We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Resort”
Review of Golden Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Star Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Analipsi
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel was one of the funny parts of our travels through Greece.
When we arrived in Crete our taxi driver told us that our travel agency moved our hotel to the Golden Star, a much nicer hotel all inclusive hotel. So we were like great!
We got in late from our ferry, but the front desk people were nice, and the room was also good. There was a fruit basket and wine waiting for us, but we were tired so went to sleep. So the next morning start looking at our room and realizing that a lot of the information packet stuff about the hotel is in French. Well after leaving our room and everyone saying "bonjour" to us instead of "kalimera" and the ladies playing games with people outside were speaking french to everyone, that we were at a french resort, and probably the only americans there.
But that didnt matter. We still had a great time, and everyone was friendly, has a big pool with a slide, seems like a great place to go if you have a family.
the food....eh. wasnt all that great. And its kind of out there on its own, so not really near anything. The town of Analipsi is small, no night life, but has some good restaurants and nice people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your feedback and your comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 912 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at this hotel. We had a great time. We had the "all inclusive" package.

The food was very good, we had the possibility to choose between various dishes (you can eat vegetables, fruits, meat, desserts, everything you can dream of). The Staff was very friendly also. Our room had a view over the garden. It was ok, as we did not had some much sun. The swimming pool was exactly as in the pictures we saw (very nice, clean), the pool bar was always open, we could order drinks, eat cookies in the afternoon.

The only thing that was not so great is the location of the hotel: it doesn't have a proper beach, there are a lot of stones, no sand. You have to walk a while before getting to a beach where you can lay.

Overall, we really enjoyed our staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraIulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

First things first, the pictures do it justice. It is a beautiful resort which was what attracted us in the first place. On arrival (1am), we were greeted by the lovely evening receptionist who offered us a drink and sprted us out. Analypsis is very quiet and too far to walk to hersonnisos so taxis can be booked there and back (8-10euros), if you walk into the main part of analypsis (turn up as you get toward excursions shop, there are some lovely tavernas and a british bar. Lack of brits in hersonissos and analypsis - mostly french! Food at hotel poor aside from breakfast, ended up eating out most nights. Marinos the barnan couldn't be faulted, went out of his way to make everyone feel at home esp as no entertainment. Ants infested room, no manager in sight and staff "didnt" understand what we meant even after id dragged one man outside to demonstrate. French get priority, no doubt about that. 3 couples we met were sent to other hotels so rooms could be given to french guests! Cristina the bartender was also excellent! Beach is beautiful, but loungers by both pool and beach full before breakfast - the usual really! Only other downsides were no branded soft drinks or spirits, no late check out! There are some gorgeous hotels (with entertainment further down the coast (to the right towards hersonnisos) i would recommend looking there if affordable as better beaches, entertainment and cleaner looking. We did stay in july 12 so things may have changed, i hope so!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hcworsley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your feedback and your comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having breakfast near the pool, before going to the beach is the must-do when accomodated at this hotel. While eating you have a breath-taking view of the sea. The village is very quiet and you can really rest here. The staff was very friendly and helpful, always there when needed. We had a groundfloor room, spacious and clean, but i heard that those from 1st floor were even nicer.
Definitely rent a car (the rental policy is not that strict as it is in Europe) and travel along the island.
HINTS:
1. Matala beach (Ancient Caves and meeting place for hippies nowadays) - extraodinary landscapes;
2. Agios Nikolaos harbour
3. Spinalonga
4. Rethimno
5. Knosos

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inna986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your feedback and your comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Golden Star at the beggining of August 2012. Our stay in hotel was great and the people are wonderfull.
Here in Analipsi, a small village, is a place of relaxation, the sea is near, there are some mini-market near, and other restaurants.
The pool was great with a pool bar serving all day long, very kind staff and good food.
The room approximately 25 metres, big for two, with a big bathroom, very nice decorated.
The Wifi is available only at the reception free of charge.
We visit also The Spinalonga Island, Heraklion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria-Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your feedback and your comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Third time at Golden Star! Wonderful seaside hotel with great great staff. I prefer this hotel every time i visit Crete for the following reasons:
Very well maintained hotel in front of the beach
Very spacious rooms
Great staff service
Delicious food
Quiet location

Thank you Golden Star team for excellent holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your feedback and your comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visited Crete during September.The island was overcrowded so finally we were happy that we we have chosen this hotel.Golden Star is a charming hotel,not very big,with excellent staff service.Between the hotel and the beach there is a small beach road.The beach sunbeds were also included in the rate of the hotel.Our room was approximately 25 metres nicely decorated with free wifi internet.Food was good too with adequate variety during breakfast and dinner.I would recommend this hotel, the value for money is great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinap_10522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your feedback and your comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Analipsi
0 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
3.6 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#64 of 172 in Hersonissos
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Armava
Hotel Armava
#131 of 172 in Hersonissos
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Mare Apartments
Venus Mare Apartments
#6 of 13 in Analipsi
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Star Hotel

Address: Analipsi, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Analipsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Analipsi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Analipsi
Price Range: $80 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the calm seaside village of Analipsis just in front of the Cretan Sea, Golden Star features 174 rooms, many of them enjoying blue views.Golden Star has recently undergone a change of appearance achieving a beautiful balance of comfort and style.Our outstanding friendly service and carefully crafted design that our guests enjoy are elements that achieve a relaxing stay in Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Star Hotel Crete/Analipsi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing