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
383
498
319
129
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews denali national park main lobby on site visitor center shops and restaurants park entrance building shuttle tours pits land river mountains miles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 1,423 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge as part of our holland American land tour. We were assigned the main lodge area. It was convenient to all the early morning tours. Our room was nice with a sitting room, a bathroom, and a bedroom with a twin bed and a full bed. The beds were comfortable. The drapes were dark enough to block the midnight sun. The room did have a musty smell. We did not like that the sink area was in the bedroom. My husband is an early riser and that was disturbing. All of the staff was very friendly. The lobby had a gift shop, a restaurant, and a Starbucks. Beware the Starbucks line before tours is very long and slow, go early so you can have your coffee before touring. If going on the Denali tour- my husband and I could easily have split the box lunch. And eat it early it was getting soggy. Overall we loved our stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank yarnluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017

We stayed at the McKinley Chalet resort as part of the Holland American land tour (FYI Holland America owns the resort). We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the resort. It is in a beautiful location along the Nenana River and less than two miles from the entrance to Denali Park. The property is very expansive with the main lodge and a number of smaller buildings. Our room was good size and comfortable with a nice view of the surrounding forests. It was clean, comfortable and well maintained. There were laundry facilities which was nice. We walked to Denali Square and the main lodge area but if you do not want to walk there is a shuttle around the property. At Denali Square there are stores and restaurants as well as the evening "Music of Denali" dinner show. Fire pits with seating around them offer a nice area to relax in the evening. This is certainly a five star experience. From the main lodge you can also get the free shuttle to the Denali Park Visitor Center. The staff was accommodating and friendly. The architecture and layout of the complex was very much in keeping with the location and it blended in nicely with the rustic location. Hopefully we will return in the future and plan to stay here again - we loved it.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 062843
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017

This property is owned by Holland America and is used for clients on Land and Sea Journeys. We stayed 3 nights here prior to a cruise.
The property was very nice, new and clean. The buildings all have a great Alaska feel and you never felt like you were at a resort.
Denali Square was a great place to hang out by the fire, listen to music and have dinner and drinks.
Our building was located next to the river. It was nice to walk down and explore or just listen to the water at night. Our room was clean and had plenty of space.

I only have a couple complaints: the same musician every night played at Denali Square. He was good but some variety for those of us staying longer would've been nice. Breakfast was not that great--very average buffet.

All things considered we had a great stay here and it was a great home base for exploring Denali. I highly recommend over some of the more crowded and touristy resorts in the area!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hdtoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Great place to stay and enjoy Wild Alaska with day trips to the park (8 hour bus ride), or longer term hiking and wilderness tours. On a clear day you can be one of the 30% who get to see Mount Denali (renamed from Mount McKinley)

Room tip: Anything along the river is great for sleeping with the windows open to hear the water.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

What a joy this was! Located on a bluff overlooking the river and an impressive schist formation which gives the area the name "Glitter Gulch", this was a great complex of lodging, restaurants, cafes, and live music. It is directly across from Denali shopping and a short bus ride to the park, to the visitor center and to an excellent sled dog demonstration.the walk down the hill to the river is steep but worth it. Beautiful rocks and a rafting put in right there. The staff was beyond belief. One of our party took hard fall down the stairs at a local restaurant and the McKinley staff came to the rescue! They got the local clinic opened well after hours, got a PA to respond, and made sure everything was OK. They followed up with us many times each day to confirm that our injured friend was fine and they transported her around the grounds personnally when she wanted to go out. They really cared and we appreciate it.

Room tip: Room was perfect. Quiet and plenty of cool mountain air.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jlmVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews