We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Nearby Hotels
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palms Hotel(Beruwala)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$122
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanka Princess(Aluthgama)
$66
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$35
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arena Hotel(Beruwala)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Bentota(Aluthgama)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,904 results
Traveler rating
886
636
227
82
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
886
636
227
82
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomsri lankaprivate poolaction stationsbuffet restaurantbig hotelcoral reefmain restaurantrestaurant managerfront officemini barmain poolindian oceanall inclusive packagehalf boardbreakfast and dinnerbeautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,324 - 1,329 of 1,904 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week towards the end of January having stayed the previous week at the tranquil Cinnamon Lodge at Habarana. Try as we might it was impossible not to compare the two, although their settings and cliental were very different. Cinnamon Bey is a large, impersonal beach hotel and for our first few nights it was full to capacity. As others have already said this turned the Buffe restaurant into a battle ground. Unfortunately there is a huge design fault here which starts with the concrete ceiling and lack of sound proofing. The noise was tremendous. The siting of hot food and sweets together in a narrow room, with some less than polite fellow guests didn't make for pleasant dining experiences. There seemed to be a lack of organisation amongst the waiting staff and definitely not enough of them, with the result that the service was terrible. It wasn't much better in the other restaurants either, but in fairness to the staff they were friendly and did their best under the circumstances. We were here for a period of R and R and were looking forward to chilling for a few days by the pool, but there weren't enough loungers to go round and if you wanted shade, apart from a few parasols by the pool, you had to move your heavy lounger around under the trees to avoid the sun. Most loungers were "bagged" by 8.15 am and I even watched from my balcony at 6.30 am as a guest tripped across the grass to reserve her spot.
Ok, on the plus side, our room was great (306) and I loved the shower/toilet design and the forceful shower. It was quiet, comfortable, clean and with a view straight down to the sea. We had some problems with obtaining hot water but the maintenance team came promptly. The public areas were spacious, the infinity pool was gorgeous and the sea inviting but you did need shoes. The food was varied and although not as good as at Habarana, a smaller hotel, there was plenty of choice and the chefs worked tirelessly to keep everything well stocked. The staff are friendly and helpful.
So, sort out the restaurant, improve the management, enforce the evening dress code and indoor no smoking policy, provide more loungers and parasols and stop people reserving them so early, plant more flowers and shrubs in the grounds, and we'd willingly come back and stay again. Thanks to everyone, missing your smiles and wonderful weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot_and_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Cinnamon Bey.

We have taken in depth your comments especially concerning the main restaurant. As a matter of fact, we have started a program to improve the lay out of the restaurant and increase the space particularly in the cold buffet area in order to remove the current bottle neck that you have experienced. As soon as the occupancy is permitting it the final phase will be completed thus removing this issue. We are pleased to inform you, that the order of new sunbeds which has unfortunately delayed due to unavoidable circumstance has now been delivered.

We are pleased however that you have appreciated the room facilities as well as the friendliness of our Team Members.

Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team and that we will constantly work to improve our service.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again in the near future whenever you will be missing the wonderful weather of Sri Lanka.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Cinnamon Bey Resort is a beautiful property. The hotel is a world of it own, with 3 different restaurants, a beautiful pool and the beautiful beach. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mayanka U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you warmly for your generous comments on TripAdvisor following your stay with us last February.
We were truly happy to read that your entire guest experience exceeded your expectations and that you have appreciated the hotel’s facilities as well as the selection of dinning venues.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband myself and two teenage kids visited Cinnamon Bey, with doubts, but would love to say that the Hotel was fantastic the rooms were large neat clean and tidy with modern furniture, the staff were very friendly and accommodating always with a beautiful smile. The Reception staff were also so welcoming and answered all of our questions basically we felt as if we wee at home away from home. I would recommend this Hotel at any time, the Restaurant had a large variety of food let it be a Eastern or Western the choice was yours you name it and it was there for the taking.
Once again thank you guys we had the best couple of days and would most certainly come and stay with you longer. Keep up the good work - Dave and Shereen Jansz from Melbourne Australia

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Shereen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Dave and Shereen,

Thank you for your kind review posted on Trip Advisor in regards to your recent stay at the Cinnamon Bey.

We are very pleased that you and your children had a wonderful time with us. Thank you also for praising the friendliness and hospitality of our Team Members.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again, should you decide to come back to Sri Lanka in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed hear for 3 nights all inclusive at the end of a SAGA tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel is very open plan and buffet dining is by the pool and is hot an humid. The food was OK but you are better stick to one of the three air-conditioned restaurants. If you are on an all-inclusive holiday I suggest going for the set two course meal in one of the air-conditioned restaurants, at no extra cost, and then go to the buffet for a drink and a sweet / cheese course. Cheese is only put out for breakfast but if requested a small selection is brought out at other times, If you go for a superior room you could end up facing south overlooking a noisy pool - and some rooms have an internal step which could cause a trip hazard when using the toilet in the dark at night. Up grading to deluxe is around £22 per room per day (SAGA Holidays rate) and are much nicer and include a bath as well as a shower. The entertainment in the atrium is "Benidorm" type singers - always includes many Eagles songs. Don't expect to get a quiet early night as the music carries on until 1.30 pm. If you book the deluxe rooms then make sure you take proof of payment - it took us hours to get our upgraded room. The all inclusive is local beers, wines and spirits - but the wine was Californian - but not brilliant.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room. They are west facing with sea view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank derbymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are sad to learn that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. At the same time, for the benefit of all our future travellers and readers of this forum, we would like to reply to some of the points raised.

Main restaurant hot and humid:
Our main restaurant located by the pool is an outside open plan concept. For our guests who do not like to be seated in warm temperature while dinning, the hotel also offers 2 restaurants with air conditioning. However, when coming to a tropical country such as Sri Lanka, it is expected to encounter warm and humid weather conditions all year around.

All Inclusive Menu:
Guest on an All-Inclusive package have a choice between the main buffet restaurant (open plan) or one of the dine around restaurants among which, two are with air-conditioning and two are on outside terraces. For guests who have booked on All-Inclusive package, a dine-around option is available in our à la carte restaurants where they can dine from a three courses set menu.

Music up to 1.30 am:
Daily entertainment around the ICE bar in the evening is available from 7.30 pm to 11.30 pm only. We understand that the songs played may not have been to your liking and we would like to apologise for the inconvenient.

Your upgrade to a Deluxe room:
We are concerned about your comment referring to the proof of payment and the fact that the room took long time to be ready. Your wish to change room from Superior to Deluxe category was not plan long time in advance, therefore we had to wait until the previous guests vacate the room. The previous guests occupying the Deluxe room had also booked and paid for a late check-out and as it was the only deluxe available on that day you had to wait in your Superior room until the other room got ready. The supplement charge for the upgrade was charged on the same day to your incidental account and therefore the proof of payment was available at the reception.

Once again we would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations, and I would like to assure you that we have taken into consideration your comments which will be invaluable to our continuous improvement processes.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel is huge and as such has a few problems. The rooms are comfortable although as others have remarked the polished concrete decor is not attractive. On the plus side the shower was one of the best we have ever encountered, forceful rain shower with plenty of hot water. Or room was at the far end which although it involved a relatively long walk was very peaceful, we had a good view of the ocean. The big downside of this hotel is the main restaurant which reminded me of a factory canteen, it is a real bunfight! Service for drinks and table clearing was appalling, there just are not sufficient waiting staff. The buffet area is poorly laid out which leads to lots of near misses with other diners. Food choice is poor compared with the other Cinnamon group hotels we stayed in. The best solution was to eat in the speciality restaurants although again choice is limited. It would help the waiters if they didn't have to complete so much paperwork for the all inclusive drinks, they are constantly chasing people for signatures even to the extent of coming to your room late evening. To me it was obvious the management do not trust their staff! Far to interested in the process rather than the customer. This hotel could do with some strong good management. I would happily return to all the other Cinnamon hotels we stayed in but not this one!

Room Tip: If you don't mind the walk take high numbered rooms , they are quieter (x40 plus)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thepenquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at Cinnamon Bey.

We are pleased to read that you have appreciated your room as well as the rain shower.

We are disappointed to find that our main restaurant service and layout did not meet your expectations and we would like to apologise most sincerely for this. As a matter of fact, we would like to inform you that we have started since beginning of January to improve the area and our set up shall be completed as soon as our occupancy drop. The main buffet area that you found too small will be relocated in order to avoid any bottleneck when the hotel is running at full occupancy.

Once again, please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews