We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,423)
Filter reviews
1,423 results
Traveler rating
383
498
319
129
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
383
498
319
129
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews denali national park main lobby on site visitor center shops and restaurants park entrance building shuttle tours pits land river mountains miles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 1,423 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2017

I think other reviews are a bit harsh on this property. You're in Denali! You're there to enjoy the surroundings and be as active as possible! Accordingly, lack of air-conditioning and wi-fi weren't big annoyances to me. The location is great. You'll find great restaurants across the street (Prospector's Pizza! Yum!) and Karsten's in Denali Square had good food too. It's also very close to the Park's main entrance where there are several trail heads and where you can hop on the buses to go into to the park. The customer service did leave something to be desired. There was rarely someone staffing the desk at Canyon Lodge and the people at the front desk at the Main Lodge couldn't answer many questions about the park in my experience.

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank megehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, General Manager at McKinley Chalet Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your overall stay, exploring the Park and beautiful area. I'm sorry that the Desk team was unable to answer specific Park questions. If you have more details, we would love to address them in training with our team. The Canyon Lodge does not actually have a staffed desk in the lobby. The service desks on property are located in Denali Square in Windy Corner and in the main lodge. Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope you had a marvelous AK vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017

Nice, clean, comfortable room but lets face it, if you are less than 10 minutes away from Denali, you will not be spending too much time in room. The grounds were well kept, you have a river right outside your door. If you are there as part of the Holland America sea/land tour, then your luggage comes straight to your room and are picked up when you check out, nice benefit. Your evenings are enjoyable hanging out by the fire pits, sipping wine and listening to live music.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wintersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, General Manager at McKinley Chalet Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your AK adventure. Safe travels!

Tracy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

We stayed here as part of a Holland American tour. The out building we were in (Q) was two stories with no elevators. You need to either walk or take an on-site bus to get to the main building where all the action is. The rooms are rustic but there is no air conditioning. Fortunately for us the weather was great during our visit but it did make the rooms warm and stuffy. We used the small room fan but it wasn't great and the rooms were a little dark. It was fine because we weren't spending much time in the room....we were there to see Denali and it was a quick bus ride to get over to the park. The bathrooms were large and pretty modern with a separate area for the sink which really helped when we were trying to get ready in the a.m. The service at the front desk was friendly but definitely pushed us to eat on-property. The grounds were lovely and very clean. We enjoyed our 2 night stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank floridadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, General Manager at McKinley Chalet Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I hope you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed some of the many offerings on property, including Denali Square's live music, artist in residence and fireside experience. We enjoy telling guests about our dining venues as we are proud to serve Alaska-sourced product, fresh Alaska seafood and delightful culinary treats in both Karstens and Canyon Steakhouse. I hope that your experience reflected our desire to provide memories for years to come.
Safe travels!

Tracy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

We took the train from Anchorage. When we arrived they said the bags would be brought to the hotel. We checked in and went to the room and our bags were there! Service was awesome! Room was very nice and the setting is jaw dropping. We were down by the river and it was peaceful. It is a large property but they have free shuttles every 10 minutes or so. Close to everything and free shuttles back to the train and they again took care of the bags right from our room. Although we didn't eat at the restaurant it looked like many people were enjoying it. Music every day and outdoor fire with smoores!

Room tip: Room down by the river was quiet and beautiful!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garya305
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

Dropped by tour bus at main lobby. Took on-property shuttle to the Chalet Lodge building. Elevator service needs work as the indicator lights don't show correct flood and door on right side elevator is very slow to close. Room was clean and comfortable but dated. Low-flush toilet noisy and toilet seat not properly attached. No AC provided. Fortunately there was an overhead fan that helped. Slept with window open and room darkening drapes closed. However, drapes didn't completely close. Mattress very comfortable. No internet in room. Had to go to main lobby or the Marketplace Square to use it. No lotion provided.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank bobsV2461PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews