We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Booking.com
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,423)
Filter reviews
1,423 results
Traveler rating
383
498
319
129
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
383
498
319
129
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews denali national park main lobby on site visitor center shops and restaurants park entrance building shuttle tours pits land river mountains miles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 1,423 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2016

We stayed for a night last Labor Day weekend and had a lovely time at the resort. Check in was quick and easy, and the front desk staff was very nice. Driving through the resort was a little confusing the first time but we found our room soon enough.

We were given a suite in the O building near the river - no river views but the mountain views were spectacular. The area was quiet and no sounds from the highway can be heard. The suite was well decorated and lovely; and the bed was comfortable. The pillows could be a little bigger but they had good support. Bathroom was a little dated but it was very clean. TVs were available in the living and bedroom.

Breakfast at Karsten's was good and the wait staff was friendly. I loved the interior decor of the restaurant. The outdoor landscaping was also pretty, with fire pits, decks, flowers, etc. Plenty of seating around the stage, where there's a live act at night. Everything was great, you wouldn't want to leave this place. I highly recommend this resort over the Princess Lodge that's a block away.

Room tip: O Building suite was pretty so try to get that.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JSJAK907
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

The lobby and outside look of this hotel are very nice but the rooms are extremely average!
There are a bunch of different buildings with 40ish rooms each that have no elevators and are far away from the lobby. I understand that there's a shuttle but I never saw it. I only saw people walking and walking and walking!
We booked a king but were given a queen + twin. It wasn't a huge deal and they gave us 4 drink vouchers, but still.
The room wasn't too impressive and quite small. The shower in the bathroom leaked all over the floor because the ledge wasn't high enough and the curtain was too short. Bad planning right there!

I would be extremely disappointed if we had paid over $300 for this room, which I understand is the price for peak season. We got it for less than half because it's close to end of season.

If we were to come again, I would look into the cute little cabins I saw all over the area.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JustinT2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

This is located at the entrance to the park. We spent one night here because the train from anchorage got in too late to take the bus to Kantishna Roadhouse, our destination. It is a big place owned by one of the cruise companies. Our room was small, It smelled of cheap air freshener and stale cigarettes. There is no smoking in the rooms, but this room hadn't been redone for decades, and it still smelled. We opened the tiny window at the back and front to try to get the smell out. We had reserved a queen bed. We got a double bed. They also couldn't find our luggage for quite awhile. It is delivered from the train to the hotel, and it got waylaid for a few hours. The restaurant is pretty good and the service is friendly. We would not stay here again. it really needs to be refurbished.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 970wendyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, General Manager at McKinley Chalet Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry that you had a less than enjoyable experience.
Room refurbishment is a process that takes quite some one, especially at a seasonal property. We have been working on refurbishments and improvements since taking ownership in late 2013. We currently have over 3/4 of the rooms refurbished or refreshed and look forward to completing the rest in the coming years.
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your experience in your room. We try to meet the bed requests, but sometimes are unable to meet every request made during sold out periods. We try to provide the next best option, but I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations.

I also apologize that it took us so long to deliver your luggage. It can be a long process of delivery bags to 400+ guest rooms, but we do try to expedite the process as much as possible. We will review with our team to ensure we are following processes and procedures to ensure we reduce our negative impact.
We appreciate your feedback so that we can continually improve, and inhopenthatnthenrwst of your Alaska vacation was full of adventure and happy memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Large resort so close to the park entrance. The resort does provide a efficient shuttle around the resort. The rooms are nice with a separate living room. Flowers were gorgeous. We only stayed one night wish we were there longer. Didn't have a chance to enjoy the entire resort.

Room tip: we stayed in U area which was a nice location
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SilvaFamilyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

This hotel is part of the Holland America Alaskan Land+Sea cruise package. We spent two nights here in building J. Very rustic feel, like a cabin in the woods. Our rooms were a bit outdated. You are a 5 minute bus ride from Denali National Park! So very convenient. Nice shopping strip with souvenir shops across the street. Resort was definitely walk-able, but there was also a shuttle to provide transportation. Two restaurants on property as well as a cafe/coffee shop in the lobby. There is a cute gift shop attached to the main building.

Room tip: Ask for a 1st room floor if handicapped
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews