We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
McKinley Village
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
64
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
64
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade yogurt guest rooms camp denali gracious hosts dinner reservations excellent breakfast beds were very comfortable marianne fritz guests transportation excursions bus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 65 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed there with another couple for three nights at the end of July. Marianne's gracious hospitality and delicious breakfasts could not be topped. She is an excellent cook and also bakes muffins and cookies for guests to take with them during the day. For a very reasonable fee she even prepared us lunches to take with us for our day in Denali NP where no food is available. The bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculately clean and uncluttered with the modern trappings of the hotel industry. Everything is functional and comfortable. The beds were not piled high with unnecessary pillows, and bolsters etc of questionable hygiene that seem to exist wherever one goes nowadays. This was our third trip to Denali and the best. Marianne is an unobtrusive and very classy lady and if we return to this area in the future our dates would be determined by the availablity of a room at Deneki Lakes.
Tip: If you have special dietary needs (gluten-free or decaffeinated coffee would be good examples) one should advise Deneki Lakes ahead of time as there are no supermarkets within hundreds of miles in any direction and food availability and preparation requires considerable advanced planning on Marianne's part.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BearJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Marianne picked us up at the Denali Park Entrance. She took us to Park 229 (I think) for a great dinner. The breakfast Marianne fixed was excellent. Their home was immaculate . We were the only guest there so we had lots of privacy. We met Fritz at Camp Denali while we were there. We would definitely return there again.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank merrylandMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were extremely fortunate to have to have stayed at the Denaki Lakes B&B 7/15-7/16, after finding it on TripAdvisor. Although Fritz was away on business, Marianne was an excellent hostess. She provided all of our transportation needs right from the time she picked us up from Denali to the time she brought us back. This B&B is absolutely spotless, and is surrounded by georgous mountain scenery. We found Marianne to be very friendly and personable. She is a really nice lady. She is also a fabulous cook. Breakfasts were delicious, and the table setting was very pretty and nicely done. Some of the dishware is from her native Switzerland .She, in fact, makes many breads, muffins and other food from scratch. FYI: she also makes wonderful jellies and jams, which are available for purchase - and we did - and they are delicious. She also recommended several local places for dinner, which were really nice. The rooms were beautiful, nicely decorated and had great views of the surrounding area. Marianne and Fritz work very hard to provide a quality stay, and it was in fact very enjoyable. I would not hesitate in reccommending this B&B to anyone. It certainly is a 5 Star in our book.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdl1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were very pleased with Deneki B&B. It was very private & away from the crowds. Just a few minutes away from the Denali Park Entrance. Very good hosts & nice breakfasts. It was a little warm when we were there & could've used a fan in the evenings but otherwise a great place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cd_tx_150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

On the plus side: perfect location close to the park entrance, excellent breakfast with plenty of real good homemade stuff, comfortable lodging and Fritz a great guy to hike with in Denali. So why not "excellent" ? Because the walls between the 2 available rooms did not prevent us from hearing our neighbour snore loudly and going just as loudly to the bathroom at 02.45 and we also heard our neighbours having an early breakast (06.15) when we wanted to sleep a bit longer. Also, though really comfy, this B&B is not cosy. Perfectly clean, yes, but no atmosphere... Almost sterile with no decoration on the walls, nothing to remind us that we are in Alaska. Spick and span but where is the soul ? Asking too much ? Maybe... but then again, wjy not ?

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews