We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grande Denali Lodge
Nearby Hotels
McKinley Chalet Resort(McKinley Village)
$175
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Denali Bluffs Hotel(McKinley Village)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Perch Resort(McKinley Village)
$200
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Denali Park Village(Denali National Park and Preserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveler rating
195
278
203
81
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
278
203
81
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad signsspectacular viewsroyal caribbeanfree shuttleshuttle servicedenali lodgenorthern lightssister hoteltrain stationbus tourshopping areabox lunchesa bit priceygift shopnational parkvisitor centerglitter gulch
Filter
Updating list...
631 - 636 of 816 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Love, love, loved it! Hated to leave. Beautiful surroundings, great rooms, wonderful staff, I could go on and on! Room with a balcony was wonderful - great views of the mountains and sunrise/sunsets. Restaurant was gorgeous, breakfast buffet was very good. Will definitely stay here again when possible.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing the mountains
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012



We stayed here two nights on the land portion of a Royal Caribbean cruise tour.  I had approached staying here with some trepidation after reading decidedly critical reviews on Trip Advisor.  Unfortunately, these concerns were justified.  This property was definitely below the standard of the others on the cruise tour (Marriott Anchorage, Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, and Alyeska Resort).  It had the ambience of the hotels we stay at on I-95 en route to Florida each winter, perhaps not even as nice as some of those.

The prices for either Grab and Go items or the breakfast buffet were high, although if you want just juice, coffe, cereal, mik, and a bagel, you will do better at the cold buffet on price.  A warning as to the juice, however - I tried both the orange and apple juices at the buffet and they were watered down almost beyond recognition.  My experience with the servers was fine, as they were pleasant - but they don't have to provide much service at a buffet.  There is a small market in town, and even at Alaska prices you can do better by picking up some items there.  The box lunch sold at the Lodge is $15.00, and is nowhere near worth it.

Consider other choices if you will be visiting Denali.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank granddadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent three nights at the Grand Denali Lodge during a visit to Denali National Park during the latter part of June 2012. We found the lodge and atmosphere to be very typical of in/near national park lodging; basic rooms, good views and high prices. A bit more on each.

We had a room in the smaller lodge building overlooking the nearby valley. This building only had (I think) 16 rooms or so. The room was clean and Spartan with only the basic amenities. We travel to many national park areas and as mentioned above this type room is very common, especially in hotels that are not open year-round. We were happy with it.

The Grand Denali Lodge is located on top of Sugar Loaf Mountain well above the other hotels in the area (they are all located along the highway below this hotel.) To get to the hotel you have to drive up a winding gravel driveway ~3/4 mile. For us this was not an issue, but some who are driving may not like the road, as it was a bit rough especially after a heavy rain. Once on top of the mountain if you choose the right room you will have a view of the valley below. The view is ok, but all the other hotels and shops etc. below the mountain are in plain view so you don't really get the full landscape view you might expect. Choose the wrong room and you get to look at the parking lot and dumpster. Pay the extra for the upgrade (~$50, more on price in a bit), without the view the hotel is the same as those below the mountain.

We did eat one dinner and two breakfasts at the hotel restaurant and again typical with other lodging in and near National Parks the food was so-so and the price was high. Only place to eat however on the mountain, with a nice view so it will cost you to eat here. Again we were ok with it since we knew what to expect from other parks.

The staff was also very typical of the that found in/near other parks, inexperienced kids who wanted a summer job by the National Park who are more interested in hiking after work than really working. Again we expected this so we were ok with it.

A word on price. Location, location, location. Remember here you are paying for where the hotel is, not the quality of the hotel rooms and facilities. But….We booked 8 months in advance and booked the room with the valley view noted above. We paid an extremely high price (hate to admit it). Later found out many lower priced deals came out in late winter and early spring. We got the room we wanted but paid dearly for it, hold out and you could get rooms for 50% or more of a discount.

All in all we felt the Grand Denali Lodge was exactly what we expected (not bad, but not great) and also looked very typical of the other hotels in the area except it is located on top of the mountain. The view was ok, but not great, so if in the area again we would stay somewhere else at a slightly cheaper rate.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an upgrade to a room with a view
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PzTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Actually had reservations at the Denali Bluffs but when we were checking in we were told we had been "upgraded" (always sends chills through me--my issue is trust in some hotels, restaurants, etc.) Went to the Grand Denali. The view from the dining room and lobby was stunning. The view from our room less so except for one little bitty corner where we could see the mountains. So that was a disappointing start. The desk person was outstanding, the shuttle drivers deserve medals for their patience and driving abilities.

I read one review where they felt the food was not much to choose from. I expected this due the remoteness--what I did not expect was the level of service (outstanding) and the food was fantastic. Tasty and fresh--we had the salmon cakes as an appetizer--best ever! I felt the restaurant (with the view!) made up for the ho-hum room.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view--not one of the building behind you either.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

If a scenic view and a great location is one's desire, then look no further as this hotel delivers that in a very big way. We stayed here four nights apart..one night on way to Prudhoe Bay and one night on the way back. The room was large and pleasant. I was surprised to not find shower gels and lotions in our room. I was also surprised not to have marble or granite countertops and oversized fluffy towels. Aside from a lack of amenities, I felt this was a beautiful place to stay. The parking leaves a lot to be desired and it is a long way to carry suitcases over rocks and gravel and grass.

Room Tip: Rooms facing West provide a spectacular view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cphilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews