We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel,quiet location”
Review of Golden Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Star Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Analipsi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel,quiet location”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at Golden at the end of September.this is the second time i have visited this hotel.It is a great place , a beautiful hotel in front of the sea with very good staff,helpful,kind and always there to serve you.Guestrooms big enough,very clean.Will go back !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norrism_12502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guests, We would like to thank you for your feedback and your comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    332
    137
    54
    21
See reviews for
278
361
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We been at Golden star in the end of September and weather was really nice and enough hot for nice tan.The hotel was really nice,the 4 star was over rated...the hotel is maximum 3 stars...the rooms are very basic and bathroom will need improving...but overall all good
The food was quite boring and not much variety...meat wasn't impressive and the chicken was served only Tuesdays...where in the rest of the week you get greasy pork or beef
The desserts were nice...but alcohols at the bar very disappointing...mostly house spirits and no option for fancy cocktails...
The beach is disappointing small and rocky...but free...anywhere else you pay 6 Euro for 2 beds and umbrella...
Analipsi is very small and quiet so you will need to rent a car which about 30 Euro,the nice place to see is Aquarium,Knossos place and Agios Nikolaos harbor.
The car rentals are very cheeky...so check if is no hidden cost like sat nav rental on the top and always reserve a car day before.
The best hotel in this city is Lyttos Beach Hotel...just a clue to compare
Overall review...is good worth the price we pay...but i won't come back to this hotel and i wouldn't recommend to a friend because you have better hotels in the area with similar price like Lyttos Beach,Santori or Sentido Mitsis Laguna Resort&Spa...

Room Tip: We had room overlooking the garden...no view really but was quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DagaXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotinitripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feeback for Golden Star Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent a week in August in this hotel – overall it was ok, nothing outstanding.
On the first day my husband was asked at the beach bar what nationality he was. “Bristish”, he said, “but my wife is German”, pointing towards me. I could not believe when the bar keeper replied “We do not like Germans.” I first thought he meant it as a joke but when I asked him about he confirmed that he was serious and said again “We do not like Germans”. I have been living in England for 20 years and have never ever in all that time heard even one racist or anti German remark nor has that happened on any holiday I have ever taken. Even if that man might not like Germans I think it outrageous to speak like that to a paying hotel guest. Should you have any German party in your travel group consider a different hotel as such remarks can be very upsetting and not least insulting.
Breakfast was low standard, eg the same sliced processed cheese was there every day as well as some cheap looking sliced sausage. We had half board and the food at dinner was very well prepared but lhere was not much choice. The deserts especially were quite disappointing, knowing what Greek deserts can be like.
The hotel was kept clean although a bit dated. The room was clean with a very noisy air condition but at least it worked. There were enough deckchairs around the pool and beach and it was much appreciated that there was no extra charge but no beach towels were handed out.
The area around the hotel is not very exciting, consider renting a car. I will definitely not go back to this hotel due to personal insult.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotinitripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guests,
We truly apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occured during your stay at Golden Star !

I would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your vacation.

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the golden star between 20 sept - 27, had a very relaxing break, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable, air con was not so good, we found the food was ok, breakfast was a miss lunch and evening meal was nicer, the cakes and cookies are to die for. The hotel beach was to rocky so we would walk further down the road where there was a lovely sandy beach, while at the hotel my husband celebrated his birthday and the chef had a birthday cake made for him which that was a nice surprise when we returned from a night out to find this in the room, all the staff were brill from the cleaners to the management could not do enough for you i would also my husband did not feel like going down to eat in the restaurant due to suffering from to much heat and the management arranged for food to be brought up to our room that was a nice gesture i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank storm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotinitripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your nice comments and feeback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star !
Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosh Pina, Israel
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent a week at Golden Star at August, and enjoyed it. The general atmosphere at the hotel was peacefull, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was less inviting than the room, looked older and with less thought and care invested in it, some broken things here and there, but yet - ok. The staff (the receptionist) was generally very friendly, helpfull, and attentive to our needs, and that made a difference. We had a very nice chambermaid that was doing a good job with good spirit. Nice sweaming pool and bar, and being close to the sea was very nice. Food was enough but quality was bellow average.
Children activity room was closed and there was no activity for kids, and infact no activity for adults as well... there is no room service, laundry service, spa. Very few channels on t.v. Wifi connection was poor most of the time.
We enjoyed the facility, the atmosphere, the pool, and sometimes from the food.

Room Tip: At the first room we recieved was a noisy airconditioner. We asked to change (for another reason) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michal1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotinitripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your sweet comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star !
Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

the holtel was not equipped for socializing there was no lounge as such only a pool bar outside as such some holidaymakers were siwimming after hours and drinking in the glasses being dangerous objects in the pool on reporting this to managment no action was taken

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotinitripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest, We would like to apologize for all those reasons for which you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel.
Our team is working hard in order to satisfy all of our clients.
I would like to thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at Golden Star Hotel.
Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyrgos, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in 4 double rooms and we all had the same disappointment when we entered our rooms. For example in our room, the aircondition door was missing, some tiles on the floor had rust on them, the corners in the bathroom were dirty, some parts of the bathtub were also rusty.

They changed sheets and towels the third day, but the new ones had stains on them!!!
The towels had a slight smell.
The breakfast was rich, but quality was below average.
The receptionist wanted us to pay for all the days of our stay at the first day of our arrival.
For that room we payed 125 euro the first two days!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fotinitripaki, General Manager at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to apologize for all those reasons for which you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Our team is working hard in order to satisfy all of our clients.
I would like to thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at Golden Star Hotel.
Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Analipsi
0.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
2.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.0 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
2,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Mare Apartments
Venus Mare Apartments
#6 of 13 in Analipsi
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Star Hotel

Property: Golden Star Hotel
Address: Analipsi, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Analipsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Analipsi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Analipsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the calm seaside village of Analipsis just in front of the Cretan Sea, Golden Star features 174 rooms, many of them enjoying blue views.Golden Star has recently undergone a change of appearance achieving a beautiful balance of comfort and style.Our outstanding friendly service and carefully crafted design that our guests enjoy are elements that achieve a relaxing stay in Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Star Hotel Crete/Analipsi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing